• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

AFF Suzuki Cup

Have you seen his managerial record? Reputation is no substitute for ability. :)
I am aware of Robbo's managerial record. Not too impressive, but I don't think Jose Mourinho will be interested in the job. :o
Hence Robbo is not a bad choice.
Raddy has not done a bad job over the years, but he has been around for a long time and a change is needed.

Alexander Duric has a very interesting story. Saw an interview with John Dykes where Duric related how at one time, due to the civil war in his homeland, he was stateless and homeless. Now settled with his family in SG, he's delighted and grateful to be an SG citizen. Even after he retires from playing football, he wants to continue coaching in SG because his family are settled here. Every interview or photoshoot about him, he's seen at a hawker centre or kopitiam eating mee pok or drinking kopi.

At 40+, he's more competitive and fitter than many of the younger players. One of the few FTs who deserves his citizenship.

I am aware of Robbo's managerial record. Not too impressive, but I don't think Jose Mourinho will be interested in the job. :o
Raddy has not done a bad job over the years, but he has been around for a long time and a change is needed.

Alexander Duric has a very interesting story. Saw an interview with John Dykes where Duric related how at one time, due to the civil war in his homeland, he was stateless and homeless. Now settled with his family in SG, he's delighted and grateful to be an SG citizen. Even after he retires from playing football, he wants to continue coaching in SG because his family are settled here. Every interview or photoshoot about him, he's seen at a hawker centre or kopitiam eating mee pok or drinking kopi.

At 40+, he's more competitive and fitter than many of the younger players. One of the few FTs who deserves his citizenship.

Bryan Robson is no Mourinho. He's not even a Raddy Avramovic. There are better local coaches here than him. As long as they're willing to bleach their skin white, they should be good enough to coach the Singapore national team. Again, I think you're conflating reputation with ability.

Let's face it - we are going nowhere! S-League started on an optimistic note but appears as though we are walking backwards each year. Until drastic measures are introduced, just bear with the fact that we will continue to struggle regionally.

i think he even took part in one of the olympics before. representating bosnia in canoe event.

now he still playing, of course he will say he love sg. Wait one day he playing days are over, he will withdraw his cpf and go else where.

remember the brazilian FT and Mirko... also pack their bags.. quietly and fly off.

i think he even took part in one of the olympics before. representating bosnia in canoe event.

now he still playing, of course he will say he love sg. Wait one day he playing days are over, he will withdraw his cpf and go else where.

remember the brazilian FT and Mirko... also pack their bags.. quietly and fly off.

He'll be a fool to do that. Over here, at least he has a reputation in football circles and could move a little in the football community. Where else could he go, what else could he do?

Let's face it - we are going nowhere! S-League started on an optimistic note but appears as though we are walking backwards each year. Until drastic measures are introduced, just bear with the fact that we will continue to struggle regionally.

True. Now all the local "stars" Bhaihaki, Nor Alam, Mustafic, Agu, Wilkinson all go Indonesia somemore. What's left in the S-league are a lot of nobodies.

In the past, players weren't even professionals. But they had the charisma and conviction - Eric Paine, Hasli, Robert Sim, Syed Mutalib, Samad, Rajagopal, Kim Song, Teng Sai, Mohd Noh, Suriamoorthy, Dollah, Arshad Khamis, Kok Fann, Khanisen, Roy Krishnan, Gulam Mohd, Tien Jit etc. I have no problems naming them unlike the team today.

You left out probably the most prominent of them all in that era, former captain and national team coach Seak Poh Leong.
Not forgetting midfield maestro M. Kumar as well.
Suriamoorthy was from a later era, same as players like Pathmanathan and Au Yeong Pak Kuan, whom I heard has migrated to Austria. (His wife is Austrian)

You left out probably the most prominent of them all in that era, former captain and national team coach Seak Poh Leong.
Suriamoorthy was from a later era, same as players like Pathmanathan and Au Yeong Pak Kuan, whom I heard has migrated to Austria. (His wife is Austrian)

Apologies. Poh Leong was skipper. Yes, M Kumar from SIA eh? Others include Ho Kwang Hock, Wong Kok Choy, Zainal Abiden, Nasir Jalil, Abu Sujak, Tang Boon, Roy Krishnan, Christy Fernandez, Bee Seng.

And all coached by the late Uncle Choo who came good and cheap unlike the foreigners we have in recent times. I remember Mike Walker during M'sia Cup days.

My oh my... this thread has gone down the memory lane like many other footie threads.

It shudders me to see how many players got implicated for match fixing thru' the years. :eek:

Recently my car was serviced and I took a cab to the service centre and the cab was driven by Edmund Wee.

Edmund kena corruption in HK. Yes, he is driving a cab. The ones doing well are Poh leong, Kim Song, Kok Fann, Teng Sai and Robert Sim - those I know of. Jialak cases involve Samad, Tien Jit, Roy Krishnan etc. The late Dollah was faring reasonably well with S'pore Pools. Nasir is in Trengganu, Mohd Noh now a religious man. Mutalib's bryani stall doing well.

Wasn't Edmund playing in Hong Kong South China Team. During the 1980s HKG was experiencing a golden era of football and Edmund was well known for his flamboyant style. Wasted talent, now driving a cab.

Correct. He played for that team. To return to soccer to earn a living may not be easy with his past conviction for kelong. Majid Ariff, Samad and one other kenaed before. Majid never made it in big time coaching.

The main problem unfortunately is the lack of support.

The main cause is not the standard of the S-League but rather pple's perception of the S-league. The older generations at least those around late 20s and above who still remembers the old M-league days generally assume that M-league > S-league However in my previous post I have already shown otherwise

The newer generation of Football fans basically leave on a diet of readily available EPL/La Liga/Series A etc. So none of them will want to watch local/regional football. European Football is killing regional football, even the other domestic leagues like the M-league, AFC is complaining about the same thing

Lack of media support. This I feel is the most damning reason why the S-League is not working. There was even a period of time where none of the local media cept for ST bother to report about the S-league. You can't find it in TNP(which most locals get to read Football) until 1 or 2 years ago.

I think they first thing they need to do is go back to working on generating support and awareness. The local news media needs to play their part

it can be safely concluded that s-league is (was) better than m-league even though :

1) m-league attendance much better
2) malaysia perform better than spore in THIS YEAR's AFF (some charlatan will dispute this with past glories. however he cannot go too much into the past until SEA games times. only selective past is allowed).

ok. s-league is the better one. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

You are right. Media coverage is important. During th early days of Sleague, we still had world cup stars from Iran plying their trade in Sleague. I remember Geylang game Vs SAF or Home that had 20K people watching at National Stadium.

it can be safely concluded that s-league is (was) better than m-league even though :

1) m-league attendance much better
2) malaysia perform better than spore in THIS YEAR's AFF (some charlatan will dispute this with past glories. however he cannot go too much into the past until SEA games times. only selective past is allowed).

1)The attendance for the average Indonesian League > K-league matches. U mean to say Indon League > Korean league??? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

2)Comparing standard of the domestic league not the national squad :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

1)The attendance for the average Indonesian League > K-league matches. U mean to say Indon League > Korean league??? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

2)Comparing standard of the domestic league not the national squad :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

this is a thread about AFF.

is AFF is competition of national teams in SEA or comparision about SEA leagues?

is AFF relevant to korea and japan leagues.

your agrument is getting weaker. pls try harder. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: