• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Death fall: Widow criticises NUH and ST

This will not be the last time Straits Times is using "MENTAL ILLNESS" to discredit anti-pap people. There are many death left unquestioned because ST reporters feel that it will cast a bad light on PAP. Ong Ka Chua who now locked in IMH, nobody knows what has happened to him and the root cause of his grief. The indonesian student who jumped down from nus, todate nobody knows what transpired that caused him to stab the professor. Mas escaped, many questons remain unanswered especially his smooth visit to his brother's home. This are the many unaccountable, non-transparent matters among many big issues surrounding our lives. Did Straits Times bother to pursue? I don't think they have the ethic of a good reporters and rather stop probing where their master wanted or risked losing their iron-rice bowl. Only than, their master will pat their staff and called them good and "objective" reporters.

Not likely leh.

Heart-bypass operation only cost $8 out-of-pocket, according to a MIW. This health check can't be any where near $8 right ?

Or is the MIW having special pricing privelege only for them while the lesser mortal go through means-testing?

You pay the same hospital that the so-called living -B , $8, your heart will be bypassed...and your passage will be to the columbarium.

$8 is for heavenly being, who is gaining nirvana...:rolleyes:

The prostitiutes from Toa Payoh Brothel are terrible. The editor has the cheek to imply that the family had the opportunity to refute the story but did not. Clearly not sincere.

People prefer not to talk to press because of its history and lack of professional integrity. It so bad that on any topic, only Lionel will make a comment.

The prostitiutes from Toa Payoh Brothel are terrible. The editor has the cheek to imply that the family had the opportunity to refute the story but did not. Clearly not sincere.

ST can simply brush off their bad reporting with a few liners!
OUR report, which said The Straits Times understands that Mr David Low had a history of mental illness, was based on two sources. The reporter had tried to interview Mr Low's family, but they declined. We note what Madam Chua Lay Tin and the hospital now say, and apologise for the inaccuracy in the report which has added to the family's grief.

Rubbing salt into the wound of Mdm Chua. He should not have died in vain and my prayers are with the family!

Shit Times is truly the worse national neswpaper inthe world. Their so called investigative journalism consist of interviewing a cleaner? Arethey kidding. I guess the this is whythey do not have the real ability to investigate real newsworthy topics like the escape of Mas Selamat, or the loss of $billions in GIC and Temasek. In my opinion, they could not even investigate a lump of shit on their editor's desk.

wahlaneh...
cannot blame ST lah coz they publish wateva the reporters report lor.
hang that reporter lah! 1st mistake: gather info from cleaner. 2nd mistake: anyhow call people siao.:mad:

I hope the widow will engage a good lawyer and sue the Shit Times for dafamation. They have clearly defamed her husband by calling him mentally ill on a national media.I can see them winning lots of money.

At the same time, they should also sue NUH. If they think the coroner will investigate and give an unbiased finding, they have been living in a fairyland for years. The coroner will always find in favour of big govt. agency like NUH. The record of coroners is the shits. The recent investigation by coroner hamid into the death of the RSN NSmen caused by the ship's hydraulic door is a joke. The family better start hiring their own lawyer to look into this.

I find that the NUH reply is a joke and very suspicious. Maybe I am mistaken, but a brain scan is actually an MRI. (Magnetic Resonance Imaging). Isn't this in the ground floor of the main building located in the Functional Imaging Centre? U mean the patient jump out of the ground floor and died? How high is one floor in NUH? 50 metres? If the patient was not at the Functional Imaging Centre, than the only other place is the department of diagnostic imaging which is on the second floor for a CT scan. Same question again, death from a fall on the second floor? Broken bones I understand, but death?

Also, when Shit Times replied to the widow, they did not mention who their source was. Yet NUH knows that the source was a cleaner. Shit Times, as lousy as they are, will never knowingly reveal their source, so how did NUH know who it was a cleaner? And why does NUH say it was an unnamed cleaner? Its convenient to put the leak on a low rung employee who is unnamed, right?

Why does Noel Cheah say on one hand that it happened suddenly, so fast that no one could have stopped it. Than he mentioned that several patients and staff tried to stop the victim but could not prevent him from jumping. If it happened so fast, where people got time to even attempt to prevent him.

Finally, is the whole facility aircon? How can he break thru a window to fall to his death? The family should have been involved in the investigation right from the start. Noel Cheah is either a moron or a 2 faced liar. The hospital was culpable right from the start, and they tried to cover it by shutting out the family. If they really care, they will include the family in all their internal investigations and any interviews with the coroners. I bet you they will tell their staff to shut up and and only say whatthey want them to say.

NUH's reply:

NUH: It happened so suddenly, no one could prevent it

WE CONVEY again our deepest condolences to Madam Chua Lay Tin and her family on the demise of their loved one.

We have since met the family to address their queries and provided them with information about Mr David Low's medical treatment, the findings of our investigations, and the family is aware that we are assisting the police with their investigations.

On the day of the incident, we met Madam Chua and her family and our immediate focus was on extending emotional support to them.

Concurrently, we initiated investigations to obtain a detailed and accurate account of the incident. As this required some time, we informed the family that we would arrange a meeting to provide the details once our investigations were completed. We are sorry that we were not able to share the details sooner.

The hospital did not provide information to the media related to Mr Low's personal details, medical condition or details of the incident.

When the media approached us to verify the incident, we conveyed to the reporters the family's request not to run the story. The Straits Times reporter's interview with the unnamed cleaner in the article was not arranged by the hospital, nor was the information verified with us. We also wish to verify that Mr Low did not have a history of mental illness.

Madam Chua has raised concerns that the media report 'exposed a glaring lapse in procedures on patient security'.

We would like to emphasise that Mr Low was accompanied by a hospital staff member throughout the procedure. Staff and patients had also attempted to stop Mr Low. Unfortunately, they were unable to prevent the incident as it happened very suddenly and unexpectedly. We will continue to review our processes.

We recognise that this is a difficult time for the family and our priority is to continue helping and supporting them. We are also assisting other patients, visitors and staff who had witnessed the incident.

A special work group and a dedicated helpline have been set up following the incident to offer support and counselling for those affected. The helpline 9723-6433 will be available between 9am and 5pm from Monday to Friday, until Dec 17.

Noel Cheah
Acting Chief Executive Officer
National University Hospital

wahlaneh...
cannot blame ST lah coz they publish wateva the reporters report lor.
hang that reporter lah! 1st mistake: gather info from cleaner. 2nd mistake: anyhow call people siao.:mad:

Its Shit Times fault because their editor should have checked the accuracy of their reporter's filing.

Shit Times is truly the worse national neswpaper inthe world. Their so called investigative journalism consist of interviewing a cleaner? Arethey kidding. I guess the this is whythey do not have the real ability to investigate real newsworthy topics like the escape of Mas Selamat, or the loss of $billions in GIC and Temasek. In my opinion, they could not even investigate a lump of shit on their editor's desk.

Agree with you, bro. The investigative journalism here is 3rd world standard. They know where their bread is buttered.

Talk about expert on unnatural deaths. Could not wish for anyone with so much more expertise than Noel Cheah of NUS.

This was our delightful Chief Commando Officer when death occurred during training and our chap was removed and sent to NZ for a holiday while his men went to prison.

This is the same chap that could not pass his A levels, that SAF created its only qualifications and sent him to NUS for his degree. Again not excelling in his course. Now an acting CEO of NUS. What next?

Ask him to produce his A levels and you will have real laugh.

A special work group and a dedicated helpline have been set up following the incident to offer support and counselling for those affected. The helpline 9723-6433 will be available between 9am and 5pm from Monday to Friday, until Dec 17.

Noel Cheah
Acting Chief Executive Officer
National University Hospital

Talk about expert on unnatural deaths. Could not wish for anyone with so much more expertise than Noel Cheah of NUS.

This was our delightful Chief Commando Officer when death occurred during training and our chap was removed and sent to NZ for a holiday while his men went to prison.

This is the same chap that could not pass his A levels, that SAF created its only qualifications and sent him to NUS for his degree. Again not excelling in his course. Now an acting CEO of NUS. What next?

Ask him to produce his A levels and you will have real laugh.

Are u sure its the same guy? Wah, his assistants must have spend long hours over the wording of his letter, 'cos that moron's singlish is not that powerful. Truly, the GLCs are a feeding trough for PAP lackeys and balls carriers.

wahlaneh...
ok then close down ST lor.

Yes, they should. But than where will the park their PAP favourites in the senior positions? How will these useless leeches earn a high paying guaranteed income while being unqualified for the job?

wahlaneh...
let those yaya PAPayas worry lah why must we worry for them?:D

Truly, the GLCs are a feeding trough for PAP lackeys and balls carriers.

Not only GLCs. Some of these half and full Colonels are with Institutes of Higher Learning. The MIW rewards loyalty and obedience with an assured career after active service. Most of these 'reward' posts can be filled with better qualified chaps at much lower pay.