• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Levis, a forgotten brand?

jeans are the most popular pants in the u.s., especially in the weekends. they last so long that they take decades to wear out. and when they do, they become icons of style. i have never thrown jeans away. i give them away when i outgrow them (from teenage to adulthood). i'm still wearing my 3 favorite pairs from my last purchase decades ago. and that may be why levi's is having a tough time selling more jeans to men. the product is too good and long lasting to fail.

Did you wash them? before you gave them away??:wink:

middaydog

I have had all of them, Texwood, Wrangler, Levis. But not Jordache. Still wear Levis. When I was younger used to wear them so much I always wore a hole in the crotch area. Dun know why, must have a bog package or something.

used to have one talk-kok-sing-song in my office _ " Ah, in my younger days my jeans always got holes on both knees, because riding bike when take corners knees always rub on road surface mah ! " :oIo:

denzuko1

Look at the pathetic state of the store, how did it turn out be so jialat? The once "MUST GET" jeans brand, which can cost to $179 for 1 jeans, have just changed their outlets to "DENIZEN" to target lower-middle market.

I have mentioned 1 year ago that their promo of "exchange of old jeans for $50" was a sign of their business going southward, i guess I'm right afterall :p:p

Let me guess, this is Changi Airport Terminal 3?

MJ must have copied you, holding up & scratching the crotch area, that is why you made a hole at the crotch area...usuallly it is the back pockets..where most people put their keys there..maybe you have the 'keys' to you future generation, you hold so dearly...that maketh a hole...:biggrin:

Funny. I used to bring them to the tailor, and they sew back a patch using jean material. Couldn't afford to buy a new pair. Anyway, after the patch job, no one can see unless they were looking at my crotch for some reason.

Those alteration shops in Peninsular Shopping Centre?? the ION of our days:biggrin:

Balls2U

Is Textwood still in existence? Anyone know where to get it? My favourite pair of jeans was a Textwood faded pair. Wore it from Sec 1 til Sec 4. I can still manage to squeeze into it shortly before my NS. Still have it now but I can't get it pass my knees! :p

Anyone remembers the 70s/80s cinema Amco ad theme, Every Amco Tells A Story...every Amco tells a story in style...

Lee Cooper? The one where everyone slaps everyone else's butt....there was this brand also (can't remember).they were the 1st that came with diamonds.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/x1Ans-YcDjo?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/x1Ans-YcDjo?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

moolightaffairs

Sorry we made you eat crow. Stop trying to defend you assertion that Levi's "Exited US market" without proper facts to back it up.

There're two Cantonese sayings apt for you.

1) 识少少,扮代表
2) 死鸡撑饭盖

Come back and ask if you don't know what they mean.

i said exit US market many yrs back. thats why i said some of you ignorant! you dont know doesnt mean its not true. what you see on internet might not be true. i also got something for you.

知之为知之,不知为不知,是知也

do i need to explain in cantonese for you??? :biggrin: you talk like malaysian, are you one of them? malaysian like to use cantonese a lot. :biggrin:

unlike many others, levis jeans material is quite thin 1 leh ...

I believe nowadays Levis licences their jean manufacturing to more than 1 source. Maybe they also use thinner material for some markets?

The ones I bought from Thailand seemed to use thinner denim compare to some Guess jeans I got when I was in the US.

Anyway nowadays prefer to wear tailor made stuff or those backpacker type of casual trousers which are comfortable, quick drying, & no ironing needed.

Tristan

i said exit US market many yrs back. thats why i said some of you ignorant! you dont know doesnt mean its not true. what you see on internet might not be true. i also got something for you.

Yes, sorry for being ignorant. Sorry the Internet is also untrue. Now please tell us when did Levi's exit the US market?

mako65

Err... sorry just asking, is LEE and LAWMAN jeans still around? :confused:
If u are a regular traveller to Jakarta, pop by Pondok Indah or Senayan shopping centres. U can get your fav original jeans at a very gd price! There's a Wrangler boutique at this batam ctr too!

moolightaffairs

Yes, sorry for being ignorant. Sorry the Internet is also untrue. Now please tell us when did Levi's exit the US market?

at least you now learn some manners and talk politely. go find out, dont expect people to feed u. :biggrin:

clue: 90s. another clue: you cant find this on internet. it happened before the cyber space are commonly accessible. last clue: go to the library and search through newspaper archive, you will see it. it was reported in the newspaper locally and was verified by my contacts at that point of time. :biggrin: