http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2010/10/19/an-expat-at-home-in-the-heartlands/
By Peter Breitkreutz
Moving to Singapore
I’m not unaccustomed to living abroad. I lived and worked in Shanghai previously – where I met my wife, who hails from there – and so moving to Singapore was not really a culture shock. I was living almost as a local abroad.
We had decided that relocating to Singapore was going to be for the long term. From the start, we definitely didn’t want to do what is often the standard “expat” thing and isolate ourselves from the local community by staying in foreigner-friendly haunts, surrounded by people similar to ourselves. It was our goal to integrate completely into our new country and I guess, at first, we half succeeded in this goal.
I say “half succeeded”, because, although we were living in the heartlands – in a three-bedroom rental condominium at Woodsvale in Woodlands – and spent much of our spare time integrating and participating locally, we still felt somewhat shut off.
Making a Change
After our first child was born, we applied (after much deliberation) and were approved for Permanent Resident status. This opened the door to purchasing a resale HDB apartment. We managed to secure a five-room flat in Fernvale in Sengkang West. It was ideal for us and matched, almost identically, the quite stringent expectations we had set for our home.
Many of my colleagues have trouble reconciling our “heartland” lifestyle in their minds. I know of more than one Australian who has been living in Singapore for more than five years, and still does not even know where Ang Mo Kio is! Even some local friends show surprise when we talk about our home – an “ang moh” living in a HDB estate!
Happy at Home
We have now been living here happily for more than a year (and have just last week had our second baby born in Singapore) that I almost feel that we wasted our early years living in Singapore by not having taken this step sooner.
Our actual flat is much nicer than the previous condo we were living in at Woodsvale. It is what is referred to as a “point block” and has a condo-style layout. Each floor has elevator access, and there are only four apartments on each of the twenty-four floors. The interior has a very large living space and the hallway opens onto the bedrooms. What’s more, ours has recently been renovated in a “Zen style”, and includes a built-in bar!
I can say, without hesitation, that my family and I have been completely welcomed with open, kind arms and hearts into our community. All of our neighbours are wonderful, and I make it a point to take the time out to talk with and befriend anyone in the community. We attend block parties organized by the Residents’ Committee and love mixing it with our new mates at the local kopitiam. Whether it’s time to ward off hungry ghosts or to enjoy the Mid-Autumn festival, we feel right at home.
I cannot recommend this avenue highly enough. Get local, live in the heartlands and break down the barriers – you will not regret it. In fact, I’m sure it will make living in Singapore an even more rewarding experience.
By Peter Breitkreutz
Moving to Singapore
I’m not unaccustomed to living abroad. I lived and worked in Shanghai previously – where I met my wife, who hails from there – and so moving to Singapore was not really a culture shock. I was living almost as a local abroad.
We had decided that relocating to Singapore was going to be for the long term. From the start, we definitely didn’t want to do what is often the standard “expat” thing and isolate ourselves from the local community by staying in foreigner-friendly haunts, surrounded by people similar to ourselves. It was our goal to integrate completely into our new country and I guess, at first, we half succeeded in this goal.
I say “half succeeded”, because, although we were living in the heartlands – in a three-bedroom rental condominium at Woodsvale in Woodlands – and spent much of our spare time integrating and participating locally, we still felt somewhat shut off.
Making a Change
After our first child was born, we applied (after much deliberation) and were approved for Permanent Resident status. This opened the door to purchasing a resale HDB apartment. We managed to secure a five-room flat in Fernvale in Sengkang West. It was ideal for us and matched, almost identically, the quite stringent expectations we had set for our home.
Many of my colleagues have trouble reconciling our “heartland” lifestyle in their minds. I know of more than one Australian who has been living in Singapore for more than five years, and still does not even know where Ang Mo Kio is! Even some local friends show surprise when we talk about our home – an “ang moh” living in a HDB estate!
Happy at Home
We have now been living here happily for more than a year (and have just last week had our second baby born in Singapore) that I almost feel that we wasted our early years living in Singapore by not having taken this step sooner.
Our actual flat is much nicer than the previous condo we were living in at Woodsvale. It is what is referred to as a “point block” and has a condo-style layout. Each floor has elevator access, and there are only four apartments on each of the twenty-four floors. The interior has a very large living space and the hallway opens onto the bedrooms. What’s more, ours has recently been renovated in a “Zen style”, and includes a built-in bar!
I can say, without hesitation, that my family and I have been completely welcomed with open, kind arms and hearts into our community. All of our neighbours are wonderful, and I make it a point to take the time out to talk with and befriend anyone in the community. We attend block parties organized by the Residents’ Committee and love mixing it with our new mates at the local kopitiam. Whether it’s time to ward off hungry ghosts or to enjoy the Mid-Autumn festival, we feel right at home.
I cannot recommend this avenue highly enough. Get local, live in the heartlands and break down the barriers – you will not regret it. In fact, I’m sure it will make living in Singapore an even more rewarding experience.