• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Liu Qian's magic show last night

Did anyone else catch the 1.5 hour show last night? Organised by Hunan TV station, it invites amateur magicians around the region to showcase their acts. The winner will have a chance at becoming the apprentice for the 4 judges. The show uses a warning and ejection system just like in America's Got Talent. The first buzz is a warning for you to buck up. Once 2nd buzz sounds, you stop your act and FO.

What really amazed about the show was the fucked up attitude of the PRC participants. There were at least 4 outbursts from those clowns I recall..

1. One guy was ejected by Liu Qian midway thru his act because he was plagiarizing another magician's act. Liu Qian then explains to everyone the magician's code and importance of copyright protection in the industry.

The performer was obviously unhappy and during the interview backstage, said "I may have copied someone else's act, but in China I am the only one who can perform this." Huh?

2. A next guy goes up and he actually owns up: "My act is actually a reenactment of Liu Qian's performance... I know what he said about plagiarism earlier.. but I want to let the audience see." Liu Qian pressed the buzzer twice and didn't give him a chance.

What happened next was gold. He started to attack Liu Qian: "What's so impressive about you? You are a 20 year veteran. I have only picked up magic for 3 years and it took me less than 1 day to replicate your trick." The host butted in to defuse the situation. Liu Qian's face was ashen....

3. This guy is even more audacious. He starts his impressive card shuffling act. Liu Qian ejects him mid way: "This is a magic show. Not an acrobatic show." The young dude replied:"Let me explain. I am actually here tonight to make up for numbers. I want to show the audience the card juggling skills."

Liu Qian's reply was curt: "We saw it. And we thank you."

What happened next was classic. The performer threw his deck of cards on the floor and stomped off stage. Liu Qian's jaw dropped.

The PRC amateurs are right. There's no such thing as magic copyright. How do amateur magicians learn? They go to magic shops to buy books and gadgets. What do these teach? These teach what professional magicians have done before. Liu Qian shouldn't show off his encyclopaedic knowledge of what's been done before and even worse, shouldn't disallow participant to replicate his own trick. More points should be awarded for originality instead. He's a combination of ego and insecurity. However, the PRC participants' uncouth reactions are also uncalled for and reflect very bad on their manners and upbringings.

4. The forth outburst was a guy in a clownsuit. He was through to the next round. But mysteriously started a debate with Liu Qian: "I have been in magic for 30 years. I can expose all magic tricks.... blah blah blah.."

Liu Qian lost it:"If anyone turns up tonight to expose magic tricks, then he breaks the magician's code. He is not a magician at all." The host and an angmo judge had to intervene to cool the situation. It was evident that whole sequence went thru alot of editing. The argument must have escalated quite bad.

The PRC amateurs are right. There's no such thing as magic copyright. How do amateur magicians learn? They go to magic shops to buy books and gadgets. What do these teach? These teach what professional magicians have done before. Liu Qian shouldn't show off his encyclopaedic knowledge of what's been done before and even worse, shouldn't disallow participant to replicate his own trick. More points should be awarded for originality instead. He's a combination of ego and insecurity. However, the PRC participants' uncouth reactions are also uncalled for and reflect very bad on their manners and upbringings.

I disagree. Plagiarism is stealing. You can copy a trick. But you shouldn't copy a performance.

That is the true spirit of PRC. They dun give a shit about anything as long as they can achieve what they want. That is why pirated goods are everywhere in China and some brands dun even dare to set up factory there. You expect moral value from people who dun believe in religion or fear of afterlife?

2. A next guy goes up and he actually owns up: "My act is actually a reenactment of Liu Qian's performance... I know what he said about plagiarism earlier.. but I want to let the audience see." Liu Qian pressed the buzzer twice and didn't give him a chance.

What happened next was gold. He started to attack Liu Qian: "What's so impressive about you? You are a 20 year veteran. I have only picked up magic for 3 years and it took me less than 1 day to replicate your trick." The host butted in to defuse the situation. Liu Qian's face was ashen....

I disagree. Plagiarism is stealing. You can copy a trick. But you shouldn't copy a performance.

I don't see anything wrong. Even professionals copy each other's performances all the time as long as they can figure it out themselves and don't break the magicians' code. How many ways are there to perform pick-a-card guess-the-card or pick rabits out of the hat? If copyrighted, by whom? If considered plagiarism, that's rampant! :eek:

whats the name of the Show? Liu Qian magic sucks, see his face, i wanna beat him up liao :D:D

PRC is only good at copying. What else is new? To them, they will do anything just to succeed. It is a PRC thing, you don't see such trait in Korea or Japan.
Though Liu Qian is an arrogant prick.

Clap clap clap for all 4 PRC have the gut to face the Liu Qian.
Thumb up and salute the all 4 PRC.

tat liu qian, imho, yes his magic might be fantastic but he seems cocky to me.
but at least he show is professionalism.

as for event or talent seeking in cheena land, you have to be prepared for cockster to appear.
in their mind there is no wrong in them.
dun dey know dey are kind of duplication?

nw even our mediacorpse are searching new talents in cheena land.

talents???

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

liu qian might be ripping of other magician, kris angel, blaine, copperfield etc.

but he is a chinese magician. why suddenly tee up ang mo??

You all think the PRCs are bad, only because the ah nehs have not manage to do a show like this.

sad to say, Chinese from China are mostly behaving badly, self centered and selfish. because they throw away good Chinese values during the 10yrs of culture revolution. now the Chinese gov trying to instill those values back into the people, i think its a impossible task.

Eat It by Al Yankovic:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZcJjMnHoIBI&ob=av2e

The original Beat It by Michael Jackson:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ym0hZG-zNOk&ob=av2e

What did Michael say or do over it? He laughed, enjoyed it and collected music composer royalty only since Yankovich was releasing it commercially for profit. Had it been an amateur performance for fun, I think Jackson would even have sponsored it if funds weren't enough. Liu Qiu is simply egoistic and petty.

Are you drunk or what? Weird Al was parodying MJ. Can't you tell the diff between parodying and ripping off? By the way, Weird Al had to buy the rights to the tune before he could play it.

What other spastic examples are you only to site? Sun yanzi ripped off Patty smyth? Martin scorsese's The Departed was a rip off of Infernal affairs?

duh.

liu qian might be ripping of other magician, kris angel, blaine, copperfield etc.

but he is a chinese magician. why suddenly tee up ang mo??

he said on the show that the performer has to buy the copyright of the act or get permission from the creator of the trick to reenact it. The leading illusionists like liu, kris angel, blaine et al must have an exclusive magician network to exchange secrets and ideas.

You all think the PRCs are bad, only because the ah nehs have not manage to do a show like this.

this ancient ah neh trick baffled the angmo explorers for years. but nowadays, ah neh's favourite trick is to say work is done when it is clearly not.

lamont2.184.jpg