• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Malik Affair - An Open Letter to Opposition Leaders

You have just made a case for the Govt to act. Here are the operating words
- "he cannot just assume everyone who reads his statements could well understand such metaphor, no matter how simple or innocent it is. "

Maybe you want to change your party name to National Economic Solidarity Party and make sure that the manifesto clearly spells what you are prepared to do.

Dear Scroobal,

Alas, punt intended lah! Read the whole thing in context, I am poking at someone.. ;)

Goh Meng Seng

He just stated the case for the Govt to act. When I wrote that piece, in my mind I did realise that there were 3 possible outcomes for the opposition and they are
1) admit that they should have acted earlier and are now prepared to move
2) keep silent and pretend that nothing happened
3) state that Malik did have a case to answer.

The last was certainly not expected. This case has been the talk of the town since Viv B coming out distancing himself from the Govt action. There is no smoke without fire and the hunt was on. It turned out that it was not an ill educated or an overzealous police officer that acted but it came from the top.

May be at times, it best to remain silent.

At least GMS is frank about it. Kudos to him.

If this sort of fear is still present what motivates those to contest the elections. What are their motives?

Given the PAP's track record, it is only practical to be cautious. Under the current PAP setup, it is all too easy for a hardline PAP faction to win control and run Singapore like a Mynmar style junta.

Also if you are talking about fear, then there seems to be fear within the PAP itself. You mentioned that there was widespread disagreement within the PAP about the arrest. Why haven't PAP Ministers and PAP MPs and PAP Ministers voiced out? Is it because they themselves are afraid?

He just stated the case for the Govt to act. When I wrote that piece, in my mind I did realise that there were 3 possible outcomes for the opposition and they are

The last was certainly not expected. This case has been the talk of the town since Viv B coming out distancing himself from the Govt action. There is no smoke without fire and the hunt was on. It turned out that it was not an ill educated or an overzealous police officer that acted but it came from the top.

Whatever the case, such pet issues are akin to painting white paint on a nose pimple. Parties are national issues and it isn't a national issue when involving one person with no precedence, possible succession and handed sentence.

Unless it is a different or changed Scroobal, the old would ask the man on the street on the issues.

it's "pun", not "punt." a punt is a flat-bottomed boat. a punt is also used to describe a way of kicking an american football.

Aiyo GMS spelling. Last time is "non-existence vote" and someone corrected. Luckily he didn't say "punk". No punk intended. LOL.

:D

Dear Scroobal,

Alas, punt intended lah! Read the whole thing in context, I am poking at someone.. ;)

Goh Meng Seng

SHOULD be "pun", not "punt".

A "punt" is either a gamble, or a certain kind of boat.

BUT your word may be correct. You are indeed gambling, and yes, you seem to be swift-boating Malik. So yeah, punt may be just the right word for you to use,

Whatever the case, such pet issues are akin to painting white paint on a nose pimple. Parties are national issues and it isn't a national issue when involving one person with no precedence, possible succession and handed sentence.

Unless it is a different or changed Scroobal, the old would ask the man on the street on the issues.

I think abuse of power is a national issue.

Aiyo GMS spelling. Last time is "non-existence vote" and someone corrected. Luckily he didn't say "punk". No punk intended. LOL.

:D

Luckily the captain didn't say, leave no punk behind. :D

As I have said before, I think the Opp parties are playing safe. maybe there is more than meets the eye. With this govt, you have to peel each layer like an onion to see what the next reveals. Maybe the govt is also not revealing everything at one go. This could be some sort of a trap they are setting. And they may be keeping the silver bullet. is there something they are keeping that we dont know? They have the ISD etc every means at their disposal to investigate and hold some things back, in case they need to unleash it at any maverick politician champion who wants to rush in where angels fear to tread.
With this govt, we never know. It is helmed by a tyrant who has no conscience, who has so full of self-righteousness, who can invent all kinds of intellectually superior argument, who can overturn and change the laws to suit himself, and who has put away his adversaries for a life time.

Whatever it is, I dont expect our Opp will change as long as he is alive. Things will look up when he kicks the bucket.

I think abuse of power is a national issue.

Only if there is a large scale arrest like 1963 or 1987. Furthermore there are a lot of better people to arrest. Some were and neither GMS nor Scro saw it positively. Even democratic countries make silly arrests at times.

GMS is right, wait and see what happens to him.

Only if there is a large scale arrest like 1963 or 1987. Furthermore there are a lot of better people to arrest. Some were and neither GMS nor Scro saw it positively. Even democratic countries make silly arrests at times.

GMS is right, wait and see what happens to him.

They won't arrest him. The SM is his "uncle" and the DSP is his "cousin."

They're just pissed with the inconvenience he caused them. Kong buay ntia 讲不听。

In the past, it was because of the communist threat and racial riots that they have the excuse. Not anymore. Unless there is a threat looming somewhere that we are not aware of. Malik called for them to be removed thru the polls. The used the 'burn" and the Seng Han Tong to tie make a case. That guy was a certified "mental case".

When there is discontent within the family, people seldom wash the dirty linen in public. There are also party rules to raise grievances. Viv cam out and disowned the action in a roundabout manner. That is the trigger that said that there more.

Given the PAP's track record, it is only practical to be cautious. Under the current PAP setup, it is all too easy for a hardline PAP faction to win control and run Singapore like a Mynmar style junta.

Also if you are talking about fear, then there seems to be fear within the PAP itself. You mentioned that there was widespread disagreement within the PAP about the arrest. Why haven't PAP Ministers and PAP MPs and PAP Ministers voiced out? Is it because they themselves are afraid?

Interesting point. So malik is ikan bilis and not an issue. This is indeed a national issue.

When does it become a national issue?

When there is discontent within the family, people seldom wash the dirty linen in public. There are also party rules to raise grievances. Viv cam out and disowned the action in a roundabout manner. That is the trigger that said that there more.

There seems to be a double standard here.

Opposition politicans are expected to publicly take action.

PAP politicians on the order hand can keep quiet and do "behind-the-scenes" action.

Interesting point. So malik is ikan bilis and not an issue. This is indeed a national issue.

When does it become a national issue?

The issue is the arrest rather than Malik, so whether Malik is ikan bilis is immaterial.

In 1987, Chiam as the sole opposition in Parliament raised a ruckus over the Marxist arrests. JBJ and LTK from WP also issued a statement but neither were in Parliament. In 2000 when activists including Gomez in Think Centre and SDP folks were called up by the police and not even arrested for an anti-ISA rally in Speakers' Corner, LTK and Simon Tay quizzed WKS on the laws governing SC.

Of course, SDP has a different point of view on Malik case and I respect that. Perhaps they thought it was a good opportunity to milk Malay ground, and time will tell if it works.

So what about the few malays families that were homeless. Is that national issues or just extra curricular activities for opposition parties because the homeless are a drop in the ocean.

The issue is the arrest rather than Malik, so whether Malik is ikan bilis is immaterial.

In 1987, Chiam as the sole opposition in Parliament raised a ruckus over the Marxist arrests. JBJ and LTK from WP also issued a statement but neither were in Parliament. In 2000 when activists including Gomez in Think Centre and SDP folks were called up by the police and not even arrested for an anti-ISA rally in Speakers' Corner, LTK and Simon Tay quizzed WKS on the laws governing SC.

Of course, SDP has a different point of view on Malik case and I respect that. Perhaps they thought it was a good opportunity to milk Malay ground, and time will tell if it works.

Why then have opposition parties. Seems a duplication by your reasoning. If the PAP acted on its own misdeeds, then we don't need any opposition. If the PAP did not and the opposition did not, there are no double standards.

Seems quite bizarre.

Maybe you can explain why the opposition is needed?

There seems to be a double standard here.

Opposition politicans are expected to publicly take action.

PAP politicians on the order hand can keep quiet and do "behind-the-scenes" action.

Singapore Opposition parties are not a street fighter party but a professional party. Our current elected opposition leader in parliament is Mr. Low Thia Kiang. However his deputy is Mr. Chiam See Tong. Whereby Unity mean more dialog with voters, party members and among alliance parties (official and unofficial alliance).

Maybe NSP, SDP, USD and SF can invite SDA(PKMS, RP, SPP, SJP) and WP for Dialog about Malik Affair.

So what about the few malays families that were homeless. Is that national issues or just extra curricular activities for opposition parties because the homeless are a drop in the ocean.

I remember the homeless issue was raised by Sylvia Lim in Parliament. If I don't remember wrongly, GMS also wrote something.