• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Jibai! Lau Peng like me got no $9000!!

Sorry. Not you lah.

I up :oIo: that dead head no give money to people struggled 15-20 years completed full reservist already.

wahlaneh...
soli soli i take back my words.
next time say properly mah i misunderstooded u leh.

This latest offering of a bone may just backfire on them.
Those who will get it may not see it as an incentive. To some, it may be far away or cannot be touched. To others, they may just take it but scoff at the amount, timing and mode of "payment".

Those who don't get it will be pissed off, because they also did their share of service.

And the women, being SG women, will whine because they were not considered. You might even see a newspaper article from one of them soon, saying that they don't need it and are happy to serve without reward.

"
Shake head.....any way all lau peng are treated as "expired". Young ones open eyes and see.

Not only are we old peng expired, we are expendable to the point of use and discarded /forgotten by the nation.

How about those lau peng whom sustain knees and back injuries from carrying heavy loads from active & leeservbit and can't be treated under SAF.

How about those who suffered from the first generation boots that gave unending shin and knee pains on prolong usage.

The younger generation of citizen soldiers are more gullible with this tactics.

Next year election must be coming I guess.

It's crap about government policies not restropective (applied to past servicemen still living). For example, those packages that came with extra S$100 or so for NSmen has always applied to all whether in full-time service, reservist, high key or low key or completed reservist cycles, always called a "token recognition of past service and contribution." Note "past" as in past tense, retrospective by definition.

you think your goverment so good ? give you $9000 ? later all the medical fee , income tax , HDB price , coe price , road tax , publice transport , GST ....will increase ....nothing is free in singapore !!!

Sterilised old NSmen's wives for 2-is-enough policy.

Fined them somemore for having more than 3.

Now they completed reservist got nothing, not even enough kids to collect something.

Then say population not enough, so must import foreign talents.

Then new NSmen make noise, they're to be rewarded, old NSmen your own biz.

Anyone who think this is a good deal is probably a moron. $9,000 for how many years of your time leh?

Mind you, given the payout periods into CPF and inflation, it will not be worth SGD9,000 in present value.

Anyone who think this is a good deal is probably a moron. $9,000 for how many years of your time leh?

Mind you, given the payout periods into CPF and inflation, it will not be worth SGD9,000 in present value.

You're eschewing the point. Present value or future value, all receives the same value, except for those who struggled through decades and completed NS and reservist and recieve nothing.

To put it bluntly, PAP has and will never recognised all NS men past contributions!!!! As a matter of fact, the pioneer NS men suffered the most with the hardest trainings. I hope those 66.6% NS men who voted for PAP remember this and stop licking their balls. There is still chance to vote them out.

Eschewing si mi? I am just giving my 2c to those who gets the incentive, to not just see things on the surface but think deeper.

The ultimate insult to any old citizens, and patriotic nsmen who balanced family issues and work with reservist, open mob etc. was already dished out way back; to spend old age and die in an old age home or hospital, in a foreign land.

But they say we can choose, pay sky high prices in private nursing homes with monthly cost at least SGD1.5k and above, or half price across the causeway. If we want cheaper govt assisted ones and not necessary that you will be granted, got to queue and wait one to two years. Choice?

Just ask how many already sent across the causeway.:mad: Seen some of my friends with sick aged parents kenna such situation.

Even if i get this SGD9k incentive, this little sweet is but tasteless as compared to the bigger scheme of things in motion.

You're eschewing the point. Present value or future value, all receives the same value, except for those who struggled through decades and completed NS and reservist and recieve nothing.

Not sure if this is wise as it is divisive. All went thru the same pain. This does not sound like something a politician will do.

Pioneer batches = terok training, lousy food cooked by cooks, mana ada aircon?

Now NS life is easy. Aircon coaches, food by caterers, non uniform FTrash instructors + $9K

:D

2.5 years = ZERO K

2 years = 9k

Yes.. uniquely Singapore...

"Many generations who have served NS, like many of us... recognise that we have already benefited from previous policies and this policy is for NSmen going forward."

What cock is this Prof Koo idiot talking? Since when in the past we NSMen had any benefits? The miserable couple of hundreds we get in the past or the tax relief?

If they don't want to give the $9K to lau pengs, then just say so. Why come up with such BS that "we have already benefited from previous policies "??? This is really an insult to our intelligence!

I agree, it is a bloody fucking insult.

Furthermore the $9K will be used as part of the proceeds to go into the compulsory annuity, which means it goes back to govt anyway.

And they talk like they're giving something to citizens.

Not sure if this is wise as it is divisive. All went thru the same pain. This does not sound like something a politician will do.

It is pure political calculation. Older sinkees do not begrudge NS so much because the sys was fairer in THEIR day.

Nonetheless it is an insult to ALL sinkees.

wa pian!!! I thought something attractive. To get the $9000, you must served ns, not just for 2 years, but entire of your 13th cycle or up to 40 years old whichever is earlier. To add insult to injury, it is only credited into your cpf (aka ho jinx pocket money) and will never get to see in your lifetime until 3/4 of your feet is burried underground. There are always conditions, tough one, to fulfil lhl promise. To put it bluntly, a promise that never get to see daylight. Vote them out lah, and give singaporeans a more holistic place to call home away from all these monetary bait.

:d

Salute to all those who went through the crap. There should be more done for those who has contributed. This is like telling the new staff you get stock options and the old and retiring staff, you get nothing.

I always hold our fellow slaves in green with great respect, i wish others could do too.