• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If LKY had retired earlier, will he be much revered?

Velma

If Old Fart had left the political scene in 1990 (when he handed power to Goh) or 2004 (when Goh handed power to his son), will he have the same hero worship as Che Guevara or Mao? Even better, hero-worshiped like Sun Yat Sen?

What's done is done, what's gone is gone.

If he leaves now, then we worry.

I doubt most of the people worry considering how he had screwed the country up. :rolleyes:

When he's finally gone, they'll make up a story about how he cast the hammers, nails and bolts. They'll forget about the screws.

That is, if the Singaporean public still believes 100% in our mainstream media. But I seriously think, if head retired earlier, nobody in SG will call him Old Fart, LCB, etc.

Sorry hor! Mao no longer on display in Beijing. Don't know where they have hide the body.

That is, if the Singaporean public still believes 100% in our mainstream media. But I seriously think, if head retired earlier, nobody in SG will call him Old Fart, LCB, etc.

Cursing and abusing LKY name didn't start this generation. It started with grandpaps and grandmoms generation when he cleared the farms, take their lands away by requisition and sell HDB flats to them, enlist NS for a waterless and foodless country (how to defend only he knows), told people uneducated not to get married and give birth, sure idiot children one.

back then LKY should follow his bro chiang ching-kuo example, give singapore a "functioning democracy" and retire. his legacy will be complete. Now no matter what he or his son do in future, the Lees legacy are forever tainted.

Mahatir was equally smart, he knew he had ruled for too long and his policies were receiving flak. He stepped down and let Badawi do the sai kang.

If Old Fart had left the political scene in 1990 (when he handed power to Goh) or 2004 (when Goh handed power to his son), will he have the same hero worship as Che Guevara or Mao? Even better, hero-worshiped like Sun Yat Sen?

If heart bypass is not invented yet, inserting a stien in the blood vessel, at that time, he would be konk by then and your assumption above is acceptable.

Cursing and abusing LKY name didn't start this generation. It started with grandpaps and grandmoms generation when he cleared the farms, take their lands away by requisition and sell HDB flats to them, enlist NS for a waterless and foodless country (how to defend only he knows), told people uneducated not to get married and give birth, sure idiot children one.

People were upset with his trash talk, but people knew he at least created jobs for locals, gave then-affordable housing for people to live in and at least university places were assured.

If LKY steps down now and wash his hand in golden basic, I will certainly rever him as "GOD"!!!

I respect LKY for being part of the team who make Singapore so steady. But now, I worry that he is mortal and can die. Because I have little faith in his junior.

That's a cluessless bugger trying to pretend to be one of us commoners when he's mechanically brought up to be top of them elites. That's why there're gaffes lilke mee siam mai hum, buying support and fixing opposition. It reflects the inherent mentality which in turn reflects the upbringing. I mean no insult or disrepect to him. This is what he's shown me and us.

It's another of your many 牛頭不對馬嘴 response to a straightforward question.

It's either you agree that he will be much revered he had retired earlier; or you disagree. What you're doing is telling the TS that the question is not even worth asking.

It's either you're poor in comprehension or you're bloody good PAP spin doctor.

"Right now we have Low Thia Khiang, Chiam See Tong, Steve Chia. We can deal with them. Suppose you had 10, 15, 20 opposition members in Parliament. Instead of spending my time thinking what is the right policy for Singapore, I'm going to spend all my time thinking what's the right way to fix them, to buy my supporters votes, how can I solve this week's problem and forget about next year's challenges?" (3 May 2006)
- Lee Hsien Loong,
Prime Minister

he should say instead of spending my time thinking what is the right policy for Singapore, I'm going to spend all my time defending govt policies and legislation from them, to buy my supporters votes.

what the hell was ah loong thinking when he say that, maybe he spoke straight from the heart.

It's another of your many 牛頭不對馬嘴 response to a straightforward question.

It's either you agree that he will be much revered he had retired earlier; or you disagree. What you're doing is telling the TS that the question is not even worth asking.

It's either you're poor in comprehension or you're bloody good PAP spin doctor.

I comprehend well and I trust threadstarter and readers to comprehend well. I'm saying cowhead is cowhead and horsemouth is horsemouth. Is there anything wrong with expressing apprehension at LKY (eventual and inadvertible) passing in such a topic? Please define the topic in your terms then. I'll take it into consideration without any promise.

"Right now we have Low Thia Khiang, Chiam See Tong, Steve Chia. We can deal with them. Suppose you had 10, 15, 20 opposition members in Parliament. Instead of spending my time thinking what is the right policy for Singapore, I'm going to spend all my time thinking what's the right way to fix them, to buy my supporters votes, how can I solve this week's problem and forget about next year's challenges?" (3 May 2006)
- Lee Hsien Loong,
Prime Minister

he should say instead of spending my time thinking what is the right policy for Singapore, I'm going to spend all my time defending govt policies and legislation from them, to buy my supporters votes.

what the hell was ah loong thinking when he say that, maybe he spoke straight from the heart.

Ass Loon is becoming more like George Bush Jr. Policies are screwed up and many verbal gaffes. Ass Loon has made more verbal gaffes in 6 years than his father in 31 years.

LKY : I'll crush and chop up anybody with my knuckledusters and hatchet.

Everybody : Mmm...(better don't talk cock wait kena chop.)

LSH : I very busy buy support and fix opposition.

Everybody : Wahahaha!!! How much huh$?