$8.50 'Economical' Bee Hoon

Posted on 02 Aug 2010
'Economical' bee hoon costs $8.50 for 2 plates

two_plates_of_economical_bee_hoon_costs_850-thumbnail.jpg

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US"></SCRIPT><IFRAME class=FB_SERVER_IFRAME src="http://www.facebook.com/extern/login_status.php?api_key=94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6&extern=2&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fxd_receiver.htm&locale=en_US" frameBorder=0 name=loginStatus scrolling=no></IFRAME>
<OBJECT id=flashXdComm name=flashXdComm classid=clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000 width=1 height=1 type=application/x-shockwave-flash>

</OBJECT>

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
57%

<!-- end mm_moodcontainer div -->
Shiok!
6%

LOL!
13%

So sad
4%

Sure or not?
2%

Bochup
18%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->
STOMPer gary was shocked by the high price charged for the two plates of economical noodles he ordered at Kopitiam at KK Hospital. The usual price outside is about $3 per plate, he says.

He wrote in an email:

"I ordered two plates of economical bee hoon at Kopitiam at KK Hospital and they cost $8.50!

"I didn't check the prices on the menu because by right, this type of economical bee hoon should be quite cheap. The usual price outside is about $3 per plate.

"I was shocked when the lady told me the price for both plates. She said the bee hoon per plate cost $1.20, luncheon meat $0.80 and the fillet $1. The worst one was the vegetables- it cost $1!

"She then asked whether I had the Kopitiam card. If I had one, she could give me a discount.

"I think it's ridiculous.

"That was the 2nd time I ate at Kopitiam at KK Hospital. The first time I ordered $3 worth of carrot cake but the portion given was very small. It looked like it was only worth $1.50.

"Is Kopitiam going to change its name?

"The food tastes normal and it's overpriced! This is terrible business management.

"Compared to Kopitiam, Koufu has a more reasonable food pricing."

Click on thumbnails for larger image

Keywords: expensive meal

"I ordered two plates of economical bee hoon at Kopitiam at KK Hospital and they cost $8.50!

"I didn't check the prices on the menu because by right, this type of economical bee hoon should be quite cheap. The usual price outside is about $3 per plate.

Let us do some calculation.

2 plates for $8.50. One plate for $4.25.

Usual price is $3.

Premium paid is $4.25 - $3 = $1.25

Now, this is at KK Hospital, most places like that charge a premium because of the location and limited clientele.

For an extra $1.25, you get to eat and do your business in KK.

If not, you need to drive out to places with usual price.

For that, the $1.25 seems worth to pay for the convenience.

"Economical" does not mean that it's cheap.
It means that it makes economic sense for the vendor.

I bet that soon some elites are going to come out and berate Sinkies for not knowing how lucky they are to have food on the table! Africans are starving!

Let us do some calculation.

2 plates for $8.50. One plate for $4.25.

Usual price is $3.

Premium paid is $4.25 - $3 = $1.25

Now, this is at KK Hospital, most places like that charge a premium because of the location and limited clientele.

For an extra $1.25, you get to eat and do your business in KK.

If not, you need to drive out to places with usual price.

For that, the $1.25 seems worth to pay for the convenience.

I think your calculation and reasoning very logical. If one plate S$8+ then I'd frown. Two plates S$8+ is commonplace in all aircon foodcourts.

In any case, eating habits and appetites have also changed. In the good old days, we ordered beehoon mee, 40c regular or 50c upsize, that was it. Now, add egg, fish cake, sausage, luncheon meat, otak, chicken wing, whatever. Some hawkers now will frown and stare like you're a beggar if you don't add something.

... "The food tastes normal and it's overpriced! This is terrible business management. ...
it cud have been worse! ... 1 burger even threatened nasi lemak 2 sel @ $10 per plate ... :rolleyes:

If I am not wrong, the stall holders factor in the 20% discount they need to give to the staff there and the 10% kopitiam carholders so they need to up the price.

Whatever the case, the guy's bee hoon certainly looks like more meat than veg. So paying $8.50 is not unthinkable in an aircon comfort business like coffeeshop chained establishment such as kopitiam. I suspect a single plate of bee hoon with 4 meat dishes @ Vivocity Food republic will cost about the same.. $8.50.. it is not unthinkable.. it is not plausible

its called economical beehoon, bcos it boost the economics for the stall owner.

Nobody among you has ever paid for a usual 4.50 economical rice at equally crappy Select outlets elsewhere, serfs? :D

Okay, tell the Stomper to eat bread instead. The 7-eleven store nearby sells a good six-pack with tantalising and titillating red bean paste inside for just... $1.20.:eek:

Problem solved.

After living in the US, I swear never to eat this trashy food again. The quality is bad, it's oily and it's an insult that they are really using abit of fish and mostly shitty additive for the fillet or the fishcake.

Economical rice in the US is no better. The sweet and sour pork tastes like dessert and the vegetables are extremely salty.

No one is asking you to go eat those trashy food.
There is choice and freedom in US.

For $6 USD, you can get a great meal at home for 2 with 100% meat, fresh veggies from Wisconsin, top quality italian Spaghetti and NOT like those salty veggies, malaysian noodles and fake processed fishballs, fillet and fishcake in Singapore.

Or if you want to eat out, go to Subway, you can have a hearty and healthy meal for less than $4, with real meat and fresh vegetables. You can choose from a range of low-fat dressing and add stuff like tomatoes and other salad ingredients. And you won't need to force yourself to eat "processed" meats and rotting vegetables like you see in this shitty picture.