• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Recite Pledge And Sing National Anthem on 9 Aug 8.10pm - Will You Do It?

SNAblog

Didn't Lee Kuan Yew said that the ideals in the Singapore's pledge are highfalutin ideas that are dangerous if taken seriously.
"I think it was dangerous to allow such highfalutin ideas to go un-demolished and mislead Singapore."
[http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/449858/1/.html]

So why this public wayang of reciting the pledge when the PAP government is wary and dismissive about the dangerously "highfalutin" ideas in it? Is the NDP committee also trying to mislead Singaporeans as what MM Lee has suggested?

What a load of crap! :rolleyes:

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_559538.html

Jul 29, 2010
One Voice at 8.10pm
By Carolyn Quek

FROM shopping malls to bus interchanges, 8.10pm will be the time to keep this National Day.

This will be when an estimated 40,000 Singaporeans are expected to say the Pledge and sing the National Anthem together at more than 300 locations islandwide, in an initiative dubbed the One Voice 2010.

And as the finale of the National Day Parade (NDP) plays out at the Padang, their voices will add on to the 26,500 spectators there and 80,000 residents at the five heartland locations, who will also be doing the same thing at that precise moment.

Organisers of the parade see this as a significant moment and culmination point as it brings all Singaporeans from across the island together.

Said Colonel Benedict Lim, the NDP's executive committee chairman: 'It's symbolic, simple and unites the people.'

He said the One Voice 2010 follows last year's Pledge Moment, which saw tens of thousands gathered at 700 establishments pause to recite the pledge at 8.22pm. 'Every year, we always try to find a unifying event and last year was very successful and we are trying to build on last year's (success).'gl

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/8o0CpeWtXb8&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/8o0CpeWtXb8&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Pse eat lots of Teloh Bawang Pratas on National Day and fart fire and light birthday cake candle for Singapore!

Why all the HOO HAH over something that LKY himself has downgraded to only The SINGAPORE (ASPIRATION)?

wahlaneh...
maybe should modify the pledge abit liao.
"We, the citizens of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one not-so united people...regardless of race, language, religion, nationality...":D

wahlaneh...
maybe should modify the pledge abit liao.
"We, the citizens of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one not-so united people...regardless of race, language, religion, nationality...":D

We we were in School, we got so bored reciting the pledge until it became a robotic act..without any feeling or pride...

it goes like this, "we the 60cts of SINgapore, pledege ourselves as one stupid people...."... ha ha ha ha:D

If I have something to be proud of my country , my flag , my allegiance, I will stand tall & proud & recite the pledge with gusto & sing my lungs out with Majullah SINgapura....but it became a "pledge ourselves as one united nation"..and "Screw me Lah!, SINgapura"....

:p

We we were in School, we got so bored reciting the pledge until it became a robotic act..without any feeling or pride...

it goes like this, "we the 60cts of SINgapore, pledege ourselves as one stupid people...."... ha ha ha ha:D

If I have something to be proud of my country , my flag , my allegiance, I will stand tall & proud & recite the pledge with gusto & sing my lungs out with Majullah SINgapura....but it became a "pledge ourselves as one united nation"..and "Screw me Lah!, SINgapura"....

wahlaneh...
still remember kana tekan by principal during flag-raising ceremony.
was giggling with classmates then kana ordered to stand underneath the flag to recite the national pledge loudly when the flag dropped on me n covered my face.
i was still standing there reciting loudly when everyone else was laughing loudly.:D

This is 2010 modiefied pledge:

We the people of Singapore, pleadge ourself as one united people regards of where you come from India or PRC, who are here to compete for work and low pay, to achive proift for all bosses regardless of Singaporeans 50 years of development to this modern Singapore. To keep the prosperity of the country by paying millions of dollars to civil servants and delacre our loyalty to them by voting them in every election.

THIS IS REAL PATHETIC.

TOLD TO RECITE?

WTF? SINGAPOREANS ARE INDEED SHEEP.

ANOTHER INCIDENT FOR THE WORLD TO LAUGH AT US.

IN OTHER COUNTRIES WHERE THERE ARE NATIONAL DAY CELEBRATIONS; IT IS DONE VOLUNTARILY AND NOT TOLD.

ANOTHER BRAINWASHING EXERCISE

THIS ONE WILL BE FUTILE IN CURRENT POLITICAL CLIMATE WHERE SINGAPOREANS ARE TULAN WITH THE ORGANISERS...AKA THE PAPPIES.

BTW, this is another FEEDBACK exercise to gauge support for the MIWs. They will have decibel meters in each block to gauge "support" for the PAPPIES....o if you recite and sing at 810pm AS YOU ARE TOLD TO, they think they have support and can win that BLOCK during the next ERECTIONS..

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

i will recite the pledge silently in my heart, remind myself how PAP have sold our country to the dogs and vow never to give them my vote:mad:

we should differentiate pap from singapore. pap is rotten to the core. singapore still has hope. we need to kick pap's asses :mad:

My neighbours will sing the People Republic of China anthem. :rolleyes:

I urge my fellow Chinaporeans to learn the following songs to show their patriotism on the 9th August

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/dwDkWzK24ZE&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/dwDkWzK24ZE&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Yac7tNWaeok&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Yac7tNWaeok&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Even angmoh also know how to sing, Chinaporeans should be ashamed of themselves!:mad:

wahlaneh...
still remember kana tekan by principal during flag-raising ceremony.
was giggling with classmates then kana ordered to stand underneath the flag to recite the national pledge loudly when the flag dropped on me n covered my face.
i was still standing there reciting loudly when everyone else was laughing loudly.:D

You know the saying, do anything, don't get caught!...I will haul you up & make you stand in the front... if you giggle when the allegiance is pledged...but nowadays you will get rewarded, encouraged & even promoted....:p

It's just an aspiration not to be taken seriously, so said the power-that-be.

And you were not taught the Singapore Constitution of course. Do you know your privileges and rights as a citizen? Do you?

I hope oppos will come to my estate and lead us in singing the national anthem. Thank you.

And you were not taught the Singapore Constitution of course. Do you know your privileges and rights as a citizen? Do you?

Of course I do, there were no constitution of SINgapore, when I was already schooling.....my generation knows the constitution...not those that come after..

I will do the "gun" salute at that particular time at a ktv in Changping, Donguan on Aug 9! ;)