• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Changi Hospital damn cruel, dying man relatives not allowed to see patient

KNN, on the front page of shin min, reported that changi hospital forbid relatives of a dying old man to be at his bedside becos it is after visiting hours..:mad::mad::mad:..

Dying patients shouldn't be wasting hospital resources in the first place. :rolleyes:

They should be sent home to expire.

Have you ever visited an ICU room? It is barely enough for a bed, the equipment and up to two persons. Everybody else will have to stand outside the room and take turns to go in, unless you want to suffocate the patient to death. The walls are also very thin.

Having a kampung of visitors will mean that the rest of the kampung will be waiting outside for their turn.

U rascist say so lah, u have a problem with a whole group of mats since you keep referring to kampung. Don't bullshit lah. ICU room has space on both sides of the bed and also at the end of the bed. They need that for medical personnel to work on the patient FROM BOTH SIDES OF THE BED. 6 people should be ok, maybe your relatives are all 100kg fatsos? As for suffocating the patient, if you are in ICU, u are likely on oxygen mask, right? How to suffocate? See how stupid you are.

I feel qualified to give my 2 cents worth. I've personally been warded in ICU before. And yes, breathing through oxygen tube (oxygen mask was used on ambulance). What I understand from my experience is:

If patient is out of critical condition, but still need to be in ICU for further treatment, visitation is allowed at maximum of 4 visitors during stipulated time. If patient is still in critical condition, no visitation whatsoever allowed. I feel that these restrictions are reasonable and prudent, for the good of the patient concerned and other patients in ICU.

'Why couldn't I visit dying dad?'
Son told to return during visiting hours. Dad dies before that. Hospital apologises

By Shree Ann Mathavan
May 26, 2010

Mr Sheun Chye Thok, 63, was upset that a lapse by Changi General Hospital (CGH) staff made him miss seeing his father for the last time before he died on May 14.

His father was just two days shy of turning 97.

Mr Sheun had tried to see his father, Mr Sheun Fei Yuen, 96, that morning but was turned away as it was outside visiting hours.

His father died about 1 1/2 hours later.

The older Mr Sheun had been on the hospital's dangerously ill list, which means that he is allowed up to four visitors at all times.

But the nurse on duty the night before had failed to indicate this.

As a result, the morning nurse was unaware of the ailing man's status and counter staff told Mr Sheun that he couldn't see his father.

The hospital has since apologised to the family.

Exact reason to vote them IN. If you were in the neighbouring room in the ICU, you'd definitely not appreciate a whole kampung of people visiting the bed next door, dying or not dying.

refer to tis mr sun case, nothing to do about the 4 visitors in ICU case, knn u don't devert the mistake done by cgh!

I feel qualified to give my 2 cents worth. I've personally been warded in ICU before. And yes, breathing through oxygen tube (oxygen mask was used on ambulance). What I understand from my experience is:

If patient is out of critical condition, but still need to be in ICU for further treatment, visitation is allowed at maximum of 4 visitors during stipulated time. If patient is still in critical condition, no visitation whatsoever allowed. I feel that these restrictions are reasonable and prudent, for the good of the patient concerned and other patients in ICU.

4 visitors but only one in the room at one time right? The other 3 wait outside and take turns.

refer to tis mr sun case, nothing to do about the 4 visitors in ICU case, knn u don't devert the mistake done by cgh!

Was replying to this post:

hitower said:
Not only CHG, this policy of visitation is for all goverment hospital. based on my friend recent visit to his father in law which is in critical condition. doctor say his father on law will go anytime, TTSH security said that 4 person per visit. Meaning that only 4 person is allow in the ICU, if the fifth person come, he have to wait for one person to come down before he can go up.

4 visitors but only one in the room at one time right? The other 3 wait outside and take turns.

Yes, apologies for not being clearer earlier. It's 1 visitor at bedside and max of 3 waiting outside to take turns.

In case when doctor confirms that ICU facilities can't help patient any further or patient doesn't need to be in ICU anymore, patient will be transferred to normal ward, where normal visiting rules and hours apply.

In case when doctor confirms that patient is beyond any cure and will expire anytime, normal rules are lifted. Visit at anytime. Exactly how many visitors allowed in such deathbed cases, I'm not sure. I've seen more than 10 surrounding deathbeds before in Class C wards even past midnight.

One must understand, in ICU means there's a medical chance of rescue from death. However, that's just a chance, not a certainty. The patient may die in ICU too, but doctor can't say sure-die if there's a chance.

As I've mentioned earlier, if doctor confirms sure-die case, patient will be transferred out of ICU to normal ward to wait for "time." If doctor confirms sure-die but it'd take sometime, like weeks or months, family can opt to keep patient warded or bring patient home for last days.

'Why couldn't I visit dying dad?'
Son told to return during visiting hours. Dad dies before that. Hospital apologises

By Shree Ann Mathavan
May 26, 2010

Mr Sheun Chye Thok, 63, was upset that a lapse by Changi General Hospital (CGH) staff made him miss seeing his father for the last time before he died on May 14.

His father was just two days shy of turning 97.

Mr Sheun had tried to see his father, Mr Sheun Fei Yuen, 96, that morning but was turned away as it was outside visiting hours.

His father died about 1 1/2 hours later.

The older Mr Sheun had been on the hospital's dangerously ill list, which means that he is allowed up to four visitors at all times.

But the nurse on duty the night before had failed to indicate this.

As a result, the morning nurse was unaware of the ailing man's status and counter staff told Mr Sheun that he couldn't see his father.

The hospital has since apologised to the family.

APologise for fuck? What good is it? The last 1 1/2 hours of your father's life is priceless to you. Why don't Khaw just come out and say that he sacked the counter staff and both nurses? Or is it "honest mistake"?

Dying patients shouldn't be wasting hospital resources in the first place. :rolleyes:

They should be sent home to expire.

Why don't you give us your address, and we will send them all to your home to die.

Were you injured in the cause of duty?