• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee Trade water to build Condo...

cheekenpie

... win already lor. Rather develop CBD area and build condo then have below market rate water...

Singapore, Malaysia resolve 20-year land, water disputes
Mon, May 24, 2010
AFP

SINGAPORE - Singapore and Malaysia said on Monday they have resolved long-standing disputes over land and water that have plagued ties between the two neighbours for the past 20 years.

Malaysia will relocate its railway station near Singapore's central business district to an area close to one of the two bridges linking the two countries, freeing up land in the city-state for redevelopment.

Malaysia has sovereignty over the site on which the Tanjong Pagar station is located, as well as land on both sides of the railway tracks that run through Singapore, under agreements dating back to British colonial rule.

Singapore said in turn it would not seek to extend a water agreement dating back to 1961, which allowed the city-state to buy water from the southern Malaysian state of Johor at below-market rates. Singapore will also hand over the waterworks it operates in Johor to the Malaysian state government when the current agreement lapses.

The agreement between the two countries emerged after a meeting between Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak and Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

"It's a big breakthrough. It paves the way for closer ties now that long-standing sore points have finally been resolved,"'said Citigroup economist Kit Wei Zheng.

The two countries said the Malayan Railway land will be developed by a joint venture between Malaysian sovereign wealth fund Khazanah, which will hold 60 percent, and Singapore state investor Temasek, which will own the balance 40 percent.

Other agreements reached by the two countries include the building of a rapid transit link between Singapore and southern Malaysia, and the joint development of an "'iconic project"' in Malaysia's Iskandar region by the two countries.

Malaysia has been promoting the Iskandar region, a showcase economic zone just north of Singapore, that it hopes can become a hinterland for its wealthy neighbour just as China's booming Shenzhen complements neighbouring Hong Kong. The zone has, however, attracted relatively few investments from Singapore.

"The points of agreement would facilitate resolution of the issue which has been outstanding for more than 19 years," the two countries said in a joint statement.

... win already lor. Rather develop CBD area and build condo then have below market rate water...

Malaysia was already not going to extend the contract, because their condition is to change the price for the current contract.

So Singapore lost nothing.

Government will make more from Condos in the CBD as compared to marking up the price of below market value water to sell to residents and ships.

Trading in a run down water works for prime CBD land is not a bad deal.

basically both parties have been grabing each other's balls for many years, harry used to grab mad-hatter's balls & vice versa, then passed the baton to holy ghost, then to assloong to grab narpjeep's & vice versa.

then both sides realized they've been grabing the counterpart's balls for so long, that they forget what their own balls felt like, so now finally decided to release each other's balls, so that they can finally scratch their own.

at the end, sinkies r the ones that lose out. we will eventually be drinking our own faeces water, we will be paying blood to taste the faeces water, we will be pouring more blood, so that the whiteshirts can redevelope the forgotten lands. and very possibly will be newer infrastructures that drink our blood faster.

KNN you folks dunno what LHL sell out,,,,,,,,

with his dummy wife and egotistical father, how smart can he be,,,,,

probably sell his backside to anwar

Malaysia was already not going to extend the contract, because their condition is to change the price for the current contract.

So Singapore lost nothing.

Whatever they want to charge is still going to be a lot cheaper than what it cost to make Newater and desalination water.

But they want to charge it NOW, when we still have a contract for a lower price. Where got such thing one?

what's the point of having their water whenever they feel like it , they would threatened to cut of the water supply. A master stroke by old man was when olivia lum the ceo of hyflux , a malaysian provide us with the technology to recycle used water. The country is now a major exporter of recycle water technology. 转败为胜。逼虎跳墙

Actually, more epensive water is paid by us. Gaining back the land benefit the govt. Smart trade.

But they want to charge it NOW, when we still have a contract for a lower price. Where got such thing one?

ARe you retarded or what? Let me repeat what I posted. ITS STILL CHEAPER TO PAY THEM WHAT THEY WANT THAN TO BUILD AND OPERATE NEWATER AND DESALINATION PLANTS.

what's the point of having their water whenever they feel like it , they would threatened to cut of the water supply. A master stroke by old man was when olivia lum the ceo of hyflux , a malaysian provide us with the technology to recycle used water. The country is now a major exporter of recycle water technology. 转败为胜。逼虎跳墙

Another retard on this forum. ARe you and Cass888 from the same mother? Water recycle technology has been round for decades. Hyflux does not own the monopoly on it. In fact, there are other companies that are more efficient than them. No body provided us with the technology, WE HAD TO FUCKING PAY FOR IT. When you have money, lots of people will sell you any technology you want.

Actually, more epensive water is paid by us. Gaining back the land benefit the govt. Smart trade.

I think that you, sheltox and Cass888 are all from the same retarded gene lines. Right now, 90% of the land used for the water purchased from Malaysia is located in malaysia. We have only a filtration plant here. In other words, the pumping station, reservoirs, etc. all on the malaysian side. This has saved us a lot of land. But without this water agreement, we must set aside a lot of land to build 3 or 4 Newater plants, and another 2 desalination plants. How is that a savings in land? We don't "gain" back the land as the govt. only owns 40% of the company the land is owned by.

Right now, 90% of the land used for the water purchased from Malaysia is located in malaysia. We have only a filtration plant here. In other words, the pumping station, reservoirs, etc. all on the malaysian side. This has saved us a lot of land. But without this water agreement, we must set aside a lot of land to build 3 or 4 Newater plants, and another 2 desalination plants. How is that a savings in land? We don't "gain" back the land as the govt. only owns 40% of the company the land is owned by.

I think that was a cockup neglect in a moment of anguish when someone was sobbing over Singapore being kicked out of the Malaysian Federation. Should have stayed sober and demanded return of sovereignty over all lands there and then if they wanted to kick Singapore out.

Rahman would not have given them up anyway. They were so pissed off at Con You and his ego, they would not have given up something that had S'pore by the balls. In any case, S'pore was voted out. They did not have time to negotiate this. But it should have been part of the later negotiations which formalized the separation, and should have included water rights into perpetuity.

I think that you, sheltox and Cass888 are all from the same retarded gene lines. Right now, 90% of the land used for the water purchased from Malaysia is located in malaysia. We have only a filtration plant here. In other words, the pumping station, reservoirs, etc. all on the malaysian side. This has saved us a lot of land. But without this water agreement, we must set aside a lot of land to build 3 or 4 Newater plants, and another 2 desalination plants. How is that a savings in land? We don't "gain" back the land as the govt. only owns 40% of the company the land is owned by.

veri correct tok.........this one everybody is toking also.

just want to score point to win votes----quickly shift TP to woodland and even the fresh water also dun want to negotiate.

want face dun want fresh water---a tok of town oredi!

so sinkapore has to build HDB flats and set aside so many land for reservoirs , sai chwee plants, desalt plants and many other things.

the consequences will very jialat .....down the road 20 years.....sinkapore still need fresh water from Malaysia to survive.....and the rest is bullshit.

want face dun want fresh water will dry out the land one day.

Strange deal but good for Singapore.

Water deal is non starter. We are supposed to turn over the old water treatment plant anyway. And we have decided on the Newater route.

But why the sudden willingness on Malaysia to deal with railway land?After all Malaysia must know that KTM tracks must be causing headaches in terms of land development and Singapore would pay an arm and a leg to get them out. This is sovereign Malaysian own land that Singapore has NO jurisdiction over at all. If they wanter they could rear chickens at Tg pagar? So why??

They will setup JV called MS (Malaysia Singapore??) to develop the KTM land. Malaysia will have 60% and temasek 40%. Malaysia will contribute the land (no new investments perhaps) but what will Temasek bring to table for 40%? I would imagine lots of money. We are talking about hundreds of acres of land here running from Tg Pagar to Johor!! I would think that it is Singapore that is reaching out to the Malaysians since we need the land to push pop to 6 million.

Maybe Malaysia wants to develop Iskandar so part of JV is for Temasek to come up with cash to develop KTM land as well as use other gLCs (all controlled by temasek) to develop Iskander. Malaysia will also take a chunk of money from their 60% stake to develop Iskander.

Malaysia need not do this and so it must be a big $$$ that we are paying. Good thing about "developing iskander is that funds can be invested by the whole family of GLCs and as such it would not be seen as GIC dumping in S$10B but more like every GLC putting in a few hundred million.

For Malaysia Iskander is also a good idea to tap on Singapore. Could prove to be a good investment if SIngapore Malsyain relations further improve.

nowsday got recycled toilet water liao lah no need msia supply.

But for newwater we are v reliant on our own catchment right? Got al nino meano come how?

walaueh...why u think so complicated?:confused:
any problem just turn off the main huge taps lor.
who cares what al nino or ah mina?:D