• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I just realised that for modern HDB lifts, you can cancel the floor which you have accidentally pressed by pressing on the button twice.

The HDB is the actual owner of the flats sold to unsuspecting 'buyers':
  • HDB residents are not permitted to use even their fully paid-up flats as collateral to banks, to raise credit facilities for private loans.
  • Public flat dwellers are likely to have their homes confiscated if they fail to comply with restrictive HDB terms and conditions.
  • HDB refers to flat owners as tenants, and those who rent from the owners as sub-tenants.
Shhhh… dun wake up the pigeon hole dwellers

Owning a car in S'pore gives my family unmatched convenience. It saves us significant commute time compared to relying on the train or bus. We enjoy door-to-door access, are sheltered from the frequent heavy downpours, helps us make shopping for bulky items and grocery, family outings, caring for both the young and elderly parents so much more comfortable and convenient. A car improves our quality of life immensely.
Less exposure to transmissible disease on public transport?

Owning a car in S'pore gives my family unmatched convenience. It saves us significant commute time compared to relying on the train or bus. We enjoy door-to-door access, are sheltered from the frequent heavy downpours, helps us make shopping for bulky items and grocery, family outings, caring for both the young and elderly parents so much more comfortable and convenient. A car improves our quality of life immensely.
Buy a car to support nation building mah
Let gov earn abit lah?

Screenshot_1.jpg

Saying that buying a private property is “more than just for prestige” already implies that prestige is still part of the equation, even if not the only motivation.

There is nothing wrong with wanting a bigger home, a different environment, or a freehold asset for one’s family. But if the primary motivation were truly just comfort and practicality, there would be little need to constantly signal status, draw distinctions from HDB living, or make snide remarks about HDB dwellers disguised as “hard truths.

People who are secure in their choices usually explain them without needing to elevate themselves over others.

Ironically, some private property owners still feel compelled to constantly remind HDB dwellers of their supposedly lower social standing, “heartlander” status, or lack of refinement while simultaneously signalling their own “upgraded” position. The persistent need to draw that comparison suggests that status consciousness remains deeply embedded in the mindset.

As the saying goes, “You can take a person out of HDB, but you cannot take the HDB out of them.” Some upgraders may leave HDB physically, but remain HDB dwellers at heart.

Why, you may wonder. The answer is fairly simple. The pleasure of acquiring something new is temporary; as novelty fades, so does its emotional intensity. What once felt exciting gradually becomes ordinary.

When that sense of novelty disappears, people often turn to comparison and external validation to restore a feeling of significance. By extension, perceived envy can serve as a subtle way of extending novelty, by turning personal possession into something that gains meaning through the eyes of others, rather than through the object itself.

@Tree tioboh ?

Saying that buying a private property is “more than just for prestige” already implies that prestige is still part of the equation, even if not the only motivation.
People who are secure in their choices usually explain them without needing to elevate themselves over others.

Why, you may wonder. The answer is fairly simple. The pleasure of acquiring something new is temporary; as novelty fades, so does its emotional intensity. What once felt exciting gradually becomes ordinary.​
When I stated that buying a private property is "more than just for prestige", it means that there are far more compelling reasons which have nothing to do with 'prestige'. In the case of my family, we wanted a more spacious and comfortable private condo in a safer neighbourhood. It is also an investment on a freehold home, and not 99-year-lease. It is true that after living in a condo near nature for over 20 years, the novelty has been normalised, but on days when I am down because of work stress, I rather be feeling a little depressed in my freehold condo than a HDB unit that does not belong to me, but the Housing Board.

Buy a car to support nation building mah Let gov earn abit lah?
The classic S'porean perspective is that buying a car is about giving back to society because the high taxes and COE premiums are seen as a huge revenue stream for the greedy govt, used to subsidise public transport, essential services for needy S'poreans and the obscene pay of our politicians. For the buyer, it is a practical but painful calculation to pay for time, convenience and comfort.

When I stated that buying a private property is "more than just for prestige", it means that there are far more compelling reasons which have nothing to do with 'prestige'. In the case of my family, we wanted a more spacious and comfortable private condo in a safer neighbourhood. It is also an investment on a freehold home, and not 99-year-lease. It is true that after living in a condo near nature for over 20 years, the novelty has been normalised, but on days when I am down because of work stress, I rather be feeling a little depressed in my freehold condo than a HDB unit that does not belong to me, but the Housing Board.

To each his own. So long as you are happy and comfortable in your abode, why give a fuck to what others think?

I had to clarify because Dongyi made an accusation based on his misinterpretation of what I wrote in an earlier post. If he purposely misinterpreted what I said earlier to make it fit his own agenda, then he is acting in bad faith. It is used to put me on the defensive or derail my original point. On the other hand, if Dongyi genuinely misread my earlier statement, I should straighten things out.

No need to explain or justify anything in this forum. Everyone is entitled to interpret anything they like. Why give a shit?

The classic S'porean perspective is that buying a car is about giving back to society because the high taxes and COE premiums are seen as a huge revenue stream for the greedy govt, used to subsidise public transport, essential services for needy S'poreans and the obscene pay of our politicians. For the buyer, it is a practical but painful calculation to pay for time, convenience and comfort.
Change of lifestyle
Before buy car - can eat restaurant shark fin n birdnest

After buy car - can eat Sunshine Roti

Very very strong nation building effort?

Change of lifestyle Before buy car - can eat restaurant shark fin n birdnest After buy car - can eat Sunshine Roti Very very strong nation building effort?
Such people should not be owning a car. If they have to live hand to mouth, then they are better off taking public transport.

Vintage HDB flat lifts were more fun.

1) No glass windows on the lift door, you didn't know what's on the other side.

2) The door opened from one side, not from the middle.

3) The lift didn't stop on every floor.

4) Some lifts didn't stop at the ground floor, but at the stairwell between the ground floor and second floor.

5) No security camera.

6) Frequent blackouts inside the lift.

View attachment 242182

There is nothing wrong with wanting a bigger home, a different environment, or a freehold asset for one’s family. But if the primary motivation were truly just comfort and practicality, there would be little need to constantly signal status, draw distinctions from HDB living, or make snide remarks about HDB dwellers disguised as “hard truths.

Ironically, some private property owners still feel compelled to constantly remind HDB dwellers of their supposedly lower social standing, “heartlander” status, or lack of refinement while simultaneously signalling their own “upgraded” position. The persistent need to draw that comparison suggests that status consciousness remains deeply embedded in the mindset.

As the saying goes, “You can take a person out of HDB, but you cannot take the HDB out of them.” Some upgraders may leave HDB physically, but remain HDB dwellers at heart.

Why, you may wonder. The answer is fairly simple. The pleasure of acquiring something new is temporary; as novelty fades, so does its emotional intensity. What once felt exciting gradually becomes ordinary.

When that sense of novelty disappears, people often turn to comparison and external validation to restore a feeling of significance. By extension, perceived envy can serve as a subtle way of extending novelty, by turning personal possession into something that gains meaning through the eyes of others, rather than through the object itself.

@Tree tioboh ?
Tio. From Bangkok. :laugh: