Closed downActually the more famous Cantonese restaurant in the '60s and '70s was Fatty Weng (肥仔荣) at Guillemard Road, near the original Singapore Badminton Hall. It's still around today, run by the 2nd generation, on Smith Street.
during tat era, there was oso another famous chef... sifu Tham Mui KaiActually the more famous Cantonese restaurant in the '60s and '70s was Fatty Weng (肥仔荣) at Guillemard Road, near the original Singapore Badminton Hall. It's still around today, run by the 2nd generation, on Smith Street.
Tham Yui Kai, one of the four legendary Canto chefs in Singapore in that era. He opened Lai Wah Restaurant at Jln Besar, then moved to Bendemeer. My dad sent my mum to his cooking course where she learnt 10 dishes - sweet & sour pork, paper wrapped chicken, Kyoto pork rib, etc. We had great food for 6 months, and then it was back to the same old same old. My dad started eating out again.during tat era, there was oso another famous chef... sifu Tham Mui Kai

Need to clear space for million dollars development right?View attachment 241912
Moi Lam was also another good Cantonese restaurant which closed shop in 2019 after 99 years in business.
i think these 4 legendary sifu oso started the famous Red Star Rest.Tham Yui Kai, one of the four legendary Canto chefs in Singapore in that era. He opened Lai Wah Restaurant at Jln Besar, then moved to Bendemeer. My dad sent my mum to his cooking course where she learnt 10 dishes - sweet & sour pork, paper wrapped chicken, Kyoto pork rib, etc. We had great food for 6 months, and then it was back to the same old same old. My dad started eating out again.![]()
Sin and Hooi founded Red Star, Lau was head chefi think these 4 legendary sifu oso started the famous Red Star Rest.
View attachment 241917
who are the owners of Red Star now ?Sin and Hooi founded Red Star, Lau was head chef
Dunno. Haven't been there in quite a while.who are the owners of Red Star now ?
Sibei ex.....but taste better than 126i think these 4 legendary sifu oso started the famous Red Star Rest.
View attachment 241917
i think these 4 legendary sifu oso started the famous Red Star Rest.
View attachment 241917