• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cantonese restaurant Wing Seong Fatty’s to end 100-year run

jurongwest

1779184980598.png

urlr.me/N9PvSe

Actually the more famous Cantonese restaurant in the '60s and '70s was Fatty Weng (肥仔荣) at Guillemard Road, near the original Singapore Badminton Hall. It's still around today, run by the 2nd generation, on Smith Street.

Closed down

during tat era, there was oso another famous chef... sifu Tham Mui Kai

Tham Yui Kai, one of the four legendary Canto chefs in Singapore in that era. He opened Lai Wah Restaurant at Jln Besar, then moved to Bendemeer. My dad sent my mum to his cooking course where she learnt 10 dishes - sweet & sour pork, paper wrapped chicken, Kyoto pork rib, etc. We had great food for 6 months, and then it was back to the same old same old. My dad started eating out again.:biggrin:

Business must be shit if no one wants to take over. So no big loss la.

People are not stupid. If there’s some meat in the business, they will be circling to take over.

Those were the days .... open-air dinner at Fatty's on Albert Street.
With my young wife, my mother .... and children.
The favourites: Fish head with thick rice noodles in soup and/or beef 'see-chap' hor fern dry.
No equivalent here in Foshan.

moi-lum-restaurant-entrance.jpg

Moi Lam was also another good Cantonese restaurant which closed shop in 2019 after 99 years in business.

Old companies run into problems of getting successors on top of operating at high rental, low profit, the younger gen
will not want to take over as easier to sit inside office and be pen pushers.
Bit by bit, our local culture will be lost. Govt running business also has no interest to keep our culture alive. They only want make money.
Just get out of sg rent seeking culture. No need to think about preserving legacy.

https://chojiya.info/english
@True Believer