• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodle is losing its lustre

what's the big deal about BCM........................i've eaten it less than 10 times in my 51 year existence................and ALL of those times - people buy for me..............i had NEVER ordered on my own.....................same for Bak Kut Teh............

dun underestimate bcm hor. itz my fav comfort food when down wif flu. only ketchup, no chilli :D

This is all that $10 will get you at Tai Hwa these days. It is considered medium size.
235506826_2026509204173112_6836609535271820692_n-1.jpg

The things being sold are the same. It's just the purchasing power of your precious Sinkie dollars has been declining. :cool:
Cannot be as S$ very strong. Inflation only set in if currency weakens. So other forces are to be blamed for high prices.

got a few pieces of fried fish mah..................... :laugh:
The owner of Tai Hwa Pork Noodle claims that he removed the $6 bowl of noodles because his customers said it "lacked flavour" and had fewer ingredients. He stated that customer feedback prompted him to price the smallest bowl at $8. That must be the most unconvincing reason for a price hike that I have ever heard. In my honest opinion, even the $10 bowl is not substantial!

I never get the appeal of this overpriced garbage. Ate it once. Fucking gross. The queue is long as well, at least when I went there 5 years ago.

The owner of Tai Hwa Pork Noodle claims that he removed the $6 bowl of noodles because his customers said it "lacked flavour" and had fewer ingredients. He stated that customer feedback prompted him to price the smallest bowl at $8. That must be the most unconvincing reason for a price hike that I have ever heard. In my honest opinion, even the $10 bowl is not substantial!
The chap got no biz sense. Deliberate slow poke like to create fake queue. Maybe seeing the queue he feels shiok.
Employ so many underlings stand around do nothing see him cook slowly.

The chap got no biz sense. Deliberate slow poke like to create fake queue. Maybe seeing the queue he feels shiok. Employ so many underlings stand around do nothing see him cook slowly.
I notice that the cook/owner insists on collecting payment too, so the assistants merely take orders and set up the bowls accordingly.

Yes no brains one.
Some tasks can outsource
Agree that cooking he needs to handle personally but even garnishing also he do. Like that one man show better. All the seconds here and there add up.
Take a look at Blanco Prawn noodles it’s always big crowds but their flow is fast and conveyor belt like. Or the famous Hill Street CKT who even have ‘pre-fryers’. These hawkers know how to maximise time to churn out fastest as each bowl is money.
Even I queue at such places I dun feel like a fool.

Yes no brains one. Some tasks can outsource Agree that cooking he needs to handle personally but even garnishing also he do. Like that one man show better. All the seconds here and there add up. Take a look at Blanco Prawn noodles it’s always big crowds but their flow is fast and conveyor belt like. Or the famous Hill Street CKT who even have ‘pre-fryers’. These hawkers know how to maximise time to churn out fastest as each bowl is money. Even I queue at such places I dun feel like a fool.
Tai Hwa has an obscure PayNow QR code not strategically placed, but prefers customers to pay cash. It cannot be hygienic collecting cash while cooking. I always see the owner/son with their hair and forehead covered in perspiration. I wonder how much of it ends up in the soup?

You want authentic flavour or artificial?

Syed, you have been eating too many roti pratas with remnants of faecal matter under the finger nails of the Indian hawkers. It happens because they wash their butts by hand with water, in between making those pratas.