• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Rnouncing Singapore citizenship

Thank you. But must I go personally to the CPF board to withdraw CPF? Can't I send them all the documents and get them to TT the money over?

you can do it online or via mail. but you need all supporting documents and you need to sign the application form. you can either sign the application in person at their office, or you can sign it in front of a public notary in order to obtain a certification stamp.

go to http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/home.htm

look under faq.

click on question #3.

"Q: Can I withdraw my CPF if I am leaving Singapore and West Malaysia permanently? If so, what do I need to do?

A: You may withdraw your CPF in full if you have left Singapore and West Malaysia permanently with no intention of returning to either country for employment or residence.

You may apply for withdrawal online under my cpf Online Services - My Requests if you have a SingPass. Alternatively, you can also complete the application form CPF-LM and mail it to us.

To support your application, please mail us photocopies of the relevant supporting documents (as stated on the application form) which must be certified by a Notary Public or an official from Singapore High Commision."

you also need a bank routing number in your new country to receive the funds by wire. normally, the cpf board will transfer your money to a bank of their choice in your new country, and you'll get a notice of the transfer via mail in the form of a check or money order issued by the bank.
all the info is readily available online. you just need to search for them.

longbow

You brought up an interesting point. You mean ICA actually told you it is illegal to hold on top Singapore citizenship?? Was it a case of having to give up singapore passport becasue you want the CPF or was it ICA seperately asking you to turn in passport.

SOme in this forum, including Scroobal (very well informed) has mentioned that unofficial policy is that Singapore Gov will not insist that you hand in your passport upon getting another passport. That there is unofficial dual citizenship.

Perhaps there has been a change in official policy.

I need my CPF money, besides, I've been notified by the ICA that it is illegal to hold on to the Sinkee citizenship while having a foreign citizenship. As such, I'll have no choice but to surrender the Sinkee passport and the pink IC when I get back to Oz later this year.

fishbuff

You brought up an interesting point. You mean ICA actually told you it is illegal to hold on top Singapore citizenship?? Was it a case of having to give up singapore passport becasue you want the CPF or was it ICA seperately asking you to turn in passport.

SOme in this forum, including Scroobal (very well informed) has mentioned that unofficial policy is that Singapore Gov will not insist that you hand in your passport upon getting another passport. That there is unofficial dual citizenship.

dont you just hate the double standard of ICA? on one hand the "new citizens" of singapore can hold 2 passports/citizenship with ease, whereas they compel the very natural citzens of singapore who sacrificed their time, energy and even lives for NS and frigging 16 years of reservists to make the mandatory choice of sacrificing one of the citizenship.

kiwibird7

Thanks Kiwibird. But what about withdrawl of CPF? Could I call the ICA/CPF board after sometime? How long will the process take? And also, could I possibly trust the ICa and send my documents to them?

Normally takes about 6-8 weeks for ICA to process renunciation applications if all the documents have been properly filled, notarised etc. Your return mail address is most important for their reply to reach you.

Sending straight to ICA via courier mail is much better and faster than sending it through the scenic route (High Com in Australia).

Once your International Bank draft has been cleared it would indicate that the ICA has received your application and should be processing your application.

ICA would not inform CPF on your behalf. You have to inform the CPF yourself with the letter from the ICA that you have ceased to be a SG citizen. Your CPF funds could be transferred electronically to a SG bank account (10 days) or a International Bank Draft in a currency you prefer and posted to your overseas address (takes longer than 10 days). I don't think CPF would TT your CPF internationally.

Satan

you can do it online or via mail. but you need all supporting documents and you need to sign the application form. you can either sign the application in person at their office, or you can sign it in front of a public notary in order to obtain a certification stamp.

go to http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/home.htm

look under faq.

click on question #3.

"Q: Can I withdraw my CPF if I am leaving Singapore and West Malaysia permanently? If so, what do I need to do?

A: You may withdraw your CPF in full if you have left Singapore and West Malaysia permanently with no intention of returning to either country for employment or residence.

You may apply for withdrawal online under my cpf Online Services - My Requests if you have a SingPass. Alternatively, you can also complete the application form CPF-LM and mail it to us.

To support your application, please mail us photocopies of the relevant supporting documents (as stated on the application form) which must be certified by a Notary Public or an official from Singapore High Commision."

you also need a bank routing number in your new country to receive the funds by wire. normally, the cpf board will transfer your money to a bank of their choice in your new country, and you'll get a notice of the transfer via mail in the form of a check or money order issued by the bank.
all the info is readily available online. you just need to search for them.

Thanks for the detailed reply. Appreciate it.

Satan

Actually I have asked ICA myself and they have told me that Singapore does not allow dual citizenship. They have also told me that having dual citisenship could entail a hefty fine or jail term. I'm aware that some folks like Scroobal have argued in the past till dawn breaks that having dual citizenship is not an offense but there is a grey area here. While many other countries officially allow dual citizenship, Singapore has not stated that it does. The Sinkee government can prosecute a person if it wants to, the question is whether they'll choose to do it or not. All they've got ot do is to just take one person as a scape goat to set an example and who knows who that lucky person to "strike Toto" will be? Like you know, slaughtering the chicken to scare the cows.

Satan

Normally takes about 6-8 weeks for ICA to process renunciation applications if all the documents have been properly filled, notarised etc. Your return mail address is most important for their reply to reach you.

Sending straight to ICA via courier mail is much better and faster than sending it through the scenic route (High Com in Australia).

Once your International Bank draft has been cleared it would indicate that the ICA has received your application and should be processing your application.

ICA would not inform CPF on your behalf. You have to inform the CPF yourself with the letter from the ICA that you have ceased to be a SG citizen. Your CPF funds could be transferred electronically to a SG bank account (10 days) or a International Bank Draft in a currency you prefer and posted to your overseas address (takes longer than 10 days). I don't think CPF would TT your CPF internationally.

Thanks Kiwibird. Appreciate your kind reply.

chewed

Actually I have asked ICA myself and they have told me that Singapore does not allow dual citizenship. They have also told me that having dual citisenship could entail a hefty fine or jail term. I'm aware that some folks like Scroobal have argued in the past till dawn breaks that having dual citizenship is not an offense but there is a grey area here. While many other countries officially allow dual citizenship, Singapore has not stated that it does. The Sinkee government can prosecute a person if it wants to, the question is whether they'll choose to do it or not. All they've got ot do is to just take one person as a scape goat to set an example and who knows who that lucky person to "strike Toto" will be? Like you know, slaughtering the chicken to scare the cows.

Satan,

that was exactly my point previosuly in the threads regarding dual citizenship.

kingrant

If you ask them, sure lah, they'll tell you so. Do you expect them to say, ya ok? Why the sinkie govt has not acted loudly so far is because they wld have to extend the requirement to new citizens too and they are afraid to ask them to choose in case they up and leave. If some of them are allowed, and you come to know of it, won't you kpkb? Therefore, sinkie govt knows they are weak in bargaining - at least for now, when they need FTs.

Yr last sentence: you mean killing the monkey to scare the chickens?

Satan

If you ask them, sure lah, they'll tell you so. Do you expect them to say, ya ok? Why the sinkie govt has not acted loudly so far is because they wld have to extend the requirement to new citizens too and they are afraid to ask them to choose in case they up and leave. If some of them are allowed, and you come to know of it, won't you kpkb? Therefore, sinkie govt knows they are weak in bargaining - at least for now, when they need FTs.

Well I don't know. The fact is that they can prosecute you if they want to, whether they will or not is a different situation altogether but there is always that risk. The choice of holding on to the Sinkee passport however is not open to me as I need my CPF money. You may consider that option however if you have properties or business in Singapore or if you have substantial government contracts. Just don't tell them about your new citizenship can already.

As for the proverb, Sorry, my mistake. It is to 'Kill the chicken to scare the monkeys', not cows.

axe168

Well I don't know. The fact is that they can prosecute you if they want to, whether they will or not is a different situation altogether but there is always that risk. The choice of holding on to the Sinkee passport however is not open to me as I need my CPF money. .

Congrats !

My wifey is also in the process of renouncing.. I have done it few years ago, now kinda blur-blur.. your info is worth a gold to us ! Must die-die collect CPF lah, coz the returns in Aus can easily hit 10-20 percent..

good luck !

Satan

Congrats !

My wifey is also in the process of renouncing.. I have done it few years ago, now kinda blur-blur.. your info is worth a gold to us ! Must die-die collect CPF lah, coz the returns in Aus can easily hit 10-20 percent..

good luck !

Thanks. But why she did not renounce together with you? Did she come after you?

Don Muthuswamy

Though Singapore has not said specifically that it allows dual citiszenship, I don't suppose the PAP will really come down hard on this. Its likely that they'll close one eye to this. Why? Simple. If they start imposing this on new citizens i.e. getting them to give up the citizenship of their birth country, there is a risk that they'll pack up and leave. Whereas if they were to impose this on Sinkees, it might be all the better for them. They might liquidate their assets in Singapore, withdraw their CPF and go. The government can't afford that. On the other hand, if they were to allow dual citizenship, people who come of NS age could just run off. So at the end of the day, its more of a choice beteen the devil and the deep blue sea.

kiwibird7

Don Muthuswamy: On the other hand, if they were to allow dual citizenship, people who come of NS age could just run off. So at the end of the day, its more of a choice beteen the devil and the deep blue sea.

Even now, NS liable children are already absconding via emigration when the PAP govt doesn't allow dual citizenship.

Does dual citizenship make it any easier to abscond from NS? Dual citizenship males can run away but they can never return to Singapore even if they hold a SG Passports for they will be arrested the moment they land on Singapore shores. If one cannot return to Singapore even if one has a SG passport, what then is the point of having dual citizenship in name only?

So it makes no difference whether dual citizenship is given or the current status quo remains where running away from NS is concerned.

In fact permitting dual citizenship could prevent the withdrawal of CPF from S'poreans renouncing SG citizenship as the application can be rejected outright by the PAP govt.

axe168

Thanks. But why she did not renounce together with you? Did she come after you?
Aiyo.. she's a super pro-pap you see.. educated in one of our prestige top 5 JCs and local Uni, she has to be "absolutely" sure before she makes the move.. Of course, opportunity means nothing to her.. (but) safety and security are everything..

If she makes the move early (by renouncing her citizenship together with me) she could get immediate exchange gain of 30%.. plus an investment gain of > 45%.. I simply buy a place in Eastern suburb (8km from CBD) in Jun 2009, I've already made $500k..ROI about 400%.. if she is doing the same, our combined killing for 2010 is AUD $1 mil !!!

3 Cheers for you (& my wifey too) !

Don Muthuswamy

Even now, NS liable children are already absconding via emigration when the PAP govt doesn't allow dual citizenship.

Does dual citizenship make it any easier to abscond from NS? Dual citizenship males can run away but they can never return to Singapore even if they hold a SG Passports for they will be arrested the moment they land on Singapore shores. If one cannot return to Singapore even if one has a SG passport, what then is the point of having dual citizenship in name only?

So it makes no difference whether dual citizenship is given or the current status quo remains where running away from NS is concerned.

In fact permitting dual citizenship could prevent the withdrawal of CPF from S'poreans renouncing SG citizenship as the application can be rejected outright by the PAP govt.

Your points are valid, which begs the question. \Why is the Singapore government not allowing dual citizenship, especially when allowing this will in fact benefit them, especially where they can pevent Sinkees from withdrawing their CPF.

Satan

especially where they can pevent Sinkees from withdrawing their CPF.

Its very simple. If the PAP does that, then they'll only be shooting themsleves in their foot. Its every motive of the PAP to attract as many of the FTs as possible and get them to take up citizenship.They can only prevent the exisiting Singaproeans but if this rule kicks off, how many of the FTs do you think would want to take up Sinkee citizenship? I'm sure they know better than doing something like this?