Has anyone experienced sleep paralysis?

True Believer

You are lying in bed drifting off to sleep when you suddenly feel like something is pressing you down, someone is in your bedroom, fear overcomes you or you are unable to speak. Has anyone experienced sleep paralysis?

SleepParalysis_Graphic-1024x717.png

I used to get sleep paralysis regularly many years ago when I was in NS and after studying past midnight while in NUS. I don't know if it was due to irregular sleeping hours or fatigue which triggered this more often. I was rather afraid initially, but after reading about sleep paralysis, I just closed my eyes and wait for my "frozen" state be released after a few minutes. Thankfully, it hasn't happened for the past decade.

You are lying in bed drifting off to sleep when you suddenly feel like something is pressing you down, someone is in your bedroom, fear overcomes you or you are unable to speak. Has anyone experienced sleep paralysis?

I didn't know there are other symptoms as described above. Mine is always brain wakes up but body not moving and I will be "screaming/grunting" to try to wake up.

My family has standing orders to shake me until I open my eyes

If it happened at the NUS/NTU dorm, after waiting up first thing must check backside.

If you are a virgin the evil spirits will not bother you while you sleep.

I used to get sleep paralysis regularly many years ago when I was in NS and after studying past midnight while in NUS. I don't know if it was due to irregular sleeping hours or fatigue which triggered this more often. I was rather afraid initially, but after reading about sleep paralysis, I just closed my eyes and wait for my "frozen" state be released after a few minutes. Thankfully, it hasn't happened for the past decade.
I used to have it leegularly at younger age.
At first I brushed it off as tiredness.
But now I believe most likely is not due to tiredness, becos at older age, I felt more fatigue yet I doesn't experience it anymore.

When i look back, it is more likely spirit.
Becos of 2 similar incidents.

1. When I worked in a company, a security saw spirit. Then whenever I slept there, I always got this paralysis.

2. In my old hdb flat, my bro got paralysis sleeping on a bed.
When i took over the bed at the same location, I got it too.

During younger days yes lah, teens and 20s as your body metabolism is very high and you are naively enough to imagine and believe supernatural things. But as you get older and wiser and no longer believe in what ranjiao ghosts etc, it will stop completely LOL.

I used to have it leegularly at younger age.
At first I brushed it off as tiredness.
But now I believe most likely is not due to tiredness, becos at older age, I felt more fatigue yet I doesn't experience it anymore.

When i look back, it is more likely spirit.
Becos of 2 similar incidents.

1. When I worked in a company, a security saw spirit. Then whenever I slept there, I always got this paralysis.

2. In my old hdb flat, my bro got paralysis sleeping on a bed.
When i took over the bed at the same location, I got it too.
It happened to me when I was in Beijing. I stayed very near to the Forbidden City. I could see the side walls of the Forbidden City, and this could be the place where the imperial maids did their shopping more than 100 years ago. I was very sure the spirit who sat on my bed was a young imperial maid who died without a husband or committed suicide.

During younger days yes lah, teens and 20s as your body metabolism is very high and you are naively enough to imagine and believe supernatural things. But as you get older and wiser and no longer believe in what ranjiao ghosts etc, it will stop completely LOL.
sleep paralysis is real but I'm not sure if it has anything to do with spirits. i used to have it frequently in my teens but grew out of it..

It happened to me when I was in Beijing. I stayed very near to the Forbidden City. I could see the side walls of the Forbidden City, and this could be the place where the imperial maids did their shopping more than 100 years ago. I was very sure the spirit who sat on my bed was a young imperial maid who died without a husband or committed suicide.
Luckily you met a decent spirit.
While I was still hard & strong, I met a Slutty one who rode on top of me.
It was scarlee and enjoyable at the same time.

Then once when I got the paralysis, I saw many clowns dancing around me.

And I am not joking.

sleep paralysis is real but I'm not sure if it has anything to do with spirits. i used to have it frequently in my teens but grew out of it..

Told you already. I even had one strange sleep-walking experience during my teens, strangely on the same night right after I saved a chiobu young lady from drowning in a public swimming pool. I got so excited but later that night I I start to imagine things due to watching too much '90s HK ghost/zombie movies and panicked when the dream turn into something horrifying when I dream about the lady I saved is supposed to be dead but I disrupted her fate etc., I became farking stressed and got to the point that sleep-walked from bedroom to the main door trying to open the door but can't. Luckily my mom stopped me by shaking me and ask me WTF is happening as she noticed I walk like a zombie towards the door LOL.

It's all part of naive believe in the supernatural nonsense when you are younger.

Told you already. I even had one strange sleep-walking experience during my teens, strangely on the same night right after I saved a chiobu young lady from drowning in a public swimming pool. I got so excited but later that night I I start to imagine things due to watching too much '90s HK ghost/zombie movies and panicked when the dream turn into something horrifying when I dream about the lady I saved is supposed to be dead but I disrupted her fate etc., I became farking stressed and got to the point that sleep-walked from bedroom to the main door trying to open the door but can't. Luckily my mom stopped me by shaking me and ask me WTF is happening as she noticed I walk like a zombie towards the door LOL. It's all part of naive believe in the supernatural nonsense when you are younger.
Sleeping pills like Zolpidem induce a state of sleepiness while not fully shutting down other parts of the brain responsible for movement and complex actions i.e. may result in sleepwalking.

Owing to the hallucinations associated with sleep paralysis, we may think we see shadows, a dark figure or even a feeling that someone is lying on top of our chest.

unfortunately most of us will not be so lucky to have a slutty riding us lol

Never experienced sleep paralysis, even at my old age. But I do wake up with paralysing leg cramps once in a while.

I have knee arthritis so I do wake up with knee pain when I get off my bed and step on the floor.
yeah, getting old is no fun. Father time is a merciless twat. But it is what it is, we can only do our best to age gracefully.

Take glutamine for joint health. Go and lift free weights. I lifted free weights from 19 to 37. Till a herniated disc and a pinched nerve ended my hobby (overloaded my squat of 120 kg) Looking to get back soon as I got no more pain.

Muscle atrophy starts around 30s. Lifting weights slows down this process. Take magnesium supplements for better sleep. I am not sure about your pre existing other health conditions. Do some research and consult your doctor before taking any health supplements long term. I have insomnia and other problems (genetic).

Currently, on Magnesium Clycinate. My sleep is good. Previously, on Magnesium Taurate. My only issue is the afternoon slump between 2pm to 4pm.