COE premiums rise in all categories except motorcycles

True Believer

We have approached the day when only top earners are able to possess cars. This makes car ownership even more attractive to those who can afford a vehicle, owing to its increased snob appeal.
The premium for Cat A COE, for smaller less powerful cars and EVs, at $102,009, was 0.9% above the previous $101,102 price.
The price for Cat B COE, for larger more powerful cars and EVs, increased by 3.7% to $123,498 from $119,101.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...cycles-cat-b-at-123498-highest-since-dec-2023

COE Aug.jpg

We have approached the day when only top earners are able to possess cars. This makes car ownership even more attractive to those who can afford a vehicle, owing to its increased snob appeal.
The premium for Cat A COE, for smaller less powerful cars and EVs, at $102,009, was 0.9% above the previous $101,102 price.
The price for Cat B COE, for larger more powerful cars and EVs, increased by 3.7% to $123,498 from $119,101.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...cycles-cat-b-at-123498-highest-since-dec-2023
65% voted for this. You get what you voted for

Conspicuous consumption boosts our sense of identity and also conveys status and importance. In land-scarce SG, the less affluent have to make way for the wealthy; nowhere is this more clearly apparent than in car ownership. Unlike one’s private home, a set of 4-wheels is a possession that can be literally displayed at different places to a wider audience throughout the day. Car owners are perceived as wealthier and having membership to a higher social status group - not just to others, but also to themselves.

These young people all take huge car loan lah. My friends around the same age all take loans for all these snob appeal products. Nothing to be proud about. Anyway, its their lifestyle they want to lead, so its their problem not mine.

No such insanity of greedy govt managing SG like Sg Inc but allows us to aspire & achieve the 5Cs car, condo, country club, credit card & cash in the 90s or even 80s. Really appreciate those 1st & 2nd gen old guards.
There was even a public outrage when COE was transferable & became a speculative instrument till it got traded to almost $100k in the 90s, then it got intervened & normalised to less than $10k till $20k. Even can get $50 COE. Why are our current PMETs so docile?

CatA $102,009 x 1,268 = $130,477,200
CatB $223,498 x 789 = $184,229,922
CatC $70,001 x 290 = $20,306,090
CatD $9,189 x 533 = $4,897,737
CatE $122,334 x 261 $31,939,174

Total COE collected Aug25 = $879,870,124

Huat ahhhhhhh……..

These young people all take huge car loan lah. My friends around the same age all take loans for all these snob appeal products. Nothing to be proud about. Anyway, its their lifestyle they want to lead, so its their problem not mine.
That is exactly what the PAP said. If S'poreans are willing and able to pay for a car, we may have as many as we wish to own. Nobody is stopping us, but we must have the means to do so.

Buy new EV with $40K green subsidiary. That will translate to paying only $62,009 for Cat A COE.

Imagine nearly 1 $billion collected every month for no provision of services or costs of goods….in fact more cars mean more petrol taxes, road taxes, ERP collections etc etc. All 100% net profit.

Singapore has the highest per $m ministers per capita but equally the richest country per capita in proportion to the size of country and population. It also has the most number of chobohlan MPs per population in the world including really really chobohlan NMPs and most mayors per population in the world.

And 65% daft voters agree and allow this to happen.

It is indeed the most expensive country in the world undisputed.

$7 to $8 billion is collected from COE and related car ownership taxes every year...

I intend to buy the wife a Merc. But that car will be surplus to our needs.
Will do it anyway.
Poor sinkie. Please take you slow bus or delayed trains. You deserve it. You voted for it.

I intend to buy the wife a Merc. But that car will be surplus to our needs. Will do it anyway. Poor sinkie. Please take you slow bus or delayed trains. You deserve it. You voted for it.
Is that the red Mercedes that you intend to purchase?

Mercedes.jpg