Growing wave of businesses going belly up in Singapore

There is noone to blame except themselves.
You do the blaming before you start the businesses, not after.
If it is after, then stfu and shutdown your business.
Or else it is the same as you walk into a casino to gamble, win money you happy, lose money you kpkb and asking casino to leeturn you the money.
Be clear minded.

I noticed those SMEs owners with low education like to open more outlets (esp F&B and hospitality) than they can chew. Serves them right
Bigger retail chains have more economic power yes but once they buy over a certain brand, u will get the same monotonous food and brand with lower standards and taste.

In this case, you will see more and more food courts under certain flagships going for a more oligopolistic approach and eventually it’s we the consumers who end up with fewer choices with higher price. Some smaller local businesses deserves more help.

Not just for F&B SMEs but other industries as well.

Some people under your definition of low education run successful businesses and earns far more than you like the founder of the Far East organisation

So have a more broader and positive mindset instead of a negative one

The upcoming US tariff tax, set to take effect on August 7th, is expected to drive up inflation, resulting in a significant increase in prices for many items.

It’s like being the top of a food chain isn’t it? The rich gets richer and the poor, poorer and a widening middle class gap.

In order to survive, the ones at the top of the food chain are the most comfortable meaning landlord have the final say as to how much rent they want to increase and tenants feel the squeeze and eventually leads to the closure of businesses

Of cos some people in this forum who likely never done a day of business goes poking at other people’s misery like saying things like serves them right when these are helpless small business owners.

Then serve this group of poking people right as well because those who can afford the high rent are the bigger market players who will start even higher food prices. So don’t complain when your food gets more expensive and why things get even more expensive.

There is noone to blame except themselves.
You do the blaming before you start the businesses, not after.
If it is after, then stfu and shutdown your business.
Or else it is the same as you walk into a casino to gamble, win money you happy, lose money you kpkb and asking casino to leeturn you the money.
Be clear minded.
Think the point here is the ones asking for higher rental who are the landlords. Yes they want more rent n more smaller business close meaning people lose jobs.

It could mean normal people just running a small time business. It could also mean say the nice cafe that sells tasty and affordable toast for $2.50 close because their business model isn’t sustainable under higher rents and they couldn’t off set the cost to the consumer thus closing to close down and having to write off some liabilities.

The bigger market players who can afford the rent starts coming in n charging more for less amount of food. Who are the ones who suffer eventually? The consumers themselves.

Never mind, the mainland crowd (Tiong) will swoop in and introduce their signature communist cuisine.
Yes. It’s sinkies wack own Sinkies away for selling waffles and kaya toast or duck rice and can’t afford the rent

In comes all the Tiongs with very deep pocket to sell Tiong’s fav Xiang Xiang Mala food, what Chuan Chuan food or Tan yu grilled Chinese fish which a lot of sinkies queue for even higher prices. Think maybe some of the SB bros have Tiong wives

Never mind, the mainland crowd (Tiong) will swoop in and introduce their signature communist cuisine.
The next top 500 SME awards goes to all the new Tiong eateries bosses whom many just have high sch education in China or don’t even speak much Chinese more of their Shanxi Hua and who also come and swop in to jack the housing prices even higher

Their kids come to Sg to compete as top students and scholarships because Chinese kids study until 10pm while Sg kids by 230pm go home already. So don’t complain

Landlords are the winners at the end of the day and laughing to the banks.
Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs) are entities that allow investors to pool their funds to purchase properties from developers or owners, then generate income by renting out these properties to tenants.

Malls yes are under REITs. To my understanding there are exceptions to high rental cost at malls say certain retailers or cinema groups pay much lower than avg rent psf subjected to case by case basis.

There are independent landlords who are the really rich ones asking for high rent say normal or HDB shophouses. They own several of these.

When you are the world’s most expensive city and only ministers are the world’s top salary earners and the rest earning peanuts…this is what happens.