Chitchat Why now every bto also vinyl flooring?

Probably because vinyl is way cheaper, faster to install, and low-maintenance compared to marble or terrazzo. Developers are cutting costs.

Vinyl is not good.
Vinyl means laminate.
If ur house is flooded, all your vinyl floor will be damaged

So vinyl is not suitable in malaysia, Bukit Timah and Jalan Seaview because these places are prone to flood
vinyl flooring has 2 types: sheet (in a roll) and tile or plank. sheet vinyl requires professional installation as a large sheet in a roll needs to be cut to size to fit each room whereas vinyl tiles can be installed by yourself. it is different from laminate which is sometimes referred to as engineered or synthetic wood. vinyl tile is mainly made of plastic and has a soft foamy bottom while laminate is mainly comprised of high density fiberboard (hdf). both can be made to look like wood flooring with a clear coat or “wear” or protective layer at the top followed by a thin photographic or image layer that looks like wood prints. main difference lies in the 3rd and 4th layers: plastic core and soft foam bottom for vinyl tiles vs thin but strong impact layer and thick hdf for laminate tiles.

i know very well because i install both at various properties.

today’s thicker vinyl tiles (previous old thin vinyl tiles can warp or bubble when too much water can cumpromise the seams or get below sub floor and vinyl) are great for areas with high moisture, for example bathrooms and kitchen. but they don’t look and feel like laminate which is hard like hardwood. vinyl feels plastic and sometimes like hard rubber as it can be installed directly on uneven subfloors or bumpy concrete floors. this is because it cums with a soft foam layer at the bottom. one look or touch and i know which is which. bendable. easy install. but very tacky. but it’s great for wet mopping. more sexpensive than laminate. starting from 69c per sqft.

laminate flooring is not great with water and moisture although some are “water-proof” while cheaper tiles are “water-resistant”. they are neither if too much ponding damage the seams. in californicate with a dry climate laminate flooring is the preferred choice. it still requires a foam sealant or backer rod underneath between subfloor and laminate tiles to allow for expansion and contraction day vs night and summer vs winter. the backer rod also fills up gaps and level the subfloor for easier installation. cheaper than vinyl. starting from 49c per sqft.

natural or real hardwood is not recommended for sg. even in californicate with a mostly dry climate i won’t recommend it. firstly it’s too sexpensive. secondly it can easily get damaged with water puddles and ponding. even wet mopping is a no no. moreover, 12mm laminates are so good now that they look and feel like hardwood. cheaper 8mm laminates don’t look as good. in one house, i have all 3: 8mm, 12mm laminates, 6-ft long hardwood planks. laminates for first floor or high traffic areas, hardwood for upper floor or bedroom areas. and marble tiles for bathrooms.

same with parquet flooring. i won’t recommend it. the parquet flooring in older sg properties are now scratched up and warping in some places. too much wet mopping by 6.9 ocd virgins. plus sun sexposure can bleach and damage it. thus all window curtains or shades must close tight (like vested virgins). no wonder the vested virgins are so pale and look like vampires. always stay home and hide behind curtains.

Vinyl is the best, I still have my collection of them. The sound is warm and more natural. But need to clean them once in a while. I am a sucker for nostalgia, that's why I still have them.:biggrin:

i have a house with 8mm laminate flooring on the 1st floor. almost 30 years. not one scratch even with a puppy with sharp claws (when he was only 6.9 weeks old before his claws were first trimmed).
IMG_2662.jpeg

Back in the day only the poor folks use vinyl flooring. If your house got ‘Chia Cho’ that means you are low SES. Only a notch higher class than the dirt poor who got original cement flooring

Yeah….very common at Outram Park HDB estate n Jurong

Are they coming one or still fixed nicely on the floor ? Durable ?
they cum in 6.9-inch x 4-ft x 8mm tiles or planks. there’s a notch on 2 sides. you need a mallet to knock each one in. but must prepare sheets of foam sealant backer rod on the subfloor first. almost 36.9 years after installation. no cracks no scratch no wear and tear. can clean it with wet mop but mop must be well squeezed to get rid of sextra moisture. of course it’s durable if you don’t flood it with water.

Imagine if ur property is at Bukit Timah flood prone area, will the flooring withstand ponding for few hours ?

of course not recommended for sg lah. if you like “hardwood” looks, install ceramic tiles with hardwood looking surface. it’s cool, solid, waterproof, scratch resistant, cheap, and not too difficult to install.

Initially i find vinyl nice and cool, so my first bto in early 2000s was vinyl and at that time was not so common.
Now every bto also copy cat I will need to stay away from the crowd.

It's the norm in Tiongland. And the Tiongs are building your BTO pigeon holes. :cool:

HDB earns a lot of money through this, and can afford to spend a chunk of it on propaganda ads. :wink:

i have a house with 8mm laminate flooring on the 1st floor. almost 30 years. not one scratch even with a puppy with sharp claws (when he was only 6.9 weeks old before his claws were first trimmed).
View attachment 224053
This was my first laminate floor.
My mum used to be very concerned about having sunlight shined directly onto it and causing it to bend upwards and popping up.
I had to 先斩后揍 to get it installed back then.
After years of usage it got many scratches like yours. By then i sold the flat to a msian couple who was impressed with the cleanliness of my house. Thanks to my mum ocd. They viewed the house on same day and closed the deal on the same day KNN

I heard from friend his was not stick on kind but screwed to bind, and look about same as parquet, less the shiny part.

It's the norm in Tiongland. And the Tiongs are building your BTO pigeon holes. :cool:

HDB earns a lot of money through this, and can afford to spend a chunk of it on propaganda ads. :wink:

Tiongland even have ready made transportable 2 rooms bto flat with staircase to go up the small area of 2nd floor just enough for bed and some book shelf.
Superb concept and design.
But pap will not allow such concept to happen in sg.

Tiongland even have ready made transportable 2 rooms bto flat with staircase to go up the small area of 2nd floor just enough for bed and some book shelf.
Superb concept and design.
But pap will not allow such concept to happen in sg.

Superb concept if you believe humans are nothing more than cattle and resources.

This was my first laminate floor.
My mum used to be very concerned about having sunlight shined directly onto it and causing it to bend upwards and popping up.
I had to 先斩后揍 to get it installed back then.
After years of usage it got many scratches like yours. By then i sold the flat to a msian couple who was impressed with the cleanliness of my house. Thanks to my mum ocd. They viewed the house on same day and closed the deal on the same day KNN

I heard from friend his was not stick on kind but screwed to bind, and look about same as parquet, less the shiny part.
what shit are you talking? no scratches on mine lah after 30 years. laminate is so hard on the surface that dropping knives and sharp edged objects won’t cause any scratch. if yours have scratches and need screws to fasten them, it’s something else like hardwood, ceramic or marble. laminate is not supposed to get scratches unless you forcefully damage it with a power tool.