Jordelia Tan 可以吗?

disconsolate

Stupidman

S’porean Stopped By China Immigration Officer Because She Didn’t Resemble Passport Photo: “He Asked If I Had A Twin Sister”​

25-year-old content creator Jordelia Tan tells 8days.sg she doesn’t think she was specifically targeted as there were others being held up and questioned as well.

S’porean Stopped By China Immigration Officer Because She Didn’t Resemble Passport Photo: “He Asked If I Had A Twin Sister”

Bryan Wong
29 May 2025 at 11:45

Remember that viral video of a woman in Shanghai wiping off her make-up at a facial recognition gate because the airport scanners couldn’t recognise her?

Well, Singaporean Jordelia Tan had a similar experience, but by a very unconvinced immigration officer when she landed in Chongqing, China for a holiday.

In a video posted to her Instagram, the 25-year-old content creator said the officer doubted she was the same person as the one in her passport photo.

“Of all the countries I’ve been to, I’ve never had any issues looking like my passport picture. But China, oh my god, that guy scrutinised my face and even asked me if I had a twin sister,” she recalled in the video.

Apparently, he thought that her jaw looked “bigger in person”, which saw Jordelia pursing her lips in disbelief.

Speaking to 8days.sg via WhatsApp, Jordelia says the immigration area wasn’t crowded at that time as she had landed past midnight.

She also suspects a few things might have contributed to the officer’s confusion.

“As it was really late, my face probably looked a little more bloated in real life than when I took my passport photo. It could also be because I didn’t do any make-up contour[ing],” she says.

Jordelia also tells us she wasn’t made to remove any make-up as apart from her drawn eyebrows, she was bare-faced.

According to her, the officer still had his doubts and even asked his colleague for a second opinion.

In the end, he reluctantly allowed her to pass through customs after his request for more verification had her confirming her identity via the Singpass app.

Looking back, Jordelia tells us she doesn’t think she was specifically targeted as there were others being held up and questioned as well.

In her IG video, she wraps up her video with some advice for female travellers.

“So, take note guys, next time you visit China, make sure you look like your passport picture, okay? Don’t do any crazy make-up please. They are gonna stop you for sure like me,” she says.

Content creator Jordelia had an immigration officer doubt her identity as he felt she didn't look like her passport photo

img_9393.jpeg

He even commented that her jaw looked bigger in person

She even had to confirm her identity using the Singpass app

Even though Jordelia was barefaced, she advises women not to do any crazy makeup should they be travelling to China

Photos: ninjabread/IG

the custom man just wanted to fish her lah .... find excuse and later after work meet her up for piak piak ... she so chio ... not surprising they cage her up and mass line up roti too :whistling:

Of all countries you go to China.. Taiwan has no problem at all, u can even apply for E-gate entry for Singaporeans, no need to queue. All high tech into the computer system..the tiongs can try to copy it since they are good at copying.

When u go by e-gate,there is no person to check your freaking photo.

S’porean Stopped By China Immigration Officer Because She Didn’t Resemble Passport Photo: “He Asked If I Had A Twin Sister”​

25-year-old content creator Jordelia Tan tells 8days.sg she doesn’t think she was specifically targeted as there were others being held up and questioned as well.

S’porean Stopped By China Immigration Officer Because She Didn’t Resemble Passport Photo: “He Asked If I Had A Twin Sister”

Bryan Wong

Remember that viral video of a woman in Shanghai wiping off her make-up at a facial recognition gate because the airport scanners couldn’t recognise her?

Well, Singaporean Jordelia Tan had a similar experience, but by a very unconvinced immigration officer when she landed in Chongqing, China for a holiday.

In a video posted to her Instagram, the 25-year-old content creator said the officer doubted she was the same person as the one in her passport photo.

“Of all the countries I’ve been to, I’ve never had any issues looking like my passport picture. But China, oh my god, that guy scrutinised my face and even asked me if I had a twin sister,” she recalled in the video.

Apparently, he thought that her jaw looked “bigger in person”, which saw Jordelia pursing her lips in disbelief.

Speaking to 8days.sg via WhatsApp, Jordelia says the immigration area wasn’t crowded at that time as she had landed past midnight.

She also suspects a few things might have contributed to the officer’s confusion.

“As it was really late, my face probably looked a little more bloated in real life than when I took my passport photo. It could also be because I didn’t do any make-up contour[ing],” she says.

Jordelia also tells us she wasn’t made to remove any make-up as apart from her drawn eyebrows, she was bare-faced.

According to her, the officer still had his doubts and even asked his colleague for a second opinion.

In the end, he reluctantly allowed her to pass through customs after his request for more verification had her confirming her identity via the Singpass app.

Looking back, Jordelia tells us she doesn’t think she was specifically targeted as there were others being held up and questioned as well.

“So, take note guys, next time you visit China, make sure you look like your passport picture, okay? Don’t do any crazy make-up please. They are gonna stop you for sure like me,” she says.

Content creator Jordelia had an immigration officer doubt her identity as he felt she didn't look like her passport photo

img_9393.jpeg

Even though Jordelia was barefaced, she advises women not to do any crazy makeup should they be travelling to China

There is no such name called 'Jordelia' in all English or every farking country name history. This means that this name is completely meaningless.

Suaku xia suay Singapore ladies always like to invent their own ranjiao names, really disgraceful. There should be a law that straight away cane those who invent their own ranjiao names, regardless of male or female.

She should called herself Slut Tan or Cheekon Tan, more appropriate.

Bryan Wong

img_9393.jpeg

Can eat don’t waste….

A passport face alone can never verleefy a person.
Always need to tag with something else.

Tagged with swearing to die a violent death.
In real life but not in custom and immigration, I ever used a betting challenge with a Minah in hospital, when she tried to con me or brush my queries leegarding payment and asked me to check with cpf side. I told her I had already found out everything from cpf end and now I'm very sure the problem lies with your fuck up hospital billing system. But she insisted she was correct.

I think this challenge can also be applied across many different scenarios, including this immigration one.

I told her you told me this now.
Ok fine.
Do you dare to bet with me?
The stake was
If I lose, I will give you anything as you wish, money or my life i will accept the challenge .
If you lose, you quit your job, becos it means you are not qualified to be working in this post.

She leeplied - why should I bet with you :cool:
So I told her lu lazy and lu bodoh.

In real life but not in custom and immigration, I ever used a betting challenge with a Minah in hospital, when she tried to con me or brush my queries leegarding payment and asked me to check with cpf side. I told her I had already found out everything from cpf end and now I'm very sure the problem lies with your fuck up hospital billing system. But she insisted she was correct.

I think this challenge can also be applied across many different scenarios, including this immigration one.

I told her you told me this now.
Ok fine.
Do you dare to bet with me?
The stake was
If I lose, I will give you anything as you wish, money or my life i will accept the challenge .
If you lose, you quit your job, becos it means you are not qualified to be working in this post.

She leeplied - why should I bet with you :cool:
So I told her lu bodoh.
真是爛賭鬼。Similan also bet.

Now I 躺平 at JB ... hawker centre machiam Newton Circus, very nostalgic.

Only 28 degrees.

真是爛賭鬼。Similan also bet.

Now I 躺平 at JB ... hawker centre machiam Newton Circus, very nostalgic.

Only 28 degrees.
That was a very fair bet.
Since she was so sure she was right to charge me this $x and
I was so sure I was right too.
It only can show she bodoh and lazy and anyhow tried to con me into paying the wrong amount.

Sounds very chilling tang ping.
You better eat fast and go or your ex mentor will find you and suck your cock ah.

That was a very fair bet.
Since she was so sure she was right to charge me this $x and
I was so sure I was right too.
It only can show she bodoh and lazy and anyhow tried to con me into paying the wrong amount.

Sounds very chilling tang ping.
You better eat fast and go or your ex mentor will find you and suck your cock ah.
I'm at Pelangi. If she comes now, I will order teh-C 向她斟茶認錯。