• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Yahoo public post say 70% Sinki dipped into saving in 2025….Lai Lai Lai share your thoughts?

Did u dip into your saving in 2025?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Dun know

• Dun care

• Total voters

k1976

Lai Lai Lai…did u dip into your saving this year?​

YAHOO POLL: Have you dipped into your savings more often this year?​

Singapore’s economy is flashing warning signs – are your savings taking a hit?​

Staff Writer
Updated Thu, 22 May 2025 at 5:00 PM SGT1-min read

People use the automated teller machines at a terminal of the Singapore Changi Airport in Singapore on December 7, 2020. (Photo by Roslan RAHMAN / AFP) (Photo by ROSLAN RAHMAN/AFP via Getty Images)

Singapore’s economy grew 3.9 per cent in Q1, but don’t be fooled by the headline number as more Singaporeans could be leaning on their savings in the coming days. Is your rainy day fund feeling the strain? (Photo: ROSLAN RAHMAN/AFP via Getty Images) (ROSLAN RAHMAN via Getty Images)More
Singapore’s economy may have started the year strong on paper, but rising costs and job worries may be pushing many households to crack open their savings jars more often.

Q1 2025 saw 3.9 per cent growth year-on-year, but behind the headline lies a quarterly GDP contraction of 0.6 per cent – a sign that the good times might not last. And with warnings of a technical recession if the slide continues, more Singaporeans may be asking: will our savings hold out?

Much of that early growth came from businesses front-loading activity before new tariffs took effect. That short-term boost has fizzled, and with sectors like finance, manufacturing, and retail softening, job security isn’t a given.

Prices remain high, interest rates are sticky, and wage growth has stalled. Many could be finding themselves dipping into emergency funds – just to make ends meet.

Are you feeling the pinch? Have your financial habits changed this year?

1747987672805.png

Cannot afford Rolex?
Wear a citizen also can de woh
Same 200m water resistant and meet diver watch ISO requirements

I don't think so, if 70% sinkies are forced to use their savings, why did they vote for PAP? I am trying to find logic here.

siao ah ... LKY already gave the definite answer long ago to the world ... sinkies all are DAFT ... what more logic U need? :roflmao:

This is the kind of stupid questions that reporters like to ask, without clarifying the context. :rolleyes::FU::tongue:

Is there a difference between using $100 of your $1 million savings, or using $10 of your $100 savings? Is the fella with $1 million savings better off or the guy who never dipped into his savings, but has $100 savings? :unsure::eek::biggrin:

This is the kind of stupid questions that reporters like to ask, without clarifying the context. :rolleyes::FU::tongue:

Is there a difference between using $100 of your $1 million savings, or using $10 of your $100 savings? Is the fella with $1 million savings better off or the guy who never dipped into his savings, but has $100 savings? :unsure::eek::biggrin:
Another case they never mentioned is like me. I saved up all my money last time and now I never work, of course I need to dip into my savings or else where the money will come from? :cool:

Even while I was still working, I saved upto 90% of my salary all the time.
But when it wasn't enough to use at times, I would also dip into my savings de woh.
I could even save 100% and what's wrong with dipping into my savings?