• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mark Lee admits that most of his workers at Old Town White Coffee are from mainland C

iamtalkinglah

Re: Mark Lee admits that most of his workers at Old Town White Coffee are from mainla

SUPPORT OLD TOWN WHITE COFFEE

Support more PRC,these people will energise Singaporean to work harder!These PRC will push us higher one level!Singaporean are getting darker bec of the Tropics Sun ,PRC will make our enviroment look fairer in colours bec of their lighter and shining skins!

Sorry brother, didn't mean to talk bad about your PRC's relatives.
Sorry that you are the only PRC here and you have to see all these people talking bad about PRC people, i.e. you

Still being a Singaporean myself, I have to say....

SINGAPOREANS UNITE! BOYCOTT OLD TOWN WHITE COFFEE!!! TELL YOUR FRIENDS AND RELATIVES!!!

Re: Mark Lee admits that most of his workers at Old Town White Coffee are from mainla

php7dOEFT.jpg

That is an not so good looking little gal.

look at equivalent ang moh gal at that age.

03.jpg

that a good looking little gal.

Screwball

This is a glaring proof that our government is not looking after us.

Screwball reported for reservist last week. One of my reservist mates is the boss of his own SME employing about 20 local staff. Last couple of years business was bad so he went to the gahmen for "assistance".
They provided him with cash injection and assigned a consultant to oversee his company. This consultant "forced" him to hire FT graduates from the 2 local universities to replace the local staff. :mad: He say this is gahmen policy as it does not reflect well on the local universities if their graduates cannot find employment.

Anybody out there can confirm there is such a policy? Is it true FTs have priority over locals? :(

garlic

i have never been to old town and i dont think there is anything so special that will make me want to be immersed within the companionship of so many ah tiongs and be asked whether i speak mandarin. I do not call this boycott per se, but i definitely wont be/ do not like to be asked anymore whether i speak mandarin and by avoiding this place will make my roam around town that much more pleasant.

hello hello, this is not monopoly business. he has to compete with other similar business, if other business hire china FT and he does not. over time his business will go bust.

so you cannot blame him, you can blame the gov, why did they allow these people to work here and earn 800 dollars per month, a non living wages for singaporean.

this drive the wages down and bring thousands of singapore family in financial trouble.

This song with the same lyrics sounds very familar, it is sung all the time by those white predator 'bird's called MIW'S.

Who doesn't know that in business we have to compete, look after bottom line, keep cost down, increase profits...the bloody simple, cleaner knows this principle..or those uneducated shopkeeper in the past keeps his money in tins!

What we are needing is a a guarantee that all SINkingporeans, regardless of race language or religion, MUST GET A FIRST BITE at any jobs offered in the country frm menial ones to Managerial position & beyond.

A minimum wage, based on age, work exprience, on a scale that is equitable to both employer & employess.

A government that looks after us, to ensure that, its citizen have jobs.

But most importantly our citizens must wake up & see for themselves today & the tomorrow & beyond, are they being looked after?

That is question the must ask themslves...when they have the choice!..see beyond the trees..:mad:

Ash007

I'll still go to killiney kopi tiam near comcenter. The otah and mee siam "bo hum" but hiam there still the bestest. :biggrin: Anyone know if they started employing PRCs as well there?

batman1

Watchman

I am with you, Old Town White Coffee, you just lost another customer.

Mark, you traitor. Hope a FT replace you soon.

Many true-blue Singaporeans have purchased tickets to support him in the movie "Money Not Enough ".Now this uncouth braggart,with some success,have forgotten who helped him when he is an unknown digit.
THIS IS CALLED CALLED BITING THE HAND THAT FEEDS U !!! VERY UNGRATEFUL !!!

iamtalkinglah

many true-blue singaporeans have purchased tickets to support him in the movie "money not enough ".now this uncouth braggart,with some success,have forgotten who helped him when he is an unknown digit.
This is called called biting the hand that feeds u !!! Very ungrateful !!!

brothers boycott his movies! We thought he understood the plight of singaporeans but we were wrong!

annexa

I boycott.

phpOocup7.jpg

http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/02/03/mark-lee-admits-that-most-of-his-workers-at-old-town-white-coffee-are-from-mainland-china/

Mark Lee admits that most of his workers at Old Town White Coffee are from mainland China

February 3, 2010 by admin

Singapore’s famous comedian Mark Lee who has opened five Old Town White Coffee outlets in Singapore has admitted to a Chinese news portal xin.sg that most of the company’s staff are mainland Chinese.

It was reported by xin.sg that as most of their workers are from China, the company decided that it would be most convenient for them to receive their bonuses in cash.

Mark Lee is contemplating buying a cash counting machine to pay his China workers in cash:

“That is why we are going to buy a cash counting machine this year. I’m not being proud by saying this – otherwise, we really can’t count the cash!”

[Xin.sg, 27 January 2010]

He did not reveal why his company preferred to employ mainland Chinese over Singaporeans.

One likely reason is the lower cost of PRC workers. According to an insider from the F&B industry, a PRC service staff usually cost between $600 – $800 monthly.

As Malaysians are demanding higher wages now, many are switching to the “cheaper” PRC workers.

Few Singaporean will be keen to take up jobs at such low wages which are hardly enough to survive in Singapore.

There is no minimum wage in Singapore. Employers have the complete autonomy to set the wages as they see fit and with the easy availability of cheap foreign labor, they have few incentives to employ Singaporeans who cost more.

For a China worker, $600 translates to about RMB$2,900 which is far higher than what they can earn doing the same job back home.

Stung by rising anger on the ground as its ill-conceived pro-foreigner labor policies, the ruling party is now trying to claw back lost support by promising to reduce Singapore’s reliance on foreign workers.

Based on feedback we obtain from readers, companies are still employing foreigners with some posting discriminatory job ads to scour for foreign workers of selected nationality.

Since the ruling party is unwilling to do more to help Singaporeans from the lower-income group who are being squeezed out of their livelihoods by the relentless influx of cheap foreign labor, Singaporeans will have to help them ourselves.

Mark Lee is smart, that is why he is rich. Nobody will gain much by employing a bunch of sinkies. I , myself , have avoided sinkies in my personal and professional life. And my life turn around for the better after that, so do Mark Lee in his business.

All the best to Mark Lee and pls keep on getting more china workers, the best is 100% employed the china workers. Dun let any sinkie into your business.

Screwball reported for reservist last week. One of my reservist mates is the boss of his own SME employing about 20 local staff. Last couple of years business was bad so he went to the gahmen for "assistance".
They provided him with cash injection and assigned a consultant to oversee his company. This consultant "forced" him to hire FT graduates from the 2 local universities to replace the local staff. :mad: He say this is gahmen policy as it does not reflect well on the local universities if their graduates cannot find employment.

Anybody out there can confirm there is such a policy? Is it true FTs have priority over locals? :(

See? Employ sinkies at your own risk...

I boycott.

Dun worry, foreigners will visit his coffee shop. Less sinkies the better. His coffee shop's existence is to serve the FT, not sinkies.

Sorry brother, didn't mean to talk bad about your PRC's relatives.
Sorry that you are the only PRC here and you have to see all these people talking bad about PRC people, i.e. you

Still being a Singaporean myself, I have to say....

SINGAPOREANS UNITE! BOYCOTT OLD TOWN WHITE COFFEE!!! TELL YOUR FRIENDS AND RELATIVES!!!

Sinkies unite? You must be joking. I never see cowards unite together for a greater cause. Maybe unite together to hide in a hole.

Mark Lee is smart, that is why he is rich. Nobody will gain much by employing a bunch of sinkies. I , myself , have avoided sinkies in my personal and professional life. And my life turn around for the better after that, so do Mark Lee in his business.

All the best to Mark Lee and pls keep on getting more china workers, the best is 100% employed the china workers. Dun let any sinkie into your business.

When doing F&B business, best not to get sinkie workers. I have learned my lesson. Believe me it is better to trust the PRC, The sinkies are dishonest, or they came to learn your recipe and business. When come to money, please don't engage them. If you had to, employ the very young ones about 20 years old. My 2 cents worth.

See? i always tell the truth here but those sinkie losers cannot take the truth. THey cannot face the fact that they are belong to the sinkie group.

But not to worry, if they work hard enough, they can remove their sinkie behavior. it is changeable.

iamtalkinglah

As I have told you previously and now let me repeat to you again, I am not sure why you a Singaporean (or ex Singaporean who escape to Thailand), keeps talking bad about Singaporean.

My guess is you are a Casualty of the System. e.g. a school drop out, so for this reason, I a Singaporean will forgive you for whatever nonsense you posted.

3 Cheers for Singaporeans!!! Hip Hip Hooray!!!

As I have told you previously and now let me repeat to you again, I am not sure why you a Singaporean (or ex Singaporean who escape to Thailand), keeps talking bad about Singaporean.

My guess is you are a Casualty of the System. e.g. a school drop out, so for this reason, I a Singaporean will forgive you for whatever nonsense you posted.

3 Cheers for Singaporeans!!! Hip Hip Hooray!!!

If you are not sure, then dun try to know. SInkie knows nothing anyway. Maybe you can read your straits Times, they tend to educate you in a "certain" way to make you FEEL knowledgeable.

oh by the way, please keep your forgiveness to yourself. I dun need it. it might be polluted with sinkieness, i dun want to dirty myself.

One possible tip: pls put me into your ignore list if you dun like what i post, it will make you life better.

If you are not sure, then dun try to know. SInkie knows nothing anyway. Maybe you can read your straits Times, they tend to educate you in a "certain" way to make you FEEL knowledgeable.

One possible tip: pls put me into your ignore list if you dun like what i post, it will make you life better.

CB kia tonychat,

THAI king admits he is fucking useless becos the thai economy depends on the $$ thai prostitutes remits back from overseas...

and the relevance to this topic is '0'... same as all your postings..:biggrin: