It's no longer economical to eat economic rice. With the plethora of charges and definitions at every stall, helpers need to have a really good memory in order to charge correctly. Those who don't know the charges by heart will err on the side of caution by overcharging diners. This accounts for the high prices.Fuck lah everywhere in SG also expensive, go Malaysia eat cheaper than here and can convert to ringgit x3
Many of us home cooks are capable of producing tastier and far more nutritional meals at lower prices than hawkers. However, workers simply don't have time to return home to cook and there is not a lot to do on weekends apart from eating out and window shopping.Poor Sinkies please stay the fuck at home.
The simple answer is to buy cai png from neighbourhood coffee shops and hawker centres and not foodcourts, especially those in Orchard Road.![]()
Peanut butter sandwich with japanese cucumber is ok. Otherwise its scarmble eggs.Many of us home cooks are capable of producing tastier and far more nutritional meals at lower prices than hawkers. However, workers simply don't have time to return home to cook and there is not a lot to do on weekends apart from eating out and window shopping.
Your spelling of scrambled eggs appears to have been "scrambled". LOL!Peanut butter sandwich with japanese cucumber is ok. Otherwise its scarmble eggs.
The charges at those upmarket food courts in Orchard Rd shopping malls are priced to meet their rental.The simple answer is to buy cai png from neighbourhood coffee shops and hawker centres and not foodcourts, especially those in Orchard Road.![]()
The charges at those upmarket food courts in Orchard Rd shopping malls are priced to meet their rental.
I can't understand those diners at the food court at MBS complaining about the high prices while enjoying their meal in aircon comfort in a swanky downtown mall.People should be prepared to pay $8 for a meal at Orchard Road. It's not fair to expect hawkers to offer low prices in such an swanky area.
I can't understand those diners at the food court at MBS complaining about the high prices while enjoying their meal in aircon comfort in a swanky downtown mall.
That's what annoys me. When customers think that a hot and dirty kopitiam shouldn't charge more than $1 for a coffee, but feel that $7 is reasonable for a coffee served at Starbucks or Coffee Bean. Basically, we pay for what we get, and that is not confined to what's in the cup, but the ambience, comfort and experience we enjoy while drinking it.Or complaining about kopi costing them $1.50 while they buy $7 coffees a hipster cafes