• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Sg] - 70-Year-Old Man Loses Over $70,000 After Fake Google Play Was Installed On His Mobile Phone

UltimaOnline

A 70-year-old man loses more than $70,000 within 2 hours after a fake Google Play application was installed on his mobile phone. As a result, his personal data was stolen by hackers who then transferred away money, which includes his pension from his bank account.

According to Zaobao, Mr Lu told the newspaper in an interview that at around 9am on 29 January, he received a call from someone from DBS Bank. The DBS staff told him that since 3am that day, there were multiple overseas transactions within just two hours.

And based on transaction history, about $71,000 was transferred out of his account, leaving only about $2,000 left in his account. Mr Lu then immediately asked the staff to freeze his bank account.

“The money includes a pension I received in January this year, which was about $30,000,” said Mr Lu.

Mr Lu said he has since reported the incident to the police and handed over his mobile phone to the police for investigation. Investigation showed that his personal data was stolen due to a fake Google Play application installed on his mobile phone.

“The police told me that if the money is transferred to a foreign account, I will not be able to get it back. It is my hard-earned money. It really hurts that my money is being transferred out of my account like this. My wife and I are losing sleep every night because of this incident,” said Mr Lu.

Mr Lu emphasised that he did not provide any one-time password (OTP) at that time, and neither did he click on any suspicious link.

He felt that there were lapses in the bank’s security measures and he should be given an explanation. He approached the bank in February, hoping that the bank will return his money.

Mr Lu also hopes that his unfortunate experience can remind others to be careful and avoid their personal information from being stolen.

https://sureboh.sg/2023/04/12/70-ye...oogle-play-was-installed-on-his-mobile-phone/

countryman

I doubt the bank's security system is so lax, u mean just by installing a fake app the hackers can transfer out all your $? Definitely the old fart has unknowingly given them some passwords or user id...

Makes you wonder why the PAP technocrats are so eager to get the old farts on smartphones. :wink:

"...with digital tools and skills to participate meaningfully in the new social and economic environment post COVID-19." Ominous. :sneaky:

Problem with cyber security is that there are course to train you to be a ethical hacker...
.... ethical hacker my foot...? .... when this tool were learned by millions of students... Internet is not safe anymore.... rubbish bin technology....

Multi polar Internet access is coming... need visa to enter another country Internet environment...

Use face recognition technology to enter a oversea website... and use blockchain technology for face recognition...

Sideswipe

old folks who struggle with smartphones should not do money related transactions on it. better be safe than sorry.

rotiprata

69-year old lost $69k? too coincidental lah.
unnamed.png

borom

What is unethical is govt and banks pushing people esp old and vulnerable to use smartphone apps to do transaction knowing full well how they can be exploited.
This is no different from the PAP encouraging cyclist and before that PMS's to use pedestrain walkways to fullfil their own agenda, irrespective of how many pedestrains got injured .IT TOOK MANY DEATHS before PMD's were dealt with .
No diffferent from forcing people to vaccinate despite the risk of side effects and this collateral damage is acceptable mantra will be there until and unless PAP is voted out .

must be a huawei user. any sinkie ah pek ah por using android sure kena scammed sooner or later. it’s a surety like death and taxes.

Should have used an iPhone instead. Even maids are using them, you can always buy last year's model or a used/reburbished handset. There is no excuse. :biggrin:

cannot fathom why so many sinkie aunties, unkers, ah mahs and ah kongs use huawei or other android phones in sg. i have an old relative who is used to the convenience and safety of an iphone but switches to a huawei on the persuasion and insistence by her chink helicopter elder sister, and now both keep complaining about dropped calls, missed messages, horrible camera sexperience, and just fucked up android-infested 3rd party nuisances and hack jobs. and true enough kena scammed several times by fake apps and links. the chink helicopter (chink educated in sg) doesn’t speak english well and insists on using huawei as she thinks it’s chink friendly and the iphone is only for atas angmoh. i can read and write chink too on the iphone. all the youngsters in sg are moving to 5g capable phones, but this bunch of old luddites are still running 3g on their phones. they don’t understand that 3g is being phased out in sg and spectrum is reused for 4g and 5g. soon 3g phones will not work or at best reduced to very ancient narrow bands rendering services spotty and unreliable. and worse to mix it with an android platform with hardly any security updates or bug fixes. i’m old but at least i understand the intellectual and technical reasons for changing tech, but not these sinkie luddites. they are just intellectually and technically incapable of understanding the consequences and pitfalls of following and joining the crap tech bandwagon.

They're just brainwashed by everything Tiong-related, and they genuinely believe this will be the 'China century'. :biggrin:

By the way, a brand new Tiong drone was just announced. :wink: