70,000 CPF members to receive S$40 million in matching grants to their retirement accounts

PAP is so good to sinkies. Where else can you find a government that will regularly top up sinkies' retirement account with more and more money? Majulah PAP!
if the gov allow me to operate a similar scheme to collect 30% of workers' salary every months , i could top up more , and also do it regularly.
this cpf scheme would have work very well if not for ther massick losing money.
1] hard earned money goes into cpf , 2] lock it up with various withdrawal conditions , 3] use the money for investment , but not allowed to
check the investment account. and tell the people it is making money
4] sell hdb house at greatly inflated price. and tell the cpf contributor it is subsidized

with this formula , with income stream coming in monthly , what is there to worry about payment to contributor

Wow! Thanks for validating Madam Ho Ching's good work all these decades. Meritocracy does work!

CPF pays out on average about 3.5% interest from all the various accounts. That's pretty generous. Most mutual funds out there can't match that sort of returns.

In most developed countries, citizens already have to work into their 60s. Some European countries even saw their national pension scheme go bust when they can't service their national debt. This is no longer the 1950s. Time for you to wake up.
LOL you are celebrating her 7-8% returns?? and you're happy to get a mere 3.5% (highly doubt that figure when the bulk of our contributions go to OA)

why not give us 6-7% and keep 1% for admin costs? a rose by any name: it's a tax. temasek taking the spread is effectively a tax on our CPF returns.

what a joke and what low standards you have. maybe good for 3rd world country.

suka suka compare to first world or 3rd world when it suits your agenda. nice try. so if the rest of the world were lemmings jumping off the cliff, I'd suppose you'd follow too.

some European countries are doing very well thank you very much.

LOL you are celebrating her 7-8% returns?? and you're happy to get a mere 3.5% (highly doubt that figure when the bulk of our contributions go to OA)

Most mutual funds in the private sector don't give returns of 7-8% per annum for the past 20 years or so.

I get about average 3.8% per annum from my CPF. That's because since my early working days, I put most of my CPF in Special Account. Your SA and MA offers 4% returns annually.

Most mutual funds in the private sector don't give returns of 7-8% per annum for the past 20 years or so.

I get about average 3.8% per annum from my CPF. That's because since my early working days, I put most of my CPF in Special Account. Your SA and MA offers 4% returns annually.
oooo... now you're selectively comparing a SWF to a private sector mutual fund.

LOL twisting and turning again. maybe that will work with a 10 year old child.

compare to the best, the Norwegian oil fund. they openly declare their CEO salary too.

oooo... now you're selectively comparing a SWF to a private sector mutual fund.

LOL twisting and turning again. maybe that will work with a 10 year old child.

compare to the best, the Norwegian oil fund. they openly declare their CEO salary too.

Most sinkies are very happy with our SWF returns. Nobody except fault finding oppies demanded that Madam Ho Ching either be the very best fund manager in the universe or be labelled as outright incompetent.

My uncle doesn't care how mdm ho do the investment as long as the % is good and guaranteed. Pap will still use other people's money to pay my uncle even when they made losses. On the other hand if pap pays 7% 8% interest my uncle worlee there will no longer be guaranteed leeturns and pap can say sorlee your cpf lost all the principal sum

temasek made around 7-8% compounded over 20 years and CPF paid out a measly 2.5% into our OA which is the bulk of of CPF.

If CPF paid out a flat 5% across the board, we would all be able to retire much earlier than 65 years old.

we the citizens pay the price of ho ching's failure, and the price is extended years at work beyond 55.

her failure is way more shameful than that ah neh lying bimbo in parliament whose name I can't even be bothered to spell.
Retire and stay home do wot? Better work. Or write. Book or start Instagram account on whatever you do best.

My uncle doesn't care how mdm ho do the investment as long as the % is good and guaranteed. Pap will still use other people's money to pay my uncle even when they made losses. On the other hand if pap pays 7% 8% interest my uncle worlee there will no longer be guaranteed leeturns and pap can say sorlee your cpf lost all the principal sum
As my uncle always preached - You don't invest in things that let other people to determine the outcome later. This is sillee. You do it when people already leecided the outcome eg soccer betting or cpf investment.

Detailed explanation what my uncle meant by do it when people already leecided the outcome

Screenshot_20211108-153709_Chrome.jpg

Roma hot fav expected to win. Venezia 3min onlee scored 1 goal. Wow punters all see roma now 3.30 good chance still plenty of time. All lo 1k 2k 5k lol . Yeah roma equalise at 43min hosay lah. My uncle took this opportunity throw money at venezia x5 very fast roma turned the table 1-2 punter song without knowing how sillee they were :biggrin:
Screenshot_20211108-153521_Chrome.jpg

Detailed explanation what my uncle meant by do it when people already leecided the outcome

View attachment 126686

Roma hot fav expected to win. Venezia 3min onlee scored 1 goal. Wow punters all see roma now 3.30 good chance still plenty of time. All lo 1k 2k 5k lol . Yeah roma equalise at 43min hosay lah. My uncle took this opportunity throw money at venezia x5 very fast roma turned the table 1-2 punter song without knowing how sillee they were :biggrin:
View attachment 126687
You may ask the basic question - how to know when people going to leecide this way ? Ans is make more friends with stupid punter the more the merrier :biggrin: leemember the rule of the thumb is cannot let them know you also betting else if they never tell you what they bet then you cannot know the outcome :biggrin: :whistling: :sneaky: KNN

not incompetent, simply mediocre.

My yearly CPF accounts says that Madam Ho Ching has been a very good fund manager. My CPF account has been growing at a compounded rate of 4% per year for the past few decades. Very few fund managers have beaten that, after taking in account forex exchange rates over the past few decades.

LOL twisting again?

when the bulk of your contributions go to OA @ 2.5%

SWF vs private fund manager, different ball game. go and bluff those with iq 69 maybe can.

you can easily google the list of funds that have outperformed 2.5%. pathetic returns. throw into index fund also earn more.

temasek make 7% and give us back 2.5%. so that your darling Ho Ching and give away our money via Temasek foundation.

when the bulk of your contributions go to OA @ 2.5%

That's is your own fault. Since many years ago, I transferred most of my OA to SA, where the returns are guaranteed at 4% per year. Your MA is also guaranteed at 4% per year. If you're dumb enough to put the bulk of your CPF in the OA, that's your own fault.

you can easily google the list of funds that have outperformed 2.5%. pathetic returns. throw into index fund also earn more.

Most people who buy funds from their insurance agents or banks don't get more than 2.5% per year. No point showing a list of mutual funds that are out of reach to most sinkies.

That's is your own fault. Since many years ago, I transferred most of my OA to SA, where the returns are guaranteed at 4% per year. Your MA is also guaranteed at 4% per year. If you're dumb enough to put the bulk of your CPF in the OA, that's your own fault.
Too bad pap doesn't allow sinkie to topup any amount above the min sum in SA. Can you propose to pap to allow that?

I've tried before. They didn't allow because of the power of compounding interest of 4% over several decades for a million sinkies. It could bankrupt our reserves!

Like that then no choice. No fish prawn also good. My uncle shall just topup the oa and let his sa compound it. :smile:

I urge all younger samsters and sinkies to top their SA to the max asap. I did so years ago, even it it mean leaving a bit of cash in OA for my HDB loan when I was still a young working adult. That move paid out in the long run. Now I feel rich whenever I look at my CPF account.