• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat What Are Sinkies' Legal Rights When Safe Distancing Officers Come Knocking? Learn Before You Get Arrested For Stupidity And Obstruction Of Justice!

1628388116961.png

SINGAPORE - Questions about whether safe distancing enforcement officers without a warrant can enter premises, including homes, to check compliance with Covid-19 regulations were raised after actor Nick Mikhail posted videos on Instagram showing three URA officers and three police officers entering his home on July 31.

The URA said on Monday (Aug 2) that safe distancing enforcement officers have the right to enter, inspect and search premises, including private residences, without a warrant to check whether Covid-19 regulations are being complied with.

The Straits Times answers questions some members of the public may have.

Q: What is the difference between safe distancing enforcement officers and safe distancing ambassadors?
A: According to the website of the National Environment Agency (NEA), safe distancing enforcement officers are empowered to enter your home to ensure compliance with Covid-19 control orders, while safe distancing ambassadors are not.

Like police officers, enforcement officers have the power to take enforcement action against people for flouting rules, such as issuing fines. An ambassador's job is to guide businesses and individuals in complying with safe distancing measures.

Q: Do safe distancing enforcement officers need a warrant to enter my house? If they do not have a warrant, should they be entering?
A: They do not need a warrant. Section 35(5) of the Covid-19 (Temporary Measures) Act 2020, which was passed in Parliament in April last year, states that enforcement officers appointed by the Health Minister have "all the powers of a health officer" authorised under Sections 55A, 55B and 57 of the Infectious Diseases Act.

Section 55 states that the health officer can "enter, inspect and search any premises" or "stop, board, inspect and search any conveyance in which an outbreak or suspected outbreak has taken place."

Lawyer Joshua Tong said: "Entering premises despite not having a warrant is up to their discretion. If they have reason to believe that occupants are flouting the rules, then they have the right to carry out their duties."

Q: How do I tell if someone is an enforcement officer?
A: According to the NEA website, you can identify enforcement officers and safe distancing ambassadors by their respective agencies' corporate attire, staff pass or lanyard. They will also carry enforcement officer passes or ambassador passes, and enforcement officers may wear a red armband as well.

Q: Who can be appointed as an enforcement officer?
A: According to Section 35(1) of the Covid-19 (Temporary Measures) Act, the following people can be appointed as enforcement officers:

• a police officer

• a health officer appointed under Section 4(1)(a) or (b) of the Infectious Diseases Act

• a public officer

• an officer of a statutory body

• an auxiliary police officer

• an employee of a prescribed institution under the Infectious Disease Act, except for the purposes of subsection 2(b).

Enforcement officers from the URA are considered public officers or officers of a statutory body.

Q: Can I deny safe distancing enforcement officers and safe distancing ambassadors entry into my home?
A: No. You cannot deny an enforcement officer entry into your home without reasonable excuse, said lawyer Johannes Hadi. An example of a reasonable excuse may be genuine doubt as to their identity.

According to Section 35(9) of the Covid-19 (Temporary Measures) Act, you will be committing an offence if you, without reasonable excuse, refuse or fail to comply with an enforcement officer's directions.

Under Section 35(11) of the same Act, the penalty for refusing to comply with an enforcement officer's directions is a fine of up to $10,000, or a jail term of up to six months, or both for first-time offenders.

Reoffenders can be jailed up to 12 months, fined up to $20,000, or both.

Q: What should I do if I have doubts about an enforcement officer's identity?
A: You may ask the officer to present his or her official identification. This should have the officer's name, photograph, designation, and institution. If you continue to have doubts about the veracity of the officer's identity, politely ask them to wait outside the premises while you call either their purported institution or the police for assistance.

Q: Should homeowners or members of the public feel that safe distancing officers have overstepped their boundaries or are acting inappropriately while on duty, what legal recourse do they have?
A: Enforcement officers are protected from liability in the discharge of their duties if they act in good faith or exercise reasonable care. However, if you believe that an officer has behaved inappropriately or illegally, you may either make a report to the officer's institution or, especially if you believe that a crime may have taken place, the police.

You may also wish to seek legal advice from a lawyer to understand any recourse you may have under the law. You should keep a record of the incident as evidence, such as CCTV or phone footage, audio recordings and photographs.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-safe-distancing-enforcement-officers-want-to

Balls2U

They can knock on my door till thy kingdom come, but I am not opening. They can get a locksmith to open up, but even if they find me inside, I can always say that I don't know who's at the door. Could be some ah long or debt collector harassing me. So long as they don't even have an opportunity to identify themselves by showing me their IDs, they can't fault me for it.

Sinkieland has always been a totalitarian regime... thanks to the pandemic the pappies no longer have to pretend anymore. All in the name of 'keeping you safe'. :biggrin:

You want to trade your liberty for security... eventually you find out you end up with neither. :cool:

borom

" More people will come down with Covid-19 as Singapore opens up ...........said Health Minister Ong Ye Kung ....and the death toll will rise........Starting next Tuesday, ........"preparatory stage"......easing of travel restrictions, with Singapore resuming entry approvals for fully vaccinated work-pass holders and their dependants._"

What legal rights are we talking when the PAP can openly declare more locals will die so foreigners and their families can come in.
People do actually elect such a govt that sacrifice locals for foreigners well being and convenience.
Now we know why they have been giving these crumbs to the Merdeka ,Pioneer generation.....in exchange for their sacrifice in future

They can knock on my door till thy kingdom come, but I am not opening. They can get a locksmith to open up, but even if they find me inside, I can always say that I don't know who's at the door. Could be some ah long or debt collector harassing me. So long as they don't even have an opportunity to identify themselves by showing me their IDs, they can't fault me for it.

Don't make me kick down your door and have you arrested for breaching safe distancing laws.

tobelightlight

The URA said on Monday (Aug 2) that safe distancing enforcement officers have the right to enter, inspect and search premises, including private residences, without a warrant to check whether Covid-19 regulations are being complied with.
It does not mean Singaporeans have to follow it.. You can disregard the law when it is unjust and protest against it. You will disempower the govt by not following their stupid rules.

You can disregard the law when it is unjust and protest against it.

Singapore's laws are not unjust. Disregarding the law here is illegal. Protesting against our laws is also illegal. Even a solo demonstration is considered as illegal assembly.

tobelightlight

Singapore's laws are not unjust. Disregarding the law here is illegal. Protesting against our laws is also illegal. Even a solo demonstration is considered as illegal assembly.
It is only legal or illegal when the people decide if it is so by following or not following it. Protest is legal when pple make it legal, not the govt. When pple disregard the rule, the govt has no power. It is the people who has the power.

Since young u are trained in school to obey authority so that the authority can control u. The govt will not have power when pple dun give a shit about their rule. Singaporeans are trained from young in school to give the govt power to control u. Wake up to this pls. If they give u shit, u will eat shit. This is what happen with the vaccine.

Every human being is a sovereignty and has a mind and creation of his or her own. This is how evolved human beings behaves.

It is only legal or illegal when the people decide if it is so by following or not following it. Protest is legal when pple make it legal, not the govt. When pple disregard the rule, the govt has no power. It is the people who has the power.

Protest is illegal in Singapore without police permit. Go ahead and protest and see if you'll get arrested and charged. Faggot Wham and Oppie Chee have tried and lost many times. Now Faggot Wham keeps quiet and Oppie Chee changed target to cooking briskets and harassing Bukit Batok residents to vote for him.

Do safe distancing enforcement officers need a warrant to enter my house? If they do not have a warrant, should they be entering?
KNN my uncle think by all means they can or allowed to enter for enforcement but if themselves are caught with breaking any laws they are enforcing their punishment should be either life imprisonment or hang after appeal maybe can leeduce to 20 years imprisonment KNN this is then a fair deal KNN

dredd

You can say whatever. Mask lady also say she is unaware of the mask mandate. End of the day, pleading ignorance is no defence. It will only result in you going IMH. If everyone thinks like you than no need for law liao.

JustOneSingh

KNN my uncle think by all means they can or allowed to enter for enforcement but if themselves are caught with breaking any laws they are enforcing their punishment should be either life imprisonment or hang after appeal maybe can leeduce to 20 years imprisonment KNN this is then a fair deal KNN

Bhai,

My gates are not locked.
They can enter at their own risk because I have two well trained dogs against intruders.

Bring it on.

Life imprisonment or execution is usually reserved for crimes like murder, drug trafficking or kidnapping.