• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Singapore] - Joseph Schooling's uncle speaks out

shiokalingam

no one can match the Power of Caeleb Dressel at the moment ...

IMG_20210731_120039.jpg

IMG_20210730_194855.jpg

IMG_20210730_144614.jpg

Charlie99

This Schooling situation reminds me of those parents who only have ONE child.

The pressure and expectations and dreams that single child has to fulfill are enormous. If he or she fails it is the end of the road for the parents.

Whereas parents who have many kids cannot be so bothered. There simply isnt enough time and energy to spend on one kid when you have 4 or 5 of them.

Why are Singaporeans so bothered? The fella already wom gold in 2016. He come in last now does not take away the gold. And coming in last in the heats how does that affect Singapore and Singaporeans?

Nothing lah.

It is just that Singaporeans expectations were so and so and he did not meet it. Next time dont have such high expectations. It is Singapore!
We are blessed and fortunate, because we have not had to check on our four children in terms of homework. I just have to sign off the gifted student plan and report cards. We do not give them any allowance, and they take lunch to school, except that we pay for the hot lunch on Fridays.
So far, they appear to be doing well.
The first child was awarded that university President Terence Grier Scholarship (one per faculty, full tuition for the first year), the Environics Schiolarship, and the entrance scholarship. She will be in her second year Masters program at U of T in Sep 2021. She qualified as a lifeguard at age 17.
The second child completed RCM grade 10 piano, and will be in his third year Engineering Science U of T in Sep 2021.
He sings alto and counter tenor. He used to work part time on Saturdays.
The third child is an athlete, and volleyball player. She works part time on Sat and Sun.
She will be in first year Life Sciences. She hopes to be selected for medical school, and be a dermatologist.
The fourth child is very ambitious and independent. He was on track to achieve a very rate double, ARCT through the RCM for organ and piano. Unfortunately, due to COVID, he had no organ lessons and practice since mid March 2020. He is burning his summer (2020 and 2021) doing grade 9 music theory, music history, grade 9 harmony. He is in RCM grade 10 piano, and hopefully will pass his ARCT piano before completing academic grade 12. He is evaluating university organ scholarships at Oxford and USA. But he indicated that there is no "life" as a student if he pursues that route.
He tells me his areas for improvement.
For his RCM grade 10 practical exam, Part One, done virtually, he said that he made a few mistakes. Fortunately, he received a 77%, and he said that he should improve on it for Part Two. A candidate needs to be 75 and better to be eligible to do the ARCT.
He used to sing as an alto, but his voice changed, and now is a bass.
We let them decide their alternatives.
So far so good.
We have mini choir, with my wife as soprano, David as alto or counter tenor, Peter as bass. I sing as the frog, mascot.

countryman

You make a money at job for your country too? :rolleyes:
What talking you?
You are rewarded with cash$$$ for your effort! What's wrong with that?
If you think you're so good, than donate all the money away, no one is stopping you!

What talking you?
You are rewarded with cash$$$ for your effort! What's wrong with that?
If you think you're so good, than donate all the money away, no one is stopping you!
Aiya don't pretend lah. The simple logic is sportsmen compete for themselves, not for the country. By extension you say work to earn money is for sake of society, for the country is simply far fetched. Less kind people may call u a silly man! :laugh:

countryman

Aiya don't pretend lah. The simple logic is sportsmen compete for themselves, not for the country. By extension you say work to earn money is for sake of society, for the country is simply far fetched. Less kind people may call u a silly man! :laugh:
Pretend what? Dunno what the fxxk u talking about here? I have no time to have silly argument with u here.
Fxxk off lah. Ting tong ! :wink:

nayr69sg

Staff member
You can see from the results that Joseph Schooling was the young man who peaked just at the right time 5 years ago.

At Rio 2016 Michael Phelps and Lo Cheslo were at the twilight of their careers and Calen Dressel still young.

Sometimes sport like this about timing also. Luck

Dear Joseph.. if you tried your best then there's nothing more you can do. Your only mistake was to be born a sinkie.

Because if you are a born and bred sinkie, your government will not spend any money on your development. They would rather believe in a foreigner to wear the national colours and represent the country.

However, if you win anything these sharks will be very quick to be your best friend. This is the kind of relationship you have with the state.

Your fellow sinkies are also no better. They have been too bitter living life in survival mode. They will react to another person's success with jealousy. When you fall they will laugh and mock at you - dispensing "see I told you so" wisdom.

After this Olympig you may choose to retire from competitive swimming and emigrate from this toxic environment or come back home to make it better. You have achieved much and you owe this place nothing.

Alamakinky

well spoken RT...
Dear Joseph.. if you tried your best then there's nothing more you can do. Your only mistake was to be born a sinkie.

Because if you are a born and bred sinkie, your government will not spend any money on your development. They would rather believe in a foreigner to wear the national colours and represent the country.

However, if you win anything these sharks will be very quick to be your best friend. This is the kind of relationship you have with the state.

Your fellow sinkies are also no better. They have been too bitter living life in survival mode. They will react to another person's success with jealousy. When you fall they will laugh and mock at you - dispensing "see I told you so" wisdom.

After this Olympig you may choose to retire from competitive swimming and emigrate from this toxic environment or come back home to make it better. You have achieved much and you owe this place nothing.

nayr69sg

Staff member

Actually I share very many of your views and thoughts. Wonder why you dislike me so much that I kena cursed by you before?

You are all correct with the above comments. I dont think Schooling compete for money lah. Swimming is his passion.

knowwhatyouwantinlife

State money here means what was paid for the jlb trip like a certain whip, not what was invested in his training...everyone knows hi family paid for the us training themselves...

Pretend what? Dunno what the fxxk u talking about here? I have no time to have silly argument with u here.
Fxxk off lah. Ting tong ! :wink:
Schooling success or fail got nothing to do with you what. You are just a sinkie. A bitter, loser sinkie who has to put others down to feel good about your self. Enjoy your shit posting, silly man! :laugh:

Leckmichamarsch

Schooling used parents money and wasted it.father sure bankrupt.
How come he cannot get US university scholarship? As gold MEDALIST?
Jiu hu squash players were offered citizenship by US.one took it and disappeared.
Why no private sector sponsorship like in jiu hu? Or INDONESUA? Or philippines? Free house from developers for recent philippino gold medallist in weight lifting.
Training to be a champ is a full time job. And lots of sacrifice.
One million reward for olympic gold is just one month PM salary. Not even worth it as he must compete wirh the best internationally. PM only compete domestically.
.............................HIS PARENTS DIN DIG m&d
HE NO BUMI SO DISADVANTAGED...............WE ONLY HV PREZ SHEARES UNLESS LHL DECIDES NOT PREZ IS EURASIAN W SWIMMING GOLD MEDAL ...JUST LIKE HOW IT WAS TAILORED FOR PUKI LIMAH

Porfirio Rubirosa

I agree with his uncle that that it is more about their family's effort. US has great swimming programmes and many countries base their swimmers in US, be it state sponsorship or university scholarships.

However, his uncle's repeated emphasis that singapore didn't raise his nephew, hints to me that Schooling is unlikely to return to Singapore to serve NS after this Olympics.
Gather he has already returned to Sin and now under quarantine...

countryman

Schooling success or fail got nothing to do with you what. You are just a sinkie. A bitter, loser sinkie who has to put others down to feel good about your self. Enjoy your shit posting, silly man! :laugh:
What can u do about it if I keep posting? LOL
Non of your god damn business anyway, y so busybody?
I write what I wanna write. So stop disturbing me n just buzz off...
Btw, u must be sucking Schooling's dick, so concerned for him! LOL LOL :smile:

Porfirio Rubirosa

One thing all his critics have yet to mention is that Schooling's dad has liver cancer and is currently undergoing chemo...

Jo not only an only son but only child...

He must be going through a terrible time personally ever since his dad's cancer diagnosis...