• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ong YK's FB post: "Why roll back to Phase 2 when we plan to live with COVID-19? Why should everyone else pay for the people who were irresponsible?"

As a doctor you should know it all depends on what SMC and MOH decide.

You can pull out some "ethical limit" ruling if you want.

If ICU is full and unvaccinated patient dies ok. But I fail to see how if ICU has beds and unvaccinated patient needs a bed and the "judgment call" is to not give the bed to the patient that can stand up in court.

The 4G leaders are not as tough and hard nosed as LKY.

Nope. MOH defers to SMC. SMC now run by lawyers thanks to how the council members consistently make fools of themselves and having their hare brained judgment overturned by the supreme court. So yes it’s the non medically trained lawyer who decides whether you are ethical.

If LKY was alive he would simply call the law minister and get the bill passed through parliament within 48 hours.

lest we forget our government has the power to call an Indian woman a Malay so she can become president. Nothing is impossible in our little red dot.

Nope. MOH defers to SMC. SMC now run by lawyers thanks to how the council members consistently make fools of themselves and having their hare brained judgment overturned by the supreme court. So yes it’s the non medically trained lawyer who decides whether you are ethical.

If LKY was alive he would simply call the law minister and get the bill passed through parliament within 48 hours.

lest we forget our government has the power to call an Indian woman a Malay so she can become president. Nothing is impossible in our little red dot.

You are spot on. It is the lawyers who run SMC now. Back in 2000 I told all my colleagues and friends the lawyers decide how drs practice.

Quick question - are consent forms for procedures and surgeries still the same ONE PAGER BS about how I have explained to the patient the risks and complications etc etc etc? Then have to document in the notes what you said specifically? Is it still like that? Or are they now standard several pages of fine print detailing all the possible complications and risks and figures and what not in a booklet for specific procedures eg Appendicectomy, ORIF distal radius #, R TKR, Lap Chole?

I suspect still the same ONE PAGER right?

Need to update lah. The lawyers run the show so Drs need to think like lawyers too. Hire the lawyers to write the consent forms lah.

All the more as dr better dont get involved in these political and feeling and sentiment stuff. Let the lawyers decide.

You are spot on. It is the lawyers who run SMC now. Back in 2000 I told all my colleagues and friends the lawyers decide how drs practice.

Quick question - are consent forms for procedures and surgeries still the same ONE PAGER BS about how I have explained to the patient the risks and complications etc etc etc? Then have to document in the notes what you said specifically? Is it still like that? Or are they now standard several pages of fine print detailing all the possible complications and risks and figures and what not in a booklet for specific procedures eg Appendicectomy, ORIF distal radius #, R TKR, Lap Chole?

I suspect still the same ONE PAGER right?

Need to update lah. The lawyers run the show so Drs need to think like lawyers too. Hire the lawyers to write the consent forms lah.

All the more as dr better dont get involved in these political and feeling and sentiment stuff. Let the lawyers decide.
Consent form has never been legal binding. Never ever.

Consent now involves a few pages where you have to explain common acceptable complications.

And after all that amount of time and effort, a clever lawyer can still fuck you over in court by saying his client didn’t understand a thing because she is illiterate and understands only Hakka.

FYI SMC ethical code was authored by one of the most unethical specialist in Singapore. This cretin basically handed a loaded gun to the lawyers and they gleefully declared open season to hunt doctors. FascinatIng but true. This clown is still in practice at a private hospital.

@porcaputtana i remember we had all these booklets for standard admission eg cholecystitis start the Case Mix. Tick off the boxes. Order this order that.

And our consent form was the one pager basically says nothing and if go to court lawyer will ask what you explain to my client and client says nope he never said that and the consent form both lawyers will shake head one laughing the other crying.

Consent form has never been legal binding. Never ever.

Consent now involves a few pages where you have to explain common acceptable complications.

And after all that amount of time and effort, a clever lawyer can still fuck you over in court by saying his client didn’t understand a thing because she is illiterate and understands only Hakka.

FYI SMC ethical code was authored by one of the most unethical specialist in Singapore. This cretin basically handed a loaded gun to the lawyers and they gleefully declared open season to hunt doctors. FascinatIng but true. This clown is still in practice at a private hospital.
The problem is because we have never got the lawyers to work out the best legal way to do the consent properly.

Practice of medicine should be more legal rather than medical.

Illiterate? Cannot hakka? Video the consent taking process. Interpreter.

Can be done.

The problem is doctors themselves full of shit. Will say things like you will scare away patients. Too troublesome. No time.

All excuses.

So serve the medical profession right. Chihuahuas tied to a tree.

The way forward to get more people vaccinated is to deny unvaccinated people government subsidy in medical care should they fall ill due to COVID. It's a fair call.

But it would be unethical.

It would then fall on the doctors to advocate for the patients stating that such action is discriminatory and runs foul of the professional standards that doctors abide by.

To prove that the Covid vax is completely safe and harmless...up the $225K compensation to $2.25m.

Better than striking Toto first prize...which is near impossible for many.

The problem is because we have never got the lawyers to work out the best legal way to do the consent properly.

Practice of medicine should be more legal rather than medical.

Illiterate? Cannot hakka? Video the consent taking process. Interpreter.

Can be done.

The problem is doctors themselves full of shit. Will say things like you will scare away patients. Too troublesome. No time.

All excuses.

So serve the medical profession right. Chihuahuas tied to a tree.
You can't video patients in your consult room. Will require a separate room.

Plus interpreter. Plus time. Plus cost.

This is not Canada. Subsidised clinics have 50 patients waiting outside banging at the door. You add another 10 min to each patient and your clinic will end at 11pm.

I agree. The only way to move fast forward to endemic and avoid another disruptive lockdown is to wave a big stick and get these idiots to cooperate or die. The many cannot suffer at the hands of a few.

Childhood vaccination is protocol and law, and parents can be prosecuted if they choose not to vaccinate. The anti-vaxxers have the mentality of a child and so should not be allowed to do as they wish. It's nothing to do with ethics but common sense and common good.

You can't video patients in your consult room. Will require a separate room.

Plus interpreter. Plus time. Plus cost.

This is not Canada. Subsidised clinics have 50 patients waiting outside banging at the door. You add another 10 min to each patient and your clinic will end at 11pm.
Canada is no different lah.

Medicine is shit everywhere. There is no good solutions. My advice to my kids and everyone is not to be a doctor. Dont be stupid.

My biggest regret is becoming a doctor again in Canada. Fucking biggest mistake! Now stuck in this shit profession again.

Hope to win Lotto 649 and get out of this shit.

Canada is no different lah.

Medicine is shit everywhere. There is no good solutions. My advice to my kids and everyone is not to be a doctor. Dont be stupid.

My biggest regret is becoming a doctor again in Canada. Fucking biggest mistake! Now stuck in this shit profession again.

Hope to win Lotto 649 and get out of this shit.
Totally agree. Medicine is a sunset industry. Run into the ground by spineless politicians and insurance crooks. Gone are the days when we have any amount of respect and pride. Now every moron with a smartphone will come challenge you because he made the correct diagnosis himself 5 minutes ago.

And now we have 4 medical schools with failed specialist training programs churning out 400+ strawberry generation doctors who can barely do an appendicectomy but want work life balance.

Maybe I join you in Canada and open KTV with Viet bu soon. Surely much more gratifying.

One-trick pony ministers. They forgot to impose same stringent testing standards on the Indonesian fishermen
the way they did to the Causeway lorry drivers.

Tats wat i have been saying. Did they do the routine regular testing for covid on those fishermen/crews over at JFP? If no, why?

Totally agree. Medicine is a sunset industry. Run into the ground by spineless politicians and insurance crooks. Gone are the days when we have any amount of respect and pride. Now every moron with a smartphone will come challenge you because he made the correct diagnosis himself 5 minutes ago.

And now we have 4 medical schools with failed specialist training programs churning out 400+ strawberry generation doctors who can barely do an appendicectomy but want work life balance.

Maybe I join you in Canada and open KTV with Viet bu soon. Surely much more gratifying.
You are correct my friend and colleague.

I opened a bubble tea shop. Very hard. No profit. Basically wife running the shop to let employees earn money accountant earn money lawyer earn money and let people have bubble tea and we earn nothing maybe even lose some money in the process. Very hard lah. Dun think KTV would be much different. In sg rental is rhe high cost. Here it is wages.

Buy lottery lah. Toto in sg is same as Lotto 649 here.

At least here weekend can go mountain and hiking and kayak. Winter time ski.

213058609_4573884669308736_3020986415297313189_n.jpg

People thinking the vaccines are god? Actually how many infection does it stop? Even if all vaccinated liao if still can infect also will mutate to a variant that avoid vaccine and spread to another vaccinated person.

They must have spent a fortune on those pro-vaccine propaganda... it's everywhere. :biggrin:

Imagine using that money to help people and businesses who have suffered due to the lockdowns and restrictions.

They must have spent a fortune on those pro-vaccine propaganda... it's everywhere. :biggrin:

Imagine using that money to help people and businesses who have suffered due to the lockdowns and restrictions.

Now they want something to blame. Blame no vaccine ppl is the best