• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I am a Chinese Singaporean, and proud of it

Maybe in the next life. Doctors( specislist) in australia drives sports cars snd own yachts. How come its not the case in canada?
Some in sinkie owns race horses.

Medicine pays procedural medicine best. So surgeons and interventionists are the best specialties to go into. Not all doctors paid the same. The richest drs in Canada are the Radiologists (because they run centres and leverage from employees and machines CT/MRI/X-ray, they just read the reports), and Eye surgeons (again leverage employees and machines LASIK)

The smart people will be able to make money in all situation. Bull market, make money trading long. Bear market, go short. The smart chaps don't go for the kill. They go for small incremental profits with good risk management in place. And they leave their egos at the door.

You're right, young punks these days don't have a clue. Why? Because they never been true adversity. They never faced water shortages. Many of them don't need to work their way through college.
Based solely on my own observation and experience, fate plays a pivotal role. From cradle to cremation …..

When one feels down, just be thankful it wasn’t all that bad after all. Compare with those less fortunate and move on. If it’s yours, it will be yours.

Can wake up each day with or without marikita, makan 3 meals, go massage, lim kopi with good pals and do the things you enjoy kau liao. Btw this only applies to folks above 60.

Based solely on my own observation and experience, fate plays a pivotal role. From cradle to cremation …..

When one feels down, just be thankful it wasn’t all that bad after all. Compare with those less fortunate and move on. If it’s yours, it will be yours.

Can wake up each day with or without marikita, makan 3 meals, go massage, lim kopi with good pals and do the things you enjoy kau liao. Btw this only applies to folks above 60.

That's called retirement. In Singapore many of the baby boomers have some kind of pension.

That's gone for the next generation (children of the baby boomers).

Opium has braindamaged coolies beyond repair. Weleft china because it is a shithole. Sinkieland is now a shithole. We will leave

We already have a Chinese Pride Parade.

Although in recent years, it has become a cheap imitation of Brazil's Carnaval, a gimmick for tourists, while pretending to be 'multicultural' and 'diverse'. :biggrin:

ST_20190216_P1CHINGAY_4627667.jpg

We already have a Chinese Pride Parade.

Although in recent years, it has become a cheap imitation of Brazil's Carnaval, a gimmick for tourists, while pretending to be 'multicultural' and 'diverse'. :biggrin:

ST_20190216_P1CHINGAY_4627667.jpg
How come colours similar to pink dot rally?

By Kirsten Han

I am a Chinese Singaporean, and proud of it. I'm not as fluent in Mandarin as I am in English, but I delight in being bilingual. Living in Singapore, I have Chinese privilege, whether I want it or not.
All these things are simultaneously true.
"Chinese privilege" (or "majority privilege", which is essentially the same thing in Singapore when it comes to race since the majority race is Chinese) is a concept that we can use to talk about how there are particular issues, challenges, and barriers that don't exist for Chinese Singaporeans, but exist for others.
It points to how, for instance, I don't have to worry about whether particular HR staff or employers in Singapore will turn me away on the basis of my race, because even if the job ad says "bilingual speakers preferred", I can almost always assume that the two languages they mean are English and Mandarin. Or that, if I ever want to buy a HDB flat, I likely don't have to worry about the ethnic quota, while my minority friends do. It means that I can be confident that, whenever my government launches a national initiative, it will cater to me and my needs (especially if I am also cis and heterosexual and middle-class). Even if I were mainly a Mandarin speaker, there are still many spaces I can move about in within the country without much worry; like how cinemas often only offer Chinese subtitles with English-language films, which means that someone who only knows Mandarin can go to the cinema and still follow an English film, while someone who only knows Malay/Tamil can't.
What Chinese privilege is NOT about is demanding that Chinese people be apologetic or ashamed of being Chinese/in the majority race. What would be the point of that? Who would be served if I went around saying sorry for being Chinese, or if I stopped speaking Mandarin out of shame? It'd be totally pointless, because the whole point of the concept is to point to *systemic* inequalities, not just individual behaviours. Systemic inequalities and racism operate independent of what the individual feels about their position; I could be completely embarrassed about being Chinese, start refusing to speak Mandarin, and give up xiaolongbao for life (omg the horror)—and I'd *still* enjoy Chinese privilege in Singapore, because the system is set up to exempt me from particular obstacles and barriers on the basis of what it perceives me to be.
I don't understand why there are people who think that anti-racists talking about Chinese privilege want Chinese people to be sorry about being Chinese. Why would anyone waste time wanting Chinese people to do such a pointless thing?!
No one is demanding that Chinese Singaporeans feel bad or guilty about being Chinese. And as long as the system continues as it is, we Chinese Singaporeans cannot renounce our privilege. (You can *say* that you want to renounce, but again, the system doesn't care about your feelings.) But what we *can* do is decide how we want to use it to stand in solidarity with marginalised communities to reform/dismantle unjust structures and systems.
It's not about blame or saying that Chinese Singaporeans are bad people because we have Chinese privilege. It's about power, opportunities, access, and responsibility.
You should be a shame of your Chinese privilege. Shame on you! :mad:

By Kirsten Han

I am a Chinese Singaporean, and proud of it. I'm not as fluent in Mandarin as I am in English, but I delight in being bilingual. Living in Singapore, I have Chinese privilege, whether I want it or not.
All these things are simultaneously true.
"Chinese privilege" (or "majority privilege", which is essentially the same thing in Singapore when it comes to race since the majority race is Chinese) is a concept that we can use to talk about how there are particular issues, challenges, and barriers that don't exist for Chinese Singaporeans, but exist for others.
It points to how, for instance, I don't have to worry about whether particular HR staff or employers in Singapore will turn me away on the basis of my race, because even if the job ad says "bilingual speakers preferred", I can almost always assume that the two languages they mean are English and Mandarin. Or that, if I ever want to buy a HDB flat, I likely don't have to worry about the ethnic quota, while my minority friends do. It means that I can be confident that, whenever my government launches a national initiative, it will cater to me and my needs (especially if I am also cis and heterosexual and middle-class). Even if I were mainly a Mandarin speaker, there are still many spaces I can move about in within the country without much worry; like how cinemas often only offer Chinese subtitles with English-language films, which means that someone who only knows Mandarin can go to the cinema and still follow an English film, while someone who only knows Malay/Tamil can't.
What Chinese privilege is NOT about is demanding that Chinese people be apologetic or ashamed of being Chinese/in the majority race. What would be the point of that? Who would be served if I went around saying sorry for being Chinese, or if I stopped speaking Mandarin out of shame? It'd be totally pointless, because the whole point of the concept is to point to *systemic* inequalities, not just individual behaviours. Systemic inequalities and racism operate independent of what the individual feels about their position; I could be completely embarrassed about being Chinese, start refusing to speak Mandarin, and give up xiaolongbao for life (omg the horror)—and I'd *still* enjoy Chinese privilege in Singapore, because the system is set up to exempt me from particular obstacles and barriers on the basis of what it perceives me to be.
I don't understand why there are people who think that anti-racists talking about Chinese privilege want Chinese people to be sorry about being Chinese. Why would anyone waste time wanting Chinese people to do such a pointless thing?!
No one is demanding that Chinese Singaporeans feel bad or guilty about being Chinese. And as long as the system continues as it is, we Chinese Singaporeans cannot renounce our privilege. (You can *say* that you want to renounce, but again, the system doesn't care about your feelings.) But what we *can* do is decide how we want to use it to stand in solidarity with marginalised communities to reform/dismantle unjust structures and systems.
It's not about blame or saying that Chinese Singaporeans are bad people because we have Chinese privilege. It's about power, opportunities, access, and responsibility.
Now is Hindi preferred. :cool: