I had my free company paid medical checkup today and the doctor said I have paroxysmal atrial fibrillation

KNN that means that clinic has a leeferent sets of protocol KNN my uncle first did a ecg before the treadmill test and next see gp loctor to leeview the ecg leeport next was sent for the stress test which was conducted onllee by a nurse KNN and the treadmill target was set with a formula of 220-agex85% KNN my uncle almost wanted to collapse after completing the test as the BP went upto 220+ KNN interestinglee the gp did not leefer my uncle to their own clinic cardiologist but to other preferred hospital selected by my uncle KNN onllee when my uncle leeceived the hardcopy certified leeport from that clinic cardiologist then my uncle know they also have cardiologist KNN

Standard 12 lead ECG can be done in any clinic very basic. But value of 12 lead ECG in screening is very low. 12 lead ECG is to see the heart electrical activity at that point in time only. So if no symptoms no irregularities usually normal lah. But yes for wayang we often do the 12 lead ECG to "satisfy expectations".

Then of course someone must tell you the 12 lead ECG results right? I think your uncle went to lab to do the 12 lead ECG. Which is nowadays the case lah. GP where got time to do the actual ECG for you when you only pay $5 or less for it? and it takes maybe 15 minutes to wait for uncle to take off shirt. lie down hook up the leads then turn on machine and do reading then take off leads wait for uncle sit up and wear shirt then leave.....$5......

Likely your uncle ECG was normal lah. But history taking sound like possible angina. So send for treadmill.

The "which cardiologist" that one I dunno lah. Many possible reasons. Maybe the GP feel the "own cardiologist" is not so good so care about your uncle leefer your uncle to more better cardiologist? Or maybe your uncle want the cardiologist the clinic get some incentive to refer to instead of "own cardiologist"? Dunno lah.

@sweetiepie you see how time consuming it can all be to be a good doctor? Just explaining all the possibilities with a screening for coronary artery disease alone?

And they want GP to do FULL BODY COMPLETE SYSTEM screening and examination in what....15 min?

What about people with possible COPD?

Or thyroid problem?

Or colon cancer?

Many things to talk about you know.

but 15 min. And want to pay low low fees.

Not like if Dr A explain a lot spend 30 min behind time for morning so have to skip lunch to make up for behind time get paid more than Dr B just go through motion and finish in 10 min got 5 min rest between patient.
KNN imuho good loctor is someone who are good listener be empathetic and able to calm down patient after diagnosis are done KNN that loctor ivandito the cardiologist is 1 such loctor KNN unfortunatelee most specialist tend to be a mute but my uncle know lah they see so many sinkies patients until they are like zombies most of the time especiallee those from the gov hospital glaucoma clinic day in day out dealing with sinkies old fart KNN

KNN imuho good loctor is someone who are good listener and able to calm down patient after diagnosis are done KNN that loctor ivandito the cardiologist is 1 such loctor KNN unfortunatelee most specialist tend to be a mute but my uncle know lah they see so many sinkies patients until they are like zombies most of the time especiallee those from the gov hospital glaucoma clinic day in day out dealing with sinkies old fart KNN

yes it is the fact that need to see so many (because each patient paying quite little relatively).

Already the court say Dr cannot be like Susan Lim just spend all her time with ONE patient and charge millions (even though patient can afford and willingly paid at the time).

Court say got "ethical limit" of charging except never say what that limit is or how it is determined.

Whereas somehow financial advisor or manager can somehow solicit up to $1 BILLION in investments from clients........

Eh let's say this fella $1b make 1% in commission and do correct one no fraud .....1% of $1b is how much ar?

Dr pai tahn lah.

The problem is everytime you go see dr you only in room with dr one to one. You don't see that doctor go to repeat what he did with you 50 times EVERY SINGLE DAY.

Wah lau......very sian and tiring you know. PLUS the fact that if he dont spend time talking and just keep quiet and you go out faster less talking he ALSO EARN THE SAME AMOUNT OF MONEY.

So when you meet a good doctor willing to explain and spend time with you please appreciate him/her, say thank you, be understanding dont take up too much of their time, maybe give them a hug (after covid over) and acknowledge their job is tough. And also if dr dont talk much also understand lah. Maybe you patient number 39 and dr very tired already or her son is sick in hospital or something so worried about other things more important to her life than your health.

yes it is the fact that need to see so many (because each patient paying quite little relatively)
KNN for this statement my uncle think we can break it down to words/min KNN for a low income earner like my uncle is deemed verlee verlee expensive even in a gov subsidised specialist mostlee 1 or 2 sentences of words for $22 :eek: KNN the leecord holder my uncle encountered was 1 word for $22 and the word was OK KNN even polyclinic is deemed verlee expensive a few words for $12 KNN

LOL! Yup.

Now here the thing.

I as dr tend to do maybe 500 words for $26?

I think I should learn the skill of 1 word for $22. That dr smart. Cos he know even if he say 10000 words also $22. But then his clinic will be behind time and less time to earn more shots of $22.

There should be more performance/patient satisfaction bonus type payments to incentivize good service and caring drs lah.

But unfortunately no one interested in paying more lah. Just less.

LOL! Yup.

Now here the thing.

I as dr tend to do maybe 500 words for $26?

I think I should learn the skill of 1 word for $22. That dr smart. Cos he know even if he say 10000 words also $22. But then his clinic will be behind time and less time to earn more shots of $22.

There should be more performance/patient satisfaction bonus type payments to incentivize good service and caring drs lah.

But unfortunately no one interested in paying more lah. Just less.
You should aim for zero word for $22 :biggrin: KNN my uncle was shocked and yet leelieved lah becas hearing ok means bo taichi :biggrin: KNN