Serious Good News! Overrated Penang becomes Shit Hole Again with Collapsed of Tourism

Pinkieslut

George Town is back to being a backwater – it’s as if Penang’s tourism boom never happened. Blame the coronavirus travel curbs
  • International borders have been shut for a year, and domestic travel to George Town, the jewel in Malaysia’s tourism crown, ground to a halt in January
  • Still, a mural artist is busy adding new street art to the city’s walls, and optimists see the pause in tourism as a chance for Penang to reflect on its assets
Marco  Ferrarese

Marco Ferrarese

Published: 10:15am, 7 Mar, 2021

Closed shophouses in George Town, Penang, Malaysia. Strict coronavirus lockdown has left many businesses struggling to survive. Photo: Kit Yeng Chan

It has become a familiar scene on Chulia Street: Mamak Indian Muslim workers sweat behind face masks as they fill brown paper bags with rice and curry, feeding residents who would prefer not to – and indeed, until a month ago, could not – dine in restaurants.
Chinese uncles and aunties wait behind kerbside stalls for the next rider of a sputtering motorcycle, who will exchange a few ringgit for a plastic bag filled with hot soup and noodles. Behind them hang red Chinese altars covered in ritual ash next to rows of padlocked shophouses that, like closed eyes, seal George Town’s multicultural secrets behind metallic shutters.
Without visitors, George Town, the jewel in Malaysia’s tourism crown, has again become the sun-scorched colonial backwater it was before its inscription on the 2008 Unesco World Heritage list. Lockdowns of varying strictness have proved difficult for many residents, who were expecting 8.3 million tourists in 2020 before the Covid-19 pandemic thwarted hopes in Penang.
The island state was kept afloat for the best part of 2020, when infections across Malaysia barely surpassed 100 a day, by domestic tourists and a 75 million ringgit (US$18.4 million) relief package funded by the Penang state government that supported trishaw riders, taxi and e-hailing service drivers, and other low-paid workers.

One of the best foodie places to go in Malaysia. Great pubs with live music, nice clean beach, easy to get online whores to come to your hotel room. Some places abit dodgy. Gangsterism still thriving there. Penang probably abit like the Singapore of yesteryears. Really enjoyed my time there early last year.

Which sites/apps are good for this?

Didn't use any apps. Was recommended by a local guy there. Thai pros plenty working in Penang. The Spas there also the same. Full service at a good price. Local Sabah girls, Thais, Viets

Thanks bro.

Can you rate the various races?

Took a Thai whore for 450 ringgit a night. Gave that local chap 150 ringgit for his hard work. Showed me few pics on his Hp and I selected my choice from there. He then told me to wait at the coffeshop that we were sitting. 45 mins later the girl came in another car. Hassle free transaction. Importantly he promised us no cops would raid my hotel room. Overall service - 8/10 lah for that Siam Bu.

Next day we went to this spa. Full service 300 ringgit. Sabah girl. Very fair looking but quite inexperienced. 6/10. She insisted that I brought her to my hotel room that night but I declined since I already promised the previous day chap that I would take the same Siam Bu girl again that night.

Next day after the Siam Bu went back, we drove to the Thailand - Malaysia Kedah border. 1 1/2 hour drive from Penang to the border. Great experience driving on the Penang bridge back to the mainland. That border town really cowboy town. Great fun, cheap beer, nice food, cheap ciggies and more cheaper Siam Bu whores LOL.

Love penang good and cheap food. Like Singapore before we end up in the current shit hole.

Sinkieland is the true shithole. Overrated and overpriced. Historical sites raped by gentrification and artificial 'upgrading'.

Case in point:

chinatown-food-street.jpg

"Let's turn it into Bugis Junction, but only selling overpriced food!" :biggrin:

.Next day after the Siam Bu went back, we drove to the Thailand - Malaysia Kedah border. 1 1/2 hour drive from Penang to the border. Great experience driving on the Penang bridge back to the mainland. That border town really cowboy town. Great fun, cheap beer, nice food, cheap ciggies and more cheaper Siam Bu whores LOL.
You talking about Dannok buddy? Just across the border from bukit kayu hitam. Locals can cross without passport i was told. But only to dannok to party.

Yeah Syed. Actually locals need to get this kinda border pass. So they can use that pass instead of their passport. We drove there with an ex colleague tagging along since he's a Kedah native. But need to go there before midnight as after midnight the border would be closed. And border would only open again during the morning. For those without cars, can hitch pillion on a bike. Pay a guy there and he would ride his bike through the border and drop u at the whore houses there. Btw need to buy some sort of a Thai vehicle insurance for your car. Can buy at the shops near the border. Danok is a fun crazy place to be. As I said cheap beers, food and most importantly cheap whores aplenty. Many Malay pakciks there too. Doesn't really feel like Thailand when you are there. The place resembles that of a run down Malaysia small town especially with the many Malaysians also in Danok seeking Siam pussies.