PAP's "Gentle " persuasion for those who don't want vaccine...

dredd

Sounds like when I was in the army and was asked by my encik about donating blood. It's not mandatory but those who don't donate blood will do extra guard duty lah...

Those in Singapore who do not want to get the Covid-19 vaccine may require “more frequent testing”, Minister for Education Lawrence Wong said on Jan. 7 in an interview on Talking Point.

Central Provident Fund Board
Plan for a worry free retirement!

Find out how your saving habits can help you retire early.
Sponsored by Central Provident Fund Board
See more

Wong, who is the co-chair of the Covid-19 multi-ministry task force, said that those who got vaccinated will be on the receiving end of "tangible benefits".

He said: "It may well be that travellers coming back need not serve SHN (stay-home notice) or will serve a shorter SHN."

"So those will be the benefits of getting a vaccination besides the fact that you are protecting yourself and your loved ones."

On the other hand, those who do not get vaccinated will be subjected to a more frequent testing regime.

He added: “There will be these tangible benefits and those who choose not to be vaccinated, well, then you have to live with more frequent tests, you have to live with quarantine, you have to live with all of these other additional requirements.”

Singapore settled for 3 vaccines initially

Wong also explained that picking the vaccine made by the Chinese biopharmaceutical company Sinovac to be used in Singapore was "to make early bets".

The vaccine, named CoronaVac, is one of three to be used here, but it is not widely adopted and no conclusive studies have been conducted on it yet.

Wong said the government convened an expert panel to look at making early purchases of vaccines “as early as April”.

He revealed that the committee and experts narrowed the selection to 35 vaccine candidates, with Moderna, Pfizer-BioNTech and Sinovac chosen eventually.

No clinical data was made available by any vaccine companies early on.

Wong added: “We have to make early bets in order for Singapore to be near the front of the queue for vaccines. And that's what is happening today.”

When asked by the interviewer if Singapore was "hedging chances" with its purchases, Wong replied: "Very much so."

No choosing of vaccines at this point

Asked if people would be allowed to choose their vaccine, Wong said that the Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna vaccines worked similarly.

Efficacy rates were “all about the same” around the world.

"I think at this point in time, we have Pfizer only, there's nothing to choose from. So let's go with Pfizer, get people vaccinated on the Pfizer vaccine,” he added.

He also said some vaccines will not be suitable for some subsections of the population, and choice of vaccine will be calibrated with more data in the future.

Timeline of vaccine acquisition

The first advance purchase agreement with Moderna took place in June, which was secured with a downpayment.

The Sinovac vaccine was bought in August, which was when advance talks were ongoing with Pfizer-BioNTech.

The Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine was approved first in the end.

The call was made by Singapore’s Health Sciences Authority (HSA).

The first shipment of vaccines arrived by the end of December, with other vaccines expected in the next several months.

The first doses of the vaccines were administered to staff at the National Centre for Infectious Diseases (NCID) on Dec. 30, 2020.

Wong said buying other vaccines in the future was Singapore's way "not to make a single bet".

Different vaccines work differently

Broadly, there are two ways the three vaccines work.

The Moderna and Pfizer-BioNTech vaccines use the new messenger RNA (mRNA) technology.

Sinovac is a traditional inactivated virus vaccine.

mRNA vaccines teach cells in the body to make a protein that triggers an immune response inside our bodies, said director of communicable diseases at the Ministry of Health (MOH) Associate Professor Vernon Lee who was one of the interviewees.

Traditional vaccines put a weakened or inactivated germ into the body.

Herd immunity in Singapore

Wong said that even in a post-Covid-19 world, there would be pandemics with more virulent diseases that arise in the future.

“I think rather than thinking about let’s go back to life before Covid, I think we should be thinking now about what are the things that we have done during this period that really ought to be permanently part of our new daily routines,” he added.

“And how can we raise our levels of defences, our levels of protection, our levels of hygiene so that we can be more prepared and more resilient in the future?”

However, with herd immunity, it does not mean everyone is protected.

Lee stressed that individuals who do not get vaccinated are “still susceptible” to being infected with Covid-19.

“If we are not vaccinated, every single individual who is not vaccinated, is another naive susceptible individual who then can get infected by those diseases," Lee said.

"To protect yourself, you should get vaccinated and then there’s the other benefit of protecting your loved ones and those around you.”

Lee also said: “It is very important for that reason because even if we have a high vaccination coverage, it does not mean no disease. It is not possible to wipe Covid-19 from the face of the earth. We’re going to see this recurring from time to time, so it is important for that personal protection reason.”

Vaccines work on new strain of Covid-19

Associate Professor Benjamin Ong, senior vice president (Health Education & Resources) at the National University of Singapore (NUS), who was on the programme as well, said the vaccines “probably would still work” on the new B117 strain of Covid-19 that is ravaging parts of the world.

He added that this is being actively tested, but from the mutations that have been studied so far, it seems that the vaccines available now will provide adequate protection.

1610164460891.png

Veiled threat. Not just 'more frequent testing' but probably and assortment of various other... inconveniences. :wink:

Tikam tikam with Sinkies' lives. Bet on more numbers on the roulette table, will surely huat on one lucky number. :biggrin:

Wong added: “We have to make early bets in order for Singapore to be near the front of the queue for vaccines. And that's what is happening today.”

When asked by the interviewer if Singapore was "hedging chances" with its purchases, Wong replied: "Very much so."

Lee also said: “It is very important for that reason because even if we have a high vaccination coverage, it does not mean no disease. It is not possible to wipe Covid-19 from the face of the earth. We’re going to see this recurring from time to time, so it is important for that personal protection reason.”

This is the new normal. So don't expect masks, SafeEntry and Tracetogether to go away anytime soon. :wink:

Being vaccinated is good.
One can travel overseas more often

Veiled threat. Not just 'more frequent testing' but probably and assortment of various other... inconveniences. :wink:

Tikam tikam with Sinkies' lives. Bet on more numbers on the roulette table, will surely huat on one lucky number. :biggrin:

Sinkees take note: You have been put on notice. If "gentle" persuasion don't work and majority still reject vaccine, than fine lor...
They can put me in jail and people will protest aggressively. I hope they dun regret it. It is the people's decision if they want them to sit on the minister's chair. This is also a gentle reminder.

No men and women in the sound mind would want themselves to be vaccinated because they need to go back to work in the office once they are vaccinated and they can never enjoy working at home.

Vaccination clause will be added in future work contract.

Heidi Neckelmann

The love of my life, my husband Gregory Michael MD
an Obstetrician that had his office in Mount Sinai Medical Center in Miami Beach Died the day before yesterday due to a strong reaction to the COVID vaccine.
He was a very healthy 56 year old, loved by everyone in the community delivered hundreds of healthy babies and worked tireless through the pandemic.
He was vaccinated with the Pfizer vaccine at MSMC on December 18, 3 days later he saw a strong set of petechiae on his feet and hands which made him seek attention at the emergency room at MSMC. The CBC that was done at his arrival showed his platelet count to be 0 (A normal platelet count ranges from 150,000 to 450,000 platelets per microliter of blood.) he was admitted in the ICU with a diagnosis of acute ITP caused by a reaction to the COVID vaccine. A team of expert doctors tried for 2 weeks to raise his platelet count to no avail. Experts from all over the country were involved in his care. No matter what they did, the platelets count refused to go up. He was conscious and energetic through the whole process but 2 days before a last resort surgery, he got a hemorrhagic stroke caused by the lack of platelets that took his life in a matter of minutes.
He was a pro vaccine advocate that is why he got it himself.
I believe that people should be aware that side effects can happened, that it is not good for everyone and in this case destroyed a beautiful life, a perfect family, and has affected so many people in the community

Do not let his death be in vain please save more lives by making this information news.

FB_IMG_1610232742994.jpg

A Pro Vaccine Advocate, Doctor, die from covid vaccine complication. How sad!!!

Give out is not take in.

Give out u may give others yr bad blood loaded w viruses. He died not u.

take in it mixed w yr bad blood add one more load of virus to yr body.

vaccine is a type of man made virus too. Virus fight virus, what else?

Vaccine is not vitamin to improve yr immune cells to give extra boost to yr cell, that is protein to use yr own cells to terminate the invader virus cell CV19.

If u inject vaccine is introducing invader cell virus into yr original body cell system.

in technical point of view electronic system. Computer is designed to take protons and electrons cell. Only electrons are mobile elements but not the protons. So much so u can only have electron cells is yr computer system, nothing else.

Therefore, is this vaccine another man-made virus cells to eradicate the CV19 cell.

Questions: since u are inputting new virus cell known as the hideous name vaccine into yr body system, ur immune body cell may match with this vaccine virus and mutuate into another virus cell.

Perhaps it has come to pass that to expedite the depopulation of human process and speed up the progress, the vaccine virus will mutate with yr immune system cells and the UK new strain was created as is...

good luck... we are into it...

Virus to virus don't mutate as is. A cat and a lion don't sex with each other though they are put in category as cat family.

u see, even bacteria won't mutate with virus, right. Different spieces created by God team creators.

virus itself is a component which need input by protients, the energy generators to keep it alive, and it will die from starvation without protients too. So are yr body cells needs the same protients.

So the idea of injecting plasma of another person who has recovered from the virus attack make sense.

Not base on some big lab academic suka suka bottling some concotation to inject to yr body.

Listen to Bill Gate idea of getting lazy people to solve his problems.

he says if he has a problem to solve he find lazy people. Lazy people will find the shortest pathway and methods to solve yr problem becos they hate to take too long to do it. They want to go back to being lazy again state. That is Stateless again.

If u find academics and lawyers to solve problems they will go a big round the moon and sun. They are always not sure of which way to go without destroy their own reputation.

So they start with research, composing and compositioning, trails and errors. Finally they grow nuts to claim for Noble Prize trophy.

Too hard-working people can't beat Lazy people.

ask Bill Gates to find lazy people to solve the virus problem for you.

What's the moral of the story?

Go for plasma injection or lab concotation of new virus from Mr. Academic..

psst.... if u like my bullshit click the like button

Sounds like when I was in the army and was asked by my encik about donating blood. It's not mandatory but those who don't donate blood will do extra guard duty lah...

Those in Singapore who do not want to get the Covid-19 vaccine may require “more frequent testing”, Minister for Education Lawrence Wong said on Jan. 7 in an interview on Talking Point.

Plan for a worry free retirement!
Find out how your saving habits can help you retire early.
Sponsored by Central Provident Fund Board
See more

Wong, who is the co-chair of the Covid-19 multi-ministry task force, said that those who got vaccinated will be on the receiving end of "tangible benefits".

He said: "It may well be that travellers coming back need not serve SHN (stay-home notice) or will serve a shorter SHN."

"So those will be the benefits of getting a vaccination besides the fact that you are protecting yourself and your loved ones."

On the other hand, those who do not get vaccinated will be subjected to a more frequent testing regime.

He added: “There will be these tangible benefits and those who choose not to be vaccinated, well, then you have to live with more frequent tests, you have to live with quarantine, you have to live with all of these other additional requirements.”

Singapore settled for 3 vaccines initially

Wong also explained that picking the vaccine made by the Chinese biopharmaceutical company Sinovac to be used in Singapore was "to make early bets".

The vaccine, named CoronaVac, is one of three to be used here, but it is not widely adopted and no conclusive studies have been conducted on it yet.

Wong said the government convened an expert panel to look at making early purchases of vaccines “as early as April”.

He revealed that the committee and experts narrowed the selection to 35 vaccine candidates, with Moderna, Pfizer-BioNTech and Sinovac chosen eventually.

No clinical data was made available by any vaccine companies early on.

No choosing of vaccines at this point

Asked if people would be allowed to choose their vaccine, Wong said that the Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna vaccines worked similarly.

Efficacy rates were “all about the same” around the world.

"I think at this point in time, we have Pfizer only, there's nothing to choose from. So let's go with Pfizer, get people vaccinated on the Pfizer vaccine,” he added.

He also said some vaccines will not be suitable for some subsections of the population, and choice of vaccine will be calibrated with more data in the future.

Timeline of vaccine acquisition

The first advance purchase agreement with Moderna took place in June, which was secured with a downpayment.

The Sinovac vaccine was bought in August, which was when advance talks were ongoing with Pfizer-BioNTech.

The Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine was approved first in the end.

The call was made by Singapore’s Health Sciences Authority (HSA).

The first shipment of vaccines arrived by the end of December, with other vaccines expected in the next several months.

The first doses of the vaccines were administered to staff at the National Centre for Infectious Diseases (NCID) on Dec. 30, 2020.

Wong said buying other vaccines in the future was Singapore's way "not to make a single bet".

Different vaccines work differently

Broadly, there are two ways the three vaccines work.

The Moderna and Pfizer-BioNTech vaccines use the new messenger RNA (mRNA) technology.

Sinovac is a traditional inactivated virus vaccine.

mRNA vaccines teach cells in the body to make a protein that triggers an immune response inside our bodies, said director of communicable diseases at the Ministry of Health (MOH) Associate Professor Vernon Lee who was one of the interviewees.

Traditional vaccines put a weakened or inactivated germ into the body.

Herd immunity in Singapore

Wong said that even in a post-Covid-19 world, there would be pandemics with more virulent diseases that arise in the future.

“I think rather than thinking about let’s go back to life before Covid, I think we should be thinking now about what are the things that we have done during this period that really ought to be permanently part of our new daily routines,” he added.

“And how can we raise our levels of defences, our levels of protection, our levels of hygiene so that we can be more prepared and more resilient in the future?”

However, with herd immunity, it does not mean everyone is protected.

Lee stressed that individuals who do not get vaccinated are “still susceptible” to being infected with Covid-19.

“If we are not vaccinated, every single individual who is not vaccinated, is another naive susceptible individual who then can get infected by those diseases," Lee said.

"To protect yourself, you should get vaccinated and then there’s the other benefit of protecting your loved ones and those around you.”

Vaccines work on new strain of Covid-19

Associate Professor Benjamin Ong, senior vice president (Health Education & Resources) at the National University of Singapore (NUS), who was on the programme as well, said the vaccines “probably would still work” on the new B117 strain of Covid-19 that is ravaging parts of the world.

He added that this is being actively tested, but from the mutations that have been studied so far, it seems that the vaccines available now will provide adequate protection.

Commentary: This 71-year-old wants you to get a COVID-19 vaccine once you can. Here’s why
A battle with polio, an annual fight with the flu and losing a friend to COVID-19 has made this plea incredibly personal, Irene Hoe says.
Singapore began its COVID-19 vaccination exercise on Dec 30, 2020, with healthcare workers at the National Centre for Infectious Diseases the first to get the shots.Bookmark
SINGAPORE: The general coronavirus conversations my friends and I have, once dominated by where to get toilet paper, moved into which parts of the world were locking down yet again late last year.
Yet soon after news of COVID-19 vaccines obtained approval from health authorities around the world in December, these discussions shifted into the messy business of vaccines and how safe they might be.
With some 150 or so vaccines under development, and just over a handful getting the greenlight, such discussions can jog along for a fair spell.
Then it’s a short hop to the true litmus test of vaccination: Would you be keen to get in line if one was ready?
I can’t remember what nudged me to mention in a WhatsApp group chat some weeks ago that I’d volunteered to be a guinea pig for a local trial and had been turned down. Word spread to at least two other group chats.
Reactions ranged widely from “Thank goodness!” to “Are you insane?” and finally, “You’re just saying it. You can’t be risking your life like that.”
Similar responses have emerged to me saying I would have no hesitation in taking the vaccine when it was my turn.
“You’re really going to get vaccinated? Not scared ah?”
Scared of getting infected with Covid-19? Sure! And why not? For one thing, I’d rather bet on a vaccine than on surviving yet another deadly infection unvaccinated.
Listen to the behind-the-scenes considerations and discussions going into what might be Singapore’s biggest vaccination programme ever on CNA's Heart of the Matter podcast:
THE BATTLE WITH POLIO
I already survived one life-threatening illness in childhood when I had polio in 1960. It left me paralysed on my left side for months and turned much of that year into a blur. For years, those months spent at home, mostly in bed, haunted me.
At Youngberg Hospital, our family doctor, Dr G H Coffin, told my mother that western medicine could do nothing more for me. Polio had already left his own daughter with one leg much shorter than the other.
READ: Commentary: Here’s why taking the vaccine is necessary even if it’s optional

Dr Coffin, who was fluent in Cantonese, suggested that Mum take me to our family sinseh (doctor) but come back to Youngberg every few months so he could see how I was doing.
Polio was life-changing. I had fallen ill after ballet class, After I recovered, I tried to go back but found not only did I fall over each time I tried to pirouette on my left leg, I couldn’t even go on point.
My left foot also stopped growing and by adulthood, reached nearly two sizes smaller than the right.
If only I'd been vaccinated, I thought when I later read about the Salk vaccine which came into use in 1955. It was available in Singapore in 1960 but nobody my family knew had braved the injection.
A boy gets his finger marked, after he is administered polio vaccine drops, during an anti-polio campaign, in a low-income neighbourhood in Karachi, Pakistan on Jul 20, 2020. (Photo: REUTERS/Akhtar Soomro)
Most people here at the time were probably vaccine sceptics before the term was invented.
It was different with the BCG vaccination against tuberculosis (TB) which the government rolled out nationwide from 1957. In school, we all lined up to have it.
In 1972, the Singapore Medical Journal records that TB occurred in just five per 100,000 population among those vaccinated, compared with 37 per 100,000 for those who were not.
Ultimately, the impact of polio on me was greater psychologically than physically. Apart from it killing any dreams I had of a ballet career, it made my mother overly protective of me.
READ: Commentary: Is behaving with social responsibility during a pandemic so hard?

When I had had difficulty resuming ballet classes, she let me quit. She actively discouraged me from all sport. The slightest sniffle was reason enough to whip out the Vicks Vaporub.
THE FLU IS A DREADED ANNUAL FIGHT
Had I been vaccinated earlier, perhaps my life might have turned out differently.
This attitude towards vaccination, mixed with regret and what-could-have-been, has been reinforced in a different way in our modern society.
As a journalist working in a packed newsroom in the 1990s, each time the flu visited the newsroom, it would cuddle up to me.
The first shipment of COVID-19 vaccines arriving in Singapore on Dec 21, 2020. (Photo: Ministry of Communications and Information)
I had the good fortune to be referred to a respiratory medicine specialist who told me I needed to be vaccinated every year against both the flu and pneumonia. Frequent bouts of flu, coupled with asthma, were affecting the functioning of my lungs.
Unsurprisingly, the mostly flu-free years since have undoubtedly made me even more pro-vaccination.
THE DEATH OF A FRIEND
As if I had needed any more persuasion, came news of the death in Las Vegas, Nevada, of a long-time friend. CH and I had been schoolmates in Singapore in the 1960s and members of the school’s glee club.
She was an extrovert who loved to sing and once took part in the Radio Television Singapore’s Talentime competition. For a few years, she was also my travel agent.
She emigrated to the US and remarried but came home regularly and would always get in touch. The last time we had dinner with her was less than a year ago.
Her husband said in a text message that she had become ill after going on a short trip with him within the US, neither of them wearing a mask. On their return, she felt unwell. She was admitted to hospital on Dec 12.
And just like that, she was gone; her light extinguished.
READ: Commentary: Phase 3 will bring us much-needed closure to a difficult year
HIGH RISK GROUP
The most important reason that I want to be vaccinated is not that I am in the high-risk group. Indeed, I am overweight and diabetic. And I am 71.
These three factors put me at risk of becoming severely ill should I get infected.
But even worse would be the danger I pose to my three older sisters, other family members and friends whom I meet regularly.
Among these, there are four reasons that outweigh everything else: My grandnephew, two grandnieces, and my godson’s little boy.
As new and more infectious variants emerge, I cannot bear the thought that I might somehow become infected and pass it on to them, despite all the precautions.
So since shortly after the pandemic reached Singapore, I have barely hugged my “grandees” and have seen my godson’s toddler only in photographs.
For me, that’s reason enough to want a vaccination.

I am more worried about the fact the ah tiong vaccine will be used. Unlike the yanks..the tiongs data is even more unreliable and even the tiongs will not want to use it.

Watch this video at the 3 minute mark...the lists of side effects covered up by the tiongs