• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Single Mother

Well done. :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :whistling::whistling::whistling::whistling:

Why get into 10 hrs a day good retail biz?

Go into high tech medical equipment to make doctors carry debt.

I sold one used scanner machine for $100k to a kiasu dumb doctor...

This the kind of biz to get into, no worries about manpower, stocks, theft, and so on.

I not rich enough to have that kind of business. Also I don't want anything to do with medicine.

If do anything related to medicine even MLM vitamins supplements always end up I am the one doing it.

Want my wife and kids to do something they like too.

I think it is good experience for my kids now aged 19 and 18 to manage the shop. Even the 13 year old son also starting to get interested in working there.

Something whole family can get involved in. Not so much about making big money or anything but the experience. Learn.

OK.

Why wld u think of getting into food retail biz?

Long hours. Must stock up, prepare ingredients in the early morning, then clean up stall into the evening.

And must do 周末 weekends, and for yr age abit late to get into this type of biz...

I not rich enough to have that kind of business. Also I don't want anything to do with medicine.

OK.

Why wld u think of getting into food retail biz?

Long hours. Must stock up, prepare ingredients in the early morning, then clean up stall into the evening.

And must do 周末 weekends, and for yr age abit late to get into this type of biz...

We thought it would be relatively simple to run a bubble tea shop.

Actually now that we are getting used to it, it isnt that hard. Not rocket science.

Yes quite long hours. Wife goes in at 1030am to start cooking and preparing. Shop opens 12pm to 8pm. Usually back by 9pm.

We are hiring more part timers to help out on weekends so we have a break.

Doesn't make much money but I pay the kids. Essentially it is like I bought a job for the family members.

Wife and kids seem to be having fun.

4 year lease and franchise agreement. After 4 years maybe we sell it liao.

But it is totally true what people say F&B really slogging man.......

We learned quite a few things. Reading contracts, how commercial leasing works (different from residential leasing). How to apply for the various permits etc.

My daughter is working on marketing using Instagram etc.

More the experience lah. I think is good for my kids aged 19 and 18 now to start getting experience. Daughter interviewing people hiring training and firing.

Ok lah. Don't lose money I happy lah.

If they like it is OK. If half way say quit, then shits start to fall.

At this age she be in uni taking valued courses prepare for better jobs with prospect of getting hitch to uni grads.

They have no F&B work experiences just buy one biz a bit too quick. If they are busy and biz good, one of them have biz luck.

If whole day sit there shake legs no sales means no biz luck. That's it.

Why yr girls are not going to uni? Buay tak cheh cant study type is it?

We thought it would be relatively simple to run a bubble tea shop.

Actually now that we are getting used to it, it isnt that hard. Not rocket science.

Yes quite long hours. Wife goes in at 1030am to start cooking and preparing. Shop opens 12pm to 8pm. Usually back by 9pm.

We are hiring more part timers to help out on weekends so we have a break.

Doesn't make much money but I pay the kids. Essentially it is like I bought a job for the family members.

Wife and kids seem to be having fun.

4 year lease and franchise agreement. After 4 years maybe we sell it liao.

But it is totally true what people say F&B really slogging man.......

We learned quite a few things. Reading contracts, how commercial leasing works (different from residential leasing). How to apply for the various permits etc.

My daughter is working on marketing using Instagram etc.

More the experience lah. I think is good for my kids aged 19 and 18 now to start getting experience. Daughter interviewing people hiring training and firing.

Ok lah. Don't lose money I happy lah.

Tan....what I do wrong now?

I still doctor lah. Still doing telemedicine for cannabis patients.

But I bought over a gong cha shop for my wife and kids to run. I also learned how to do the cooking of Pearls and tea. Make the waffle batter milk foam dalgona coffee foam aiyu jelly grass jelly and
Pudding .

Also make drinks. Got to memorize all the steps how much syrup from the machine, fruit syrup in cc fresh milk water tea and ice milk foam taro powder matcha powder creamer how many
Spoons etc.

Although I only help at the shop on weekends so I not as good as my kids at making drinks.

No fake. Just working very hard. That's why posting less at SBF. Too busy.

View attachment 91489
i truly admire your wife. she’s not only resourceful, gutsy, helpful, but also entrepreneurial. a bubble tea shop in and out of a pandemic can make lots of money. i’m a kopi lover but will occasionally have a large cup of bubble tea delivered to the doorstep. for $6.9 it’s affordable with delivery included. my favorite is taro tea with chunks of taro. yummy! if i’ve fallen for it i believe countless others are drinking bubble tea too, and more so when they’re spending more time indoors doing their emails and zoom.

I have no idea what's your objective or agenda. But the least you can do, I hope, is to write plain simple English. Writing in bombastic English doesn't make you a better individual than any of us here.
Why feel inferior be cause of your poor English? :thumbsdown:

i truly admire your wife. she’s not only resourceful, gutsy, helpful, but also entrepreneurial. a bubble tea shop in and out of a pandemic can make lots of money. i’m a kopi lover but will occasionally have a large cup of bubble tea delivered to the doorstep. for $6.9 it’s affordable with delivery included. my favorite is taro tea with chunks of taro. yummy! if i’ve fallen for it i believe countless others are drinking bubble tea too, and more so when they’re spending more time indoors doing their emails and zoom.

Yeah it was my wife's idea to look at possibly buying a business during the pandemic. Opportunities. Many empty retail spaces for lease we saw.

In the end we opted to buy over an existing shop. Almost turnkey operations except for the staffing. makes it easier already. I can't imagine if we had to find the space, convince landlord to lease to newbies like us, then design and renovate (more $$$) buy the equipment (ship from Taiwan) and all the other work to setup.

yes the bubble tea craze is only just starting among the ang mohs. My shop clients are mostly ang mohs cos of our location.

Gong Cha pricing is very reasonable. Most of our large drinks at $5.50 some come with the Black pearl toppings and other toppings included in the pricing.

We do Door Dash orders so the Door Dashers come and pick up and deliver also.

I think people need their small comforts and treats even during pandemic and tough times. A cup of bubble tea is relatively affordable compared to other things.

F&B businesses which are take away have been doing well. Those sit down and dine in ones are the ones in trouble. People still want to eat and drink. Have their food and drink prepared for them fresh. This one no technology at present will change that. Maybe the delivery and purchasing options but the actual product still there.

You can't have nice bubble tea from a supermarket pre-packaged.

Gong Cha Taro Milk tea we use 2 cubes of Taro for medium and 3 cubes of Taro chunk for large cup and we blend it in the blender.

yes the bubble tea craze is only just starting among the ang mohs. My shop clients are mostly ang mohs cos of our location.

Gong Cha pricing is very reasonable. Most of our large drinks at $5.50 some come with the Black pearl toppings and other toppings included in the pricing.

I think people need their small comforts and treats even during pandemic and tough times. A cup of bubble tea is relatively affordable compared to other things.

F&B businesses which are take away have been doing well. Those sit down and dine in ones are the ones in trouble. People still want to eat and drink. Have their food and drink prepared for them fresh. This one no technology at present will change that. Maybe the delivery and purchasing options but the actual product still there.

Gong Cha Taro Milk tea we use 2 cubes of Taro for medium and 3 cubes of Taro chunk for large cup and we blend it in the blender.
at first i assume bubble tea is a chink thing, but i’m wrong. it’s sextremely popular among angmohs, especially the younger folks. and they know their bubble teas well. can talk about their favorite flavors until cows cum home.

Most ang mo love chink food and cuisine! A normal dim sum restaurant in aus and u can see it would be crowded with ang mo!

Near uni is a good place as it appeals to millennium kids.

Good luck and best wishes...

Both older kids in uni. Daughter studying business 2nd year. She dropped out of biomedical halfway 1st year. Son is engineering 1st year.

Got business. I got advice from @nightsafari how to assess the F&B business before buying. Monday and Tuesdays tend to be slower. Rest of the week is pretty good.

It is next to the University. So we saw this as an opportunity. If not for covid19 they wouldnt sell. And we enquired in June/July when they were very anxious. Owners own 2 other shops besides the one they sold to us. So they stretched quite thin. Also with staffing. Trudeau give free money to students as long as they DO NOT WORK. So they have problem finding people to work.

Hope we lucky. When the covid19 blow over then the university reopen for on campus lessons then our biz will really be very busy liao. Even now already good enough. So got potential lah.

Yeah it was my wife's idea to look at possibly buying a business during the pandemic. Opportunities. Many empty retail spaces for lease we saw.

In the end we opted to buy over an existing shop. Almost turnkey operations except for the staffing. makes it easier already. I can't imagine if we had to find the space, convince landlord to lease to newbies like us, then design and renovate (more $$$) buy the equipment (ship from Taiwan) and all the other work to setup.

Pls bring back those bikini bubble tea gals doing bubble tea biz! Back in the days, I remember there are bubble tea asking gals to wear bikini and make and sell bubble tea and shake their boobs while shaking the bubbletea! But now no more!

Put some opium in it. Get them hooked with opium. Must revenge chao angmoh 报仇雪恨...

Yes the younger generation. Teens and those in early 20s. My kids generation.

Starting to catch on slowly.

Near uni is a good place as it appeals to millennium kids.

Good luck and best wishes...

Thank you. I appreciate it.

So far our current clients are people coming from the south of calgary. Residential.

Actually it isn't just the university near us, there is business park but many are working from home. So location wise it is pretty good if not for covid19. If not for covid19 the owners wouldn't sell this location.

Thank you. I appreciate it.

So far our current clients are people coming from the south of calgary. Residential.

Actually it isn't just the university near us, there is business park but many are working from home. So location wise it is pretty good if not for covid19. If not for covid19 the owners wouldn't sell this location.
Congrats! And may your business prosper and you open up many more outlets:thumbsup:

Pls bring back those bikini bubble tea gals doing bubble tea biz! Back in the days, I remember there are bubble tea asking gals to wear bikini and make and sell bubble tea and shake their boobs while shaking the bubbletea! But now no more!

Gong Cha is franchise. They won't allow it. And I also don't want to do that sort of cheap gimmick.

In every crisis, bound to have opportunities. A week ago I met my friend who’s an okt in Geylang.

Told me Tak boleh tahan Liao. Thinking of ‘selling’ his okt business like many others in his profession. Been paying rental without doing biz.

So, in addition to hang flower joints and KTVs, now even OKTs want to sell their biz. I may venture into the okt biz. But need a suitable name to be ‘licensee.’