The problem is not the PAP. It is sinkies themselves.
We have been talking about the same issues since 2004. The problems have only gotten worse.
The ones who cannot stand the sinkies have migrated. Withdrawn all their CPF.
There are those who are so atas they cannot bring themselves to leave all these riches and continued influx of wealth behind. So they stay and collect. Meanwhile spend most of their time away from the typical sinkies dining in atas places out of reach of the sinkies and travel a lot to get away from sinkies too.
Meanwhile every election the sinkies vote the PAP who must be scratching their heads. Do the sinkies really want what we are doing? The answer is a resounding YES!
PAP is merely giving sinkies what they want. I think the average sinkie aspires to be like the elite Singaporeans. It is the dream. Hence they still vote for it.
But during the process of fighting to get their dream (many will never succeed of course) they will kpkb.
Eventually Singapore will implode. No question about it.
Agree and I can't oppose your statement.
People have choice, no matter due to what reason.
For those decide to pull out and move somewhere else I wish them find their utopia.
For those keep silent and stay I doubt they are all lamb.
2004 may not flip the situation, 2020/2021 may as pressure is building up and PAP mistakes and incompetent is getting clearer.
We need to have calibre of Mr. Lee KY, Chiam See Tong and Low Thia Khiang (please exclude chee soon juan and similar).
no matter they are present PAP or opposition, we need leader whom understand the ground so that policy and consideration is about people, not totally on foreign policy, purely base on GDP and always state that citizen has to sacrifice for Singapore, we are no longer a fishing village and we are no longer farmer and fisherman like Mr.Lee KY times.
How can a leader drawing extreme high salary convince commoner to give their best for the nation ? especially when they introduce india, vietnam, philippine....degree holder to compete with Singaporean for salary between usd-1500 to usd-4500.oo. our Singapore university standard compare with indian and philippine university, polytechnic and ITE ?
Honestly, I walk the construction site, meet these india, Philippine engineer, project manager....99% is not efficient and competent.
I conduct business in Hong Kong and Macau, you don't see india, philippine engineer, project manager all over the place.
our MPs is not walking on the ground, they just sit in their office and push paper, even for those attend official in oversea is also not open their eye to the ground.
I start to apply payment via mobile apps in China starting from 2014, but our MPs and PM only find out such cashless transaction in 2017.
Singapore is a follower even until now, if we have such world class infrastructure and so much reserved but the leader only wish Singaporean to be follower.
When we are fishing village, yes we need to learn and follow to learn best practice and learn from the advance nation.
How can Singaporean excel if the leader themselves only willing to follow behind other nation (look at how the 4G/5G leader handle the COVID-19, stating WOH directive in Feb-2020 that mask is not necessary unless you are unwell). If all Singapore has to do is to follow international directive from financial, foreign policy, trade do we need all these high salary MPs ?
Singaporean has been sound and not as mindless as Hong Kong youngster, but that doesn't mean we are lamb forever, and for changes its not necessary we must have blood and chaos. Why must we play the game of the present high salary leader ? if there are no opposition for the ward, that doesn't mean the voter agree with the non-competent PAP candidate. Voter should allow to reject non-competent candidate and Singaporean should allow to reject high salary for MPs.
for our present citizen and for our future generation, Singaporean should stand together (regardless of race and religious, beware PAP adopt divide and concur tactics).
one citizen is not able to change, 10-citizen is not able to be heard, 1000-citizen may not seems much, hundred thousand-citizen should be heard.
for the common goal of rejecting high-salary and non-competent MPs, Singaporean.....if we don;t stand united for this, than it basically spell the end of Singapore.