Size mattersDelusional or in in denial.
How can a hdb flat be better than a condo?
Size mattersDelusional or in in denial.
She looks fine and dandy to me. Its your loss.Must thank profusely the old geriatric angmo for taking another fuggly SPG out of the market......
Are the HDB in east coast small?
Most likely the ang mor is trying to preserve capital or trying to make a quick buck of his condo. Or he cant service the loan. If he is a true foreign talent . With his business doing well. He would be upgrading to a bigger condo or proper landed property. He says he used to stay east coast. N bought the new place cause of the cycling tracks...east coast is just next to existing cycling tracks. His story has more holes than a sieve.
she has a good set of teeth, better than most ministars who are paid millions but are misers with dental appearance and hygiene.She looks fine and dandy to me. Its your loss.
With regards to location. East coast is definitely a better place than simei. In addition East coast is one of the crown jewels of the pap. No matter what pap will make sure that it is a good n nice place to live. So buy in east coast cannot go wrongHDB around Marine Parade were built in late 70s early 80s, a mix bag of one room rental flats as well as those 3 or 4 room flats. The 4-room flats are easily 1000 or 1100 square feet, still decent with a squarish layout.
need to add that those at Marine Crescent are newer compared to those at Marine Terrace Blk 1, 2, 3.
With regards to location. East coast is definitely a better place than simei.
In terms of livability. East Coast definitely better than Simei. And as u say old flats are bigger. If this ang mor is really a real foreign talent. He could buy the bigger older condo like mandarin gardens. Its build in the 80s so still got alot of lease years. Enbloc potential is high as it has been approved. It's a well built place unlike modern day tofu constructions. The price is lower than b4 as en bloc failed . So for a foreign talent that is after space...cycling etc and buying simei sounds fishy to meFlats in Simei were built predominantly in the late 80s and into the 90s.
One of those rare times when flats were deliberately designed larger after successful launches of those executive and massionette in the late 80s around Tampines area.
Condos around East Coast has a mix bag of old and new, from Neptune Court to Silver Sea. The old ones are still larger in floor area, the newer ones really moh ngan tai... folks with claustrophobia should avoid new developments at all costs.
He says the place is small..n mandarin gardens is big..and lets say for argument sake he live in the small mandarin gardens apt. Even if there is one...he soo atas..can always buy the bigger mandarin gardens apartment. Move to simei n better than simei? Who the shit will believe?Then I think the AMDK is trying to preserve capital.
With a minimart within the condo, panoramic view... sounds like Mandarin Gardens?
How the hell can he be a "biking enthusiast"? He's a fat slob with pasty skin. Folks who bike are trim, fit and tan, just like me. Plus I am good looking too.An Unlikely Upgrade
23 April 2020 • 3 mins read
![]()
Most homeowners would consider the move from a condo to an HDB flat as a downgrade, given the luxuries associated with condo living. But for New Zealander Michael Lyons, the opposite is true.
Michael, 61, is the founder and CEO of Recovery Systems. Along with his wife, Gladys, they ‘downgraded’ from a condo to a five-room resale HDB flat.
The result? A five-room HDB flat at Simei offering plenty of space and convenience.
Now, not only has he set up a comfortable home office that fuels his creativity, but their flat is also a stone’s throw away from popular cycling routes — a major plus point for the biking enthusiast.
Facilities vs space
The couple previously lived in a condo near the East Coast which offered panoramic views of the ocean. It also has a minimart, pool, and gym facilities.
Read: Of Long Walks And Deep Talks - 8 Neighbourhoods With The Most Romantic Settings
However, apart from the amenities, the apartment wasn’t spacious enough for the couple. “I run a business in sports and medical recovery, selling compression wear,” explains Michael. “While we have external warehousing in Changi South, a home office that is spacious enough is important for me as well.”
According to Michael, the previous home office was a quarter of the size of his current one, so he and Gladys would “fall over each other” when they were inside. As such, the couple decided that a bigger property was necessary.
An online property search: The Perfect Solution
Although the search for a bigger home took around four to five months, it was all smooth-sailing because they already knew what they wanted.
Gladys had previously purchased a property using PropertyGuru, as Michael explains, “We let our fingers do the walking for us − in other words, lots of online research through PropertyGuru.” Given past experience, “she already knew that she wanted a quality unit on a high floor, and which areas in Singapore she preferred to stay at.”
“We knew what we were prepared to spend on renovations as well, because we already had quotes and general guidelines.”
Space is the place
Though Michael and Gladys gave up the benefits of condo living, they’ve enjoyed the conveniences of their HDB estate in Simei.
Unlike their previous neighbourhood, they’re now much closer to the Simei MRT station, with a shopping mall in the vicinity too.
“The longer I’ve been here, the more ‘local’ I think I’m becoming,” laughs Michael. “I always joke with my local friends, saying “I'm very Singaporean one ah. I own a condo and live in an HDB flat!”
Read: How Can I Own An HDB Flat And A Condo At The Same Time?
As a biking enthusiast with three national titles, Michael is also thankful that his home is close to popular cycling routes like Tanah Merah Coastal Road. For him, biking offers a healthy dose of sunshine, exercise and serves as a mental reset after a long day’s work.
A great space to work and relax
Luckily for Michael and Gladys, the $580,000 resale flat was in good condition and didn't require major renovations when they moved in.
“We did refresh the kitchen and floors plus a new paint job,” Michael recalls. “But structurally, we didn't have to do too much.”
With a bigger home workspace, Michael finds it easier to run creative meetings. He’s even got a studio for hosting podcasts to promote his business. Interviews are conducted with athletes such as ultra runners, triathletes and MMA fighters.
“There’s also a nice space behind the sofa where I can run meetings, or let customers come and try out a product,” says Michael.
When it comes to relaxation, the bedroom is Michael’s favourite spot in the home. “Gladys and I have been chilling in the bedroom a lot lately,” says Michael. “It sounds very romantic, but I assure you it’s only 2% romantic!”
Read: Stay home, stay healthy & happy - Keep cabin fever at bay with these activities
The bedroom has been a good place for them to escape, given that Gladys’s parents have been living with them the past month. Holing up in the bedroom, they’ve been indulging in Korean drama marathons and other movies.
“We love that the bedrooms are way bigger than those in my previous property,” says Michael. “There’s tons of room to walk around, and you feel an immediate sense of relaxation when entering such a spacious environment.”
https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/An-Unlikely-Upgrade-26163
hanor, but the only drawback is that this spg doesn't have extra fingers - either to facilitate the keyboard warrior in her or to crack eggshellsshe has a good set of teeth, better than most ministars who are paid millions but are misers with dental appearance and hygiene.![]()
Delusional or in in denial.
You're referring to Pinky Ahqua LHL?Inherited wealth without street smarts will be lost in a single generation.
maybe cannot tahan the smell at mumbai gardens...In terms of livability. East Coast definitely better than Simei. And as u say old flats are bigger. If this ang mor is really a real foreign talent. He could buy the bigger older condo like mandarin gardens. Its build in the 80s so still got alot of lease years. Enbloc potential is high as it has been approved. It's a well built place unlike modern day tofu constructions. The price is lower than b4 as en bloc failed . So for a foreign talent that is after space...cycling etc and buying simei sounds fishy to me
Not true. There are lots of strong cyclists who are fat blobs, rolling around 40kmh. The MAMIL word did not get coined without a good reason.How the hell can he be a "biking enthusiast"? He's a fat slob with pasty skin. Folks who bike are trim, fit and tan, just like me. Plus I am good looking too.
FYI, MAMIL is not a complimentary term hor. I know it is middle aged man in lycra. But it's also a play on MAMMAL (see the resemblance?). And how do you know they are "strong cyclists"?Not true. There are lots of strong cyclists who are fat blobs, rolling around 40kmh. The MAMIL word did not get coined without a good reason.