• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cock-Up SAF

ckmpd

SAF company at war...

Act 1 Scene 1

CO (Cpt): Guys, We've just received orders bombard Johor Bahru into wasteland ghost town. And the supply of 20 grenades just arrived.

PC (LTA): Sure or not? 20 grenades not even enough to cleanup Taman Pelangi...

CO (Cpt): I don't care how you do it, just do it.

Act 1 Scene 2

PC (LTA): Guys, We've just received orders bombard Johor Bahru into wasteland ghost town. And the supply of 20 grenades just arrived.

PS (Sgt): Sure or not? 20 grenades not even enough to cleanup Taman Pelangi...

PC (LTA): I don't care how you do it, just do it.

Act 1 Scene 3

PS (Sgt): Guys, We've just received orders bombard Johor Bahru in to wasteland ghost town. And the supply of 20 grenades just arrived.

SL (Cpl): Sure or not? 20 grenades not even enough to cleanup Taman Pelangi...

PS (Sgt): I don't care how you do it, just do it.

Act 1 Scene 4

A scene of corpses of SAF soldiers strewn along the streets of Johor Bahru, not even reaching Taman Pelangi.

Act 2 Scene 1

Sg PM (TV broadcast from a secret bunker in Brunei): Our soldiers fought a brave battle. Let's not let them die in vain. Let's fight on.

Hahaha. A good one. Imaginative indeed

ckmpd

Dear threadstarter,

I find it almost amusing that you'd want to raise such a petty topic in an online forum. It also seems you do not know the real army. Either you're a new immigrant or a woman.

If your intention is to make the SAF look bad, know that everyone has always dissed the army since the beginning of local forums - your complaint is a drop in a big ocean.

If you want a solution, just ask your son to take MC outside on the AOH day. What a no-brainer! Even a school dropout ah beng knows how to do this.

hahaha. maybe to you it's a petty issue. but the issue bothers me enough for me to raise it at kopitiam talk.

taking MC may solve his problem. but that's not the issue. the issue is to highlight how cock-up the SAF is.

looks like you are too naive and immature to see the bigger picture

DerekDear

hahaha. very true

but is this a professional army that SAF tries to project?

You sound like TracyTan who eons ago tried to bring up the same issues about her "brother" in the SAF. Its only a goddamn duty - do it, or fcuk off :oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

DerekDear

SAF company at war...

Act 1 Scene 1

CO (Cpt): Guys, We've just received orders bombard Johor Bahru into wasteland ghost town. And the supply of 20 grenades just arrived.

PC (LTA): Sure or not? 20 grenades not even enough to cleanup Taman Pelangi...

CO (Cpt): I don't care how you do it, just do it.

Act 1 Scene 2

PC (LTA): Guys, We've just received orders bombard Johor Bahru into wasteland ghost town. And the supply of 20 grenades just arrived.

PS (Sgt): Sure or not? 20 grenades not even enough to cleanup Taman Pelangi...

PC (LTA): I don't care how you do it, just do it.

Act 1 Scene 3

PS (Sgt): Guys, We've just received orders bombard Johor Bahru in to wasteland ghost town. And the supply of 20 grenades just arrived.

SL (Cpl): Sure or not? 20 grenades not even enough to cleanup Taman Pelangi...

PS (Sgt): I don't care how you do it, just do it.

Act 1 Scene 4

A scene of corpses of SAF soldiers strewn along the streets of Johor Bahru, not even reaching Taman Pelangi.

Act 2 Scene 1

Sg PM (TV broadcast from a secret bunker in Brunei): Our soldiers fought a brave battle. Let's not let them die in vain. Let's fight on.

Eh friend, the amount of firepower an SAF company has.... is quite lot. You can even hold down Manila for a week. What is worrying is that crybabies holding these weapons must comprain to the mother, who in turn, comprain here....with good weapons but guniangs holding them, cannot even takeover pulau ubin for 3 days.

:oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

ckmpd

You sound like TracyTan who eons ago tried to bring up the same issues about her "brother" in the SAF. Its only a goddamn duty - do it, or fcuk off :oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

Do you think that was a cock-up?

It's SAF's damn duty to be reasonable and take reasonable care of its people

ckmpd

Eh friend, the amount of firepower an SAF company has.... is quite lot. You can even hold down Manila for a week. What is worrying is that crybabies holding these weapons must comprain to the mother, who in turn, comprain here....with good weapons but guniangs holding them, cannot even takeover pulau ubin for 3 days.

:oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

hahahaha.

with enough firepower but with cock-up organisation and supervisors who mistreat NSFs, the SAF is doomed

DerekDear

Its not just the SAF but the whole fcuking new generation in Singapore in general. *boomz* its about me! You cunt find your leopard prince for AOH duty, that's your porblem. What you may like to worry is these spoilt brat scholar commanders are going to be your son's employers next time... in banks, elsewhere in the private sector... hahhahaa....

:p

ckmpd

Its not just the SAF but the whole fcuking new generation in Singapore in general. *boomz* its about me! You cunt find your leopard prince for AOH duty, that's your porblem. What you may like to worry is these spoilt brat scholar commanders are going to be your son's employers next time... in banks, elsewhere in the private sector... hahhahaa....

:p

nahh. you are wrong. my son, unlike you, has choices. he is not going to work for what you called "scholar commanders". in fact, they may work for my son in civilian life. hahaha.

DerekDear

nahh. you are wrong. my son, unlike you, has choices. he is not going to work for what you called "scholar commanders". in fact, they may work for my son in civilian life. hahaha.

That's a blunt assumption that I don't have choices. My neighbour was a top hand surgeon at NUH (and his wife was an obstetrician) before he left Singapore and now owns one of the largest beef export companies to asia. Its an example of "cream rising to the top". Good luck with you and your son's life in Singapore. I wish you all the very best. You'll reflect back years later that this no.4 issue is pretty damn small

Anyway MINDEF has an intel officer trawling these forums daily. If your son has ORDed and will even become some towkay, name the unit that cock-up and hope that officer picks this thread up & bothers to report it.

HTOLAS

Nothing I'm going to say has not been said - I only hope to distill it into one post so that it sheds a bit of light.
  • First, all else being equal, it is completely rational to issue the new uniforms to new soldiers rather than those on the verge of ORD. Indeed, to avoid waste, the SAF should exhaust all ex stock before issuing new ones.
  • Second, it is not surprising that for an event like AOH, the SAF would want to project an image of uniformity, hence the need for the new uniform.
  • It is also not surprising that the officer i/c would say something like you got to get it 'by hook or by crook'. Such 'unreasonableness' doesn't only happen in the SAF - it is the shared responsibility of everyone in an organisation to contribute to its success - this is not ill-treatment.
  • Fourth, it is up to the soldier to communicate these requirements to the equipping officer and tell him of the consequences. He can also begin to scout around from platoon-mates, etc, which I note this soldier has done to an extent. I stress that such things do not happen only in the SAF - you are required to show initiative everywhere else.
  • Also, I am very concerned that this soldier's mother should interfere with something he should have learnt to do himself. I hope this is not the norm among our young. And I seriously think that the state is at least partly responsible for this because it has been trying to control every aspect of our people's lives, leading to the attitude of 'if you want us to do, do it for us'.
  • Finally, all this can happen simply because NS is compulsory and we find every opportunity to complain, which is understandable. But what we musn't allow ourselves to do is get into the mindset that because we didn't ask to do something we can refuse to take responsibility. This is because everything we do comprises parts we like and parts we don't - we cannot micro-cherry-pick our way through life.

ckmpd

That's a blunt assumption that I don't have choices. My neighbour was a top hand surgeon at NUH (and his wife was an obstetrician) before he left Singapore and now owns one of the largest beef export companies to asia. Its an example of "cream rising to the top". Good luck with you and your son's life in Singapore. I wish you all the very best. You'll reflect back years later that this no.4 issue is pretty damn small

Anyway MINDEF has an intel officer trawling these forums daily. If your son has ORDed and will even become some towkay, name the unit that cock-up and hope that officer picks this thread up & bothers to report it.

hahaha. if you have choices, you wont have made such "cock sure" statement that all sons have to work for your "scholar commanders". that statement from you shows that you are from poor breed who have no choice but to kowtow to your "scholar commanders".

ckmpd

Nothing I'm going to say has not been said - I only hope to distill it into one post so that it sheds a bit of light.
  • First, all else being equal, it is completely rational to issue the new uniforms to new soldiers rather than those on the verge of ORD. Indeed, to avoid waste, the SAF should exhaust all ex stock before issuing new ones.
  • Second, it is not surprising that for an event like AOH, the SAF would want to project an image of uniformity, hence the need for the new uniform.
  • It is also not surprising that the officer i/c would say something like you got to get it 'by hook or by crook'. Such 'unreasonableness' doesn't only happen in the SAF - it is the shared responsibility of everyone in an organisation to contribute to its success - this is not ill-treatment.
  • Fourth, it is up to the soldier to communicate these requirements to the equipping officer and tell him of the consequences. He can also begin to scout around from platoon-mates, etc, which I note this soldier has done to an extent. I stress that such things do not happen only in the SAF - you are required to show initiative everywhere else.
  • Also, I am very concerned that this soldier's mother should interfere with something he should have learnt to do himself. I hope this is not the norm among our young. And I seriously think that the state is at least partly responsible for this because it has been trying to control every aspect of our people's lives, leading to the attitude of 'if you want us to do, do it for us'.
  • Finally, all this can happen simply because NS is compulsory and we find every opportunity to complain, which is understandable. But what we musn't allow ourselves to do is get into the mindset that because we didn't ask to do something we can refuse to take responsibility. This is because everything we do comprises parts we like and parts we don't - we cannot micro-cherry-pick our way through life.

what you said is very rational. the SAF must win the NSFs' hearts. but to say "by hook or by crook, get it done", knowing that there is no new No4 anywhere is irrational. could any of the two SAF supervisors break this chain of irrationality?

DerekDear

hahaha. if you have choices, you wont have made such "cock sure" statement that all sons have to work for your "scholar commanders". that statement from you shows that you are from poor breed who have no choice but to kowtow to your "scholar commanders".

definitely. I had no choice. even after a scholarship and degree from Harvard, still "cannot make it" in Singapore. That's why I'm a quitter. Moved overseas, have a humbler job, but happy with a huge house with a lawn and swimming pool.... quitter, poor breed, whatever :smile:

Poor breed? I'm not going to retaliate with name-calling. It's a little too "Poor Breed" to call another person names in a forum. Hahahaha... go scroll back and see what many readers think of you and your son. Have a lovely day in Singapore, I'm heading to bed

:wink:

ckmpd

definitely. I had no choice. even after a scholarship and degree from Harvard, still "cannot make it" in Singapore. That's why I'm a quitter. Moved overseas, have a humbler job, but happy with a huge house with a lawn and swimming pool.... quitter, poor breed, whatever :smile:

Poor breed? I'm not going to retaliate with name-calling. It's a little too "Poor Breed" to call another person names in a forum. Hahahaha... go scroll back and see what many readers think of you and your son. Have a lovely day in Singapore, I'm heading to bed

:wink:

hahaha. good that you realise where you stand now. this was a perfectly fine thread until you came in with your condescending and judgemental attitude, without knowing the full facts.

the less we hear from you, the better the world..

Privpho

what you said is very rational. the SAF must win the NSFs' hearts. but to say "by hook or by crook, get it done", knowing that there is no new No4 anywhere is irrational. could any of the two SAF supervisors break this chain of irrationality?

The SAF's duty is to protect the territorial integrity of Singapore. It was definitely not formed to "be reasonable and take reasonable care of its people." :oIo:

Win the NSFs' hearts? If war breaks out, I certainly hope that the SAF can focus on winning the war than on such a trivial and laughable concern. :oIo:

ckmpd

The SAF's duty is to protect the territorial integrity of Singapore. It was definitely not formed to "be reasonable and take reasonable care of its people." :oIo:

Win the NSFs' hearts? If war breaks out, I certainly hope that the SAF can focus on winning the war than on such a trivial and laughable concern. :oIo:

LOLLL...You mean the SAF hopes to win the war and thinks that it can do so without winning the NSFs and NSmen's hearts?

No wonder, everyone I know says that the SAF is cock-up.

scoobyhoo

in my days, when i mentioned those materials shorted for exercise, my commander usually told me: "go and kapo lah".

if no new uniform, just wear the one that you have. they will sure to give one to you or ask you to fo (fcuk off).

why to hunt for the uniform?

ckmpd

in my days, when i mentioned those materials shorted for exercise, my commander usually told me: "go and kapo lah".

if no new uniform, just wear the one that you have. they will sure to give one to you or ask you to fo (fcuk off).

why to hunt for the uniform?

hahaha, good and useful advice. you are an experienced SAF guy