Serious After this Covid-19

All these ang moh countries tax too high and their tax system is universal tax, taxing every income even if not earned locally. Maybe people are desperate enough to be ok with it, but I sure am not. Buying property there to let and go holiday once in a while, sure... i personally am looking to get hawaiian property... the buy-to-let market is huge and I personally loved it when I went there, pristine beaches and safe and asians outnumber ang mohs there...many japanese. Anyway, like I said, no reasons to bound oneself to one country. Even if you live in Canada, wouldn't hurt to have another property in a tropical country... Peru, for instance or Panama...

Less crowded, sure.. but more civil, this is debatable... all I can say is when push comes to shove, then can see true colours of their people and I do not wish to get into a debate on this as there is simply no point, to each his own.

Just stay in Singapore lah.

Low taxes.

Obviously that is important to you. In the end $$$ is most important to sinkies.

Die faster, so congested. Talk bus or train is risky.
Some places in China are fine because they are rural and prevented outsiders form entering.
We open legs big big
But low taxes mah.

As I said $$$$ most important to sinkies.

No sinkie wants to pay higher taxes to help someone else. All about me the sinkie me the sinkie.

Selfish. Self centered. You did your business not ny business. A country full of me first, you last.

Hence.....stay in Singapore lah!

By the way if you buy property in these high tax countries they will tax your rental income jia lat jia lat. And the property prices dont go up much not like in Singapore.

Dont waste your money lah. All because you want to go holiday a few weeks every few years? Just buy time share lah.

Just stay in Singapore lah.

Low taxes.

Obviously that is important to you. In the end $$$ is most important to sinkies.

no need to stay in SG, be tax resident of SG... OR company is a tax resident of SG... one can live anywhere....

You go try lor.

Most countries you stay a considerable amount of time in their country or own property or earn income from their country they will tax you globally liao! You think they dunno your trick ar?

This is why most sinkies will say wah lau! Tax so high! Dowan lah! What for?

You want to pay higher taxes to subsidize other people but not get anything for yourself go ahead.

And as usual you are probably like the typical sinkie like to Talk BIG but no action. Millions of such sinkies out there.

You go try lor.

Most countries you stay a considerable amount of time in their country or own property or earn income from their country they will tax you globally liao! You think they dunno your trick ar?

This is why most sinkies will say wah lau! Tax so high! Dowan lah! What for?

You want to pay higher taxes to subsidize other people but not get anything for yourself go ahead.

Only when physically staying > 180 days then tax... open info, no secret... Own property only pay property tax and rental income tax....no scared they know... accountants will also teach you to do that for tax efficiency... some more if unable to rent out, can carry over the year's losses.. Ang moh countries very welcome ppl to buy their properties, unlike SG. Very airbnb friendly some more.... SG airbnb also cannot.

Then do it.
Lol!

Had to wait until covid19 then think about TALKING about this. Lol!

Never heard of tax minimization.... dickhead...

All these ang moh countries tax too high and their tax system is universal tax, taxing every income even if not earned locally. Maybe people are desperate enough to be ok with it, but I sure am not. Buying property there to let and go holiday once in a while, sure... i personally am looking to get hawaiian property... the buy-to-let market is huge and I personally loved it when I went there, pristine beaches and safe and asians outnumber ang mohs there...many japanese. Anyway, like I said, no reasons to bound oneself to one country. Even if you live in Canada, wouldn't hurt to have another property in a tropical country... Peru, for instance or Panama...

Less crowded, sure.. but more civil, this is debatable... all I can say is when push comes to shove, then can see true colours of their people and I do not wish to get into a debate on this as there is simply no point, to each his own.

Then do it.
Lol!

Had to wait until covid19 then think about TALKING about this. Lol!

Yeah, of course, things happen in life, that will sometimes alter course of decision. I would say Covid-19 hasten the process more than anything. I believe many will also realise that their long-term goal might have altered as well. Anyway, liquidating my 2nd property might take awhile too in this economy....

What is your main purpose in owning that overseas property? In your first post you said you wanted an alternate place of refuge.

So you are talking about <180 days?

You might as well just fly over and stay in an airbnb lah. LOL!

As I can see, even with the current terrible Covid19 situation you are still staying in Singapore. What kind of situation would warrant you having to move to your "alternate place of refuge"? War? Tsunami disaster? Riots?

And you think you wouldn't need to stay longer than 180 days away from Singapore?

What you need is dual citizenship lah. And as you know that carries tax implications. Also the big one is Singapore itself does not officially allow dual citizenships.

Simple buying an overseas property doesnt cut it.

Right now I don't hear of countries saying ok if you own a property here we will let you through our closed borders. LOL!

What is your main purpose in owning that overseas property? In your first post you said you wanted an alternate place of refuge.

So you are talking about <180 days?

You might as well just fly over and stay in an airbnb lah. LOL!

As I can see, even with the current terrible Covid19 situation you are still staying in Singapore. What kind of situation would warrant you having to move to your "alternate place of refuge"? War? Tsunami disaster? Riots?

And you think you wouldn't need to stay longer than 180 days away from Singapore?

What you need is dual citizenship lah. And as you know that carries tax implications. Also the big one is Singapore itself does not officially allow dual citizenships.

Simple buying an overseas property doesnt cut it.

Right now I don't hear of countries saying ok if you own a property here we will let you through our closed borders. LOL!

Dual citizenship not allowed in SG, sadly.. Of course, simply owning a property doesnt automatically accord residency and you have certainly mixed up my original intentions with emigration. The intention is for a place to stay in events such as this. Like right now, you see many ppl returning from the UK... they were the ones who left when SG was one of the first to get hit and now just sway sway Europe got it worse, they run back. This is happening not only in SG, but China, Taiwan and HK and just about everywhere else that was hit worse in the initial phase, no?

Those people had to stay somewhere in europe, of course, Airbnb is an option... but out of those many, and it is expected 200k SG will be back over the next few days, there are bound to have people who owned foreign properties that they fled to. And since rental return in SG is so sucky now, and Airbnb is banned after review last Dec, might as well liquidate and invest somewhere friendlier, with more potential and also have a place of refuge in such times.... Think of it this way, if you have a property in another country, and Canada was one of the very first hit very badly and at that time not much about the virus was known... wouldn't you go somehwere else where you held a property with your kids or at least send your kids to wait for the pandemic to blow over? Maybe you will or will not, but for me, that is a plus.

Dual citizenship not allowed in SG, sadly.. Of course, simply owning a property doesnt automatically accord residency and you have certainly mixed up my original intentions with emigration. The intention is for a place to stay in events such as this. Like right now, you see many ppl returning from the UK... they were the ones who left when SG was one of the first to get hit and now just sway sway Europe got it worse, they run back. This is happening not only in SG, but China, Taiwan and HK and just about everywhere else that was hit worse in the initial phase, no?

Those people had to stay somewhere in europe, of course, Airbnb is an option... but out of those many, and it is expected 200k SG will be back over the next few days, there are bound to have people who owned foreign properties that they fled to. And since rental return in SG is so sucky now, and Airbnb is banned after review last Dec, might as well liquidate and invest somewhere friendlier, with more potential and also have a place of refuge in such times.... Think of it this way, if you have a property in another country, and Canada was one of the very first hit very badly and at that time not much about the virus was known... wouldn't you go somehwere else where you held a property with your kids or at least send your kids to wait for the pandemic to blow over? Maybe you will or will not, but for me, that is a plus.

Canada is a very very very big country.

If indeed the situation got very bad I would move within Canada to the Northwest Territories. There is no need for me to move to another country.

Having said that, I trust the Canadian government and people to work together to solve any problem. We are not like Singapore so vulnerable. Canada is a net exporter of food. It has oil reserves. It has natural gas. It has uranium. It has timber. It has a big share of the world's fresh water supply.

Even if a nuclear attack were to hit Canada you can still go find places for refuge.

Looks like your main purpose is really to buy overseas property for investment. Particularly because airbnb in Singapore is not allowed. So as usual for sinkies it is about $$$$$$.

LOL!

If indeed the situation got very bad I would move within Canada to the Northwest Territories. There is no need for me to move to another country.

Having said that, I trust the Canadian government and people to work together to solve any problem. We are not like Singapore so vulnerable. Canada is a net exporter of food. It has oil reserves. It has natural gas. It has uranium. It has timber. It has a big share of the world's fresh water supply.

Even if a nuclear attack were to hit Canada you can still go find places for refuge.

Looks like your main purpose is really to buy overseas property for investment. Particularly because airbnb in Singapore is not allowed. So as usual for sinkies it is about $$$$$$.

LOL!

Sure, it wouldn't be beneath me to admit $$ sure is a big part and I'm very driven. If companies, movie stars and famous people are not ashamed to move heaven and earth to pay as little tax as possible, what more little old me. Yes, Canada is huge and very open to foreigners to invest due to their very small population.

That said, monetarily-driven and living a full life are not mutually exclusive. I have completed biathlons, triathlons, vertical marathons, 10+ half-marathons, done a full marathon... swam in the open water and travelled extensively among many more overseas hikes and I swim regularly to keep myself fit. It might not be much and I'm sure many have achieved even more. I know some worked themselves to death for money while neglecting their health, but hey.. who am I to judge... it is their lives and certainly not confined to any people.

LOL!
i was at carcross in yukon 16.9 years ago and saw this jap lady in kimono selling sushi from her trailer. she was at a dirt parking lot not far from this general store.
1585239914934.png

Sure, it wouldn't be beneath me to admit $$ sure is a big part and I'm very driven. If companies, movie stars and famous people are not ashamed to move heaven and earth to pay as little tax as possible, what more little old me. Yes, Canada is huge and very open to foreigners to invest due to their very small population.

That said, monetarily-driven and living a full life are not mutually exclusive. I have completed biathlons, triathlons, vertical marathons, 10+ half-marathons, done a full marathon... swam in the open water and travelled extensively among many more overseas hikes. It might not be much and I'm sure many have achieved even more. I know some worked themselves to death for money while neglecting their health, but hey.. who am I to judge... it is their lives.....

Thanks for clarifying.

Personally I have no faith in the long term survival and success of Singapore. Which is why I migrated. I do not want my future generations to suffer the likelihood of a very dramatic and disastrous failure of Singapore.

Hence Canada. In many popular film and culture, Canada is the place the protagonists aim to move to during a Apocalyptic situation. For good reason.

Paying higher taxes does not deter me. The taxes paid serve a purpose. In Singapore people do pay taxes. Especially indirect taxes. And get nothing from it. Besides if I am paying a lot of taxes it means I am doing well financially.

I suspect many capable and determined Singaporeans have got a PR in another country or even dual citizenship under the radar. Many Sinkies would love to have that too. But are just too lazy to go about taking action to obtain it. All the talk about high taxes and what not are just excuses for the laziness.

Thanks for clarifying.

Personally I have no faith in the long term survival and success of Singapore. Which is why I migrated. I do not want my future generations to suffer the likelihood of a very dramatic and disastrous failure of Singapore.

Both Canada and NZ are excellent countries in my opinion.

If SG fails, it will be because of sabotage by our neighbours.

Both Canada and NZ are excellent countries in my opinion.

If SG fails, it will be because of sabotage by our neighbours.

In other words Singapore is heavily dependent on the neighbors.

Of course. No food. No energy. No raw materials.

Only people and money.

It is so nice to see the virus continue to make very good progress in Sinkieland. The economy will collapse and foreigners have no choice but to leave. For those who worry about Sinkies, don't. Sinkies already fucked with the import of FS. Spread virus spread.