• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MOE tempting fate by not closing schools?

TerrexLee

l2TbNHN.png

https://www.facebook.com/domainofexperts/

Tempting fate.

But they are confident that they will be able to deal with any spread with REACTIVE closures.

School holidays now. Next week many asymptomatic children who either got it on their travel overseas or from their parents returning from overseas will be spreading this all over the schools to other children. And many will have no symptoms or minor symptoms.

Now I expect Singapore to have an explosion of cases 2 weeks after schools re-open.

Tempting fate.

But they are confident that they will be able to deal with any spread with REACTIVE closures.

School holidays now. Next week many asymptomatic children who either got it on their travel overseas or from their parents returning from overseas will be spreading this all over the schools to other children. And many will have no symptoms or minor symptoms.

Now I expect Singapore to have an explosion of cases 2 weeks after schools re-open.
That's what I fear for my daughter and other children in schools. There are more and more unknown link cases and it's crazy. This government is mad. My only conclusion seems to be they want a quick General elections when opposition is at a disadvantage, and they seem willing to sacrifice human fatalities. Any closure of schools or lockdown will spoil their grand master plan. That's the perception they are giving me.

I don't think it is so nefarious. Singapore needs the economy to keep going. It is a matter of survival for the country.

Sorry @cloudy the hard truth is Singapore is at very real risk of collapse. Does it matter anymore to politicians if Singapore collapses?

Singapore has always been that small super maneuverable high tech yacht sailing in the sea among all the big tankers and able to move swiftly and change course etc.

Right now most of the other ships big and small have docked at their ports. No one is out at sea. Because the risk of huge waves that CAN destroy a super tanker is out there.

Singapore still wants to be out at sea though because their whole purpose of existing and way of continuing to exist is to be out at sea.

With PAP in charge, I'm confident that little sinkies won't get infected with covid-19 when school reopens next week. Other incompetent governments are trying to solve the problem with a sledge hammer by shutting down the schools and locking down the cities. PAP is much more calm and solving the crisis with surgical precision instead.

I don't think it is so nefarious. Singapore needs the economy to keep going. It is a matter of survival for the country.

Sorry @cloudy the hard truth is Singapore is at very real risk of collapse. Does it matter anymore to politicians if Singapore collapses?

Singapore has always been that small super maneuverable high tech yacht sailing in the sea among all the big tankers and able to move swiftly and change course etc.

Right now most of the other ships big and small have docked at their ports. No one is out at sea. Because the risk of huge waves that CAN destroy a super tanker is out there.

Singapore still wants to be out at sea though because their whole purpose of existing and way of continuing to exist is to be out at sea.
I think Singapore will survive. It might be a little poorer but I like Singapore and will want it to survive.

Then there is no need to worry for you.

Support your government and your people. Keep calm and carry on.

Tempting fate.

No problem. All holiday returning sinkies will be issued stay home notice 14 days. Shiok shook! :thumbsup:

What if parents return from holiday that they went to without their children?

Parents stay at home but pass to kids. Kids did not travel so they go to school. And pass to classmates who bring home covid19 and spread to parents.

There is no need to close schools. NZ has not closed any schools either. It would be a gross over reaction.

Coronavirus: closing all schools could increase risk to elderly, PM says
09:03, Mar 20 2020
Health officials are testing 150 people who are close contacts of a Dunedin student who tested positive for coronavirus.

Closing schools as part of the fight against the coronavirus could lead to increased risks for grandparents and would mean some key workers become unavailable, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern says.

"Children and young people, we know, are less affected by Covid-19," Ardern told Newstalk ZB on Friday morning.

"But that doesn't mean of course that we don't have to think about their ability to transmit to others, and so if schools shut down prematurely then you might have children going to grandparents who are more susceptible.

"You take out your workforce, who then have to look after them, and that includes our health workforce."

Logan Park High School in Dunedin was closed this week after a student tested positive for coronavirus.

HAMISH MCNEILLY/STUFF

Logan Park High School in Dunedin was closed this week after a student tested positive for coronavirus.

READ MORE:
* Coronavirus: All Dunedin high school test results have returned 'negative'
* Coronavirus: Whangaparāoa College staff member self-isolating after partner tests positive
* Coronavirus: 28 cases in New Zealand after 8 new positive tests

New Zealand was now at a point where a school would shut down for 72 hours if someone at that school was found with the disease. That time gave a chance to trace students who were in contact with the infected person. It was also long enough for virus to no longer be on surfaces at the school after it reopened, Ardern said.

Dunedin's Logan Park High School closed this week after a student tested positive for coronavirus. Forsyth Barr Stadium turned into a temporary testing station on Wednesday for 150 children who possibly came into close contact with that student. All tests were negative.

Ardern said the point to think about widespread school closure was if the disease was being spread within the community. "We don't have that," she said.

"The countries we want to replicate are the likes of Hong Kong, Singapore, Taiwan.

"They've tended to, as in Singapore, do what we're doing - close schools if you have a case, deal with that, then reopen them.

"If you close all your schools without some rationale for that then you have kids going off to grandparents, kids still spending time with one another and that causes other problems," Ardern said.

Countries overseas closing schools were in the middle of uncontrolled outbreaks and where contacts could not be traced anymore.

"We will take precautionary measures when we are at a point where those decisions need to be made."

Sign up to get Stuff's daily coronavirus situation report email newsletter. It's a quick summary of the essential updates from New Zealand and around the world on Covid-19.

With PAP in charge, I'm confident that little sinkies won't get infected with covid-19 when school reopens next week. Other incompetent governments are trying to solve the problem with a sledge hammer by shutting down the schools and locking down the cities. PAP is much more calm and solving the crisis with surgical precision instead.

Thank you John for being a voice of calm and reason in the midst of the panic caused by those who do not have the same intelligence levels as the PAP leadership and grassroot leaders like yourself.

It's sad that there are still Singaporeans out there who are so dumb that they unable to react rationally in the face of the slightest adversity.

Coronavirus: closing all schools could increase risk to elderly, PM says
09:03, Mar 20 2020
Health officials are testing 150 people who are close contacts of a Dunedin student who tested positive for coronavirus.

Closing schools as part of the fight against the coronavirus could lead to increased risks for grandparents and would mean some key workers become unavailable, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern says.

"Children and young people, we know, are less affected by Covid-19," Ardern told Newstalk ZB on Friday morning.

"But that doesn't mean of course that we don't have to think about their ability to transmit to others, and so if schools shut down prematurely then you might have children going to grandparents who are more susceptible.

"You take out your workforce, who then have to look after them, and that includes our health workforce."

HAMISH MCNEILLY/STUFF

READ MORE:
* Coronavirus: All Dunedin high school test results have returned 'negative'
* Coronavirus: Whangaparāoa College staff member self-isolating after partner tests positive
* Coronavirus: 28 cases in New Zealand after 8 new positive tests

New Zealand was now at a point where a school would shut down for 72 hours if someone at that school was found with the disease. That time gave a chance to trace students who were in contact with the infected person. It was also long enough for virus to no longer be on surfaces at the school after it reopened, Ardern said.

Dunedin's Logan Park High School closed this week after a student tested positive for coronavirus. Forsyth Barr Stadium turned into a temporary testing station on Wednesday for 150 children who possibly came into close contact with that student. All tests were negative.

Ardern said the point to think about widespread school closure was if the disease was being spread within the community. "We don't have that," she said.

"The countries we want to replicate are the likes of Hong Kong, Singapore, Taiwan.

"They've tended to, as in Singapore, do what we're doing - close schools if you have a case, deal with that, then reopen them.

"If you close all your schools without some rationale for that then you have kids going off to grandparents, kids still spending time with one another and that causes other problems," Ardern said.

Countries overseas closing schools were in the middle of uncontrolled outbreaks and where contacts could not be traced anymore.

"We will take precautionary measures when we are at a point where those decisions need to be made."

Sign up to get Stuff's daily coronavirus situation report email newsletter. It's a quick summary of the essential updates from New Zealand and around the world on Covid-19.
That's exactly what the chief medical officer of health in Alberta said initially too.

Two days later she ordered schools to close.

We shall see how those countries who closed schools fare vs those who did not.

The other thing is countries that ordered all bars restaurants and potential gathering events to close as well.

As the hokkien say Mm Zhai See (dunno wait die)

https://www.boredpanda.com/coronavi...ook&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=BPFacebook

Thank you John for being a voice of calm and reason in the midst of the panic caused by those who do not have the same intelligence levels as the PAP leadership and grassroot leaders like yourself.

It's sad that there are still Singaporeans out there who are so dumb that they unable to react rationally in the face of the slightest adversity.

As a grassroots leader and translator, it's my duty to serve as the bridge between the masses and the government. I often have to do the unpleasant task of explaining unpopular but necessary government policies. We do not presume that elected oppie MPs can do that. Hence, only PAP cadres can serve as grassroots advisers. It's a difficult but noble task.

And you do an excellent job. I am proud to have you in my forum. You are the best!

sinkie elders have been collecting cardboards as a form of exercise and are fit and well prepared to handle the worst virus pandemic. their immune system must be great considering that they have to deal with filthy sinkies and foreign trashies on a daily basis.
1584663693062.png

1584663574085.png

1584663648485.png

1584663732221.png

1584663617885.png

1584663602692.png

1584663764775.png

1584663780325.png

Singapore steady lah!

Anyway it is good. We can compare.

If Singapore really get through this while living life as per normal and defy what Italians warning the world then really Singapore damn power.

But the other ang moh countries (except USA) prefer to play safe lah. The storm is coming.