Serious PM: Strong families make strong nation, in CNY message (Read and arm chio)

Haha! The irony is killing me! He has a profound lack of self-awareness. :roflmao:
Bro, father to son has always been the norm everywhere. Usurpers need to be nipped in the bud for breaking tradition am I rite? :cool:

What a fucking hypocrite! Look at his own family! Like shit! Sister and brother calling brother unfilial. In fighting. Cousin whistle blow on cousin ...
his sista n his brada r never part of his family ...

his jinx wifey n ah boy, as a strong family, help him fend off his enemies ...

CNY a time to celebrate family as strong ties make for a strong nation: PM Lee Hsien Loong

Singapore should be a society where families are celebrated and supported, especially young families starting out, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, adding that this is why a slew of initiatives has been introduced in the past year to help young f
Singapore should be a society where families are celebrated and supported, especially young families starting out, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, adding that this is why a slew of initiatives has been introduced in the past year to help young families.ST FILE PHOTO
Published
9 hours ago
Facebook Twitter

Family members are the ones people turn to in good and hard times, he says in CNY message

Lim Yan Liang
As Chinese families in Singapore gather for their reunion dinner this evening, it is a good time to reflect on the importance of strong kindred ties, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.
Family members are the ones people turn to in good and hard times, and it is the reason most people cherish close ties with their extended family, even if they do not live together, PM Lee said in his annual Chinese New Year message today.
Strong families also make for a strong nation, he added.

"Singapore should be a society where families are celebrated and supported, especially young families starting out."
This is why the Government has introduced a slew of initiatives in the past year to support and encourage young families, he said.
These include increased pre-school subsidies to lighten the financial load of raising a child, and a larger government budget to help companies offer flexible work arrangements to parents and caregivers.

While he hoped the initiatives would spur more young couples to start families or add to their growing families, PM Lee said he also understood that choosing a life partner or having a child is a deeply personal decision.

"But from my own experience, there is no greater joy than hearing the laughter of our children and grandchildren, especially on festive occasions like Chinese New Year."
He noted that Chinese New Year this year comes amid anxiety around the world and sobering events such as the floods in Jakarta, bush fires in Australia, turbulence in the Middle East, Hong Kong and France, and the new coronavirus in China.
"We wish these societies well as they heal and recover," he added.

It was the first time in years that PM Lee had sent his Chinese New Year greetings from overseas.
He returns from Switzerland tomorrow after attending the World Economic Forum in Davos, an annual gathering of global leaders in politics, industry and civil society.
Related Story
Overseas dance troupes to perform at River Hongbao 2020
Related Story
Shedding light on CNY story
Related Story
Nearly 950 GP clinics open during Chinese New Year long weekend
PM Lee said he has been closely tracking Singapore's preparations against the Wuhan virus while abroad. "We have just had our first cases in Singapore. This was to be expected, given the high volume of international travel" in Singapore.
But the country is well prepared because it has been gearing up for such a situation since it dealt with Sars in 2003, he said.
"MOH has now activated plans to counter the spread of the virus, which so far does not appear to be as deadly as Sars was. Singaporeans should be calm but watchful as we implement measures to keep everybody safe and healthy."
PM Lee also said it was unfortunate he would miss his own reunion dinner, but added that a highlight of his trip was the chance to celebrate with the Singaporean community in Zurich.
"No matter where in the world we may be, there is something special and heartwarming that bonds Singaporeans together, and a special place in our hearts for Singapore," he said.
As Singaporeans usher in the Year of the Rat, the first in the Chinese zodiac cycle, he said it is an opportunity to refresh and start anew.
"Let us learn something from the proverbial nimbleness, creativity and wit of the rat.
"These qualities will help us to overcome future challenges, and build a better Singapore for ourselves and our children," he said.
PM Lee wished all Singaporeans a very happy and healthy Chinese New Year.
President's greetings
President Halimah Yacob has wished Singaporeans a happy and prosperous Chinese New Year.
In a video posted on Facebook yesterday, the President said that Chinese New Year is an occasion for Chinese Singaporeans to celebrate, bond with family and friends, and keep cherished traditions alive.

"Traditions bring people together, help in the transmission of values and create stability in our society. No matter how busy we are, we must never forget our traditions," said Madam Halimah.
"In multiracial Singapore, I am glad that Chinese New Year celebrations also involve other races, and I have fond memories of visiting friends during Chinese New Year and enjoying their culture."
The President's official residence, the Istana, will have a Chinese New Year open house on Sunday for the public to visit.

Sharp Elbows

an hour ago

Pinky's ultra ironic CNY message: strong family ties make for a strong nation

Who are you to lecture us huh when you can't even get your own personal affairs in order?

a27d24_cb88e627727b4980ad2340cedca73825~mv2.webp

a27d24_90851f704e1b4db0a3c3eaeeef41d4b1~mv2.webp

https://www.prolificcrap.com/forum/...e-strong-family-ties-make-for-a-strong-nation

There could be a subtle message that he is just a simple and honest PM who was bullied by his younger brother and sister. Trying to score sympathy points from the diehard PAP supporters. :wink:

Sharp Elbows
an hour ago

Pinky's ultra ironic CNY message: strong family ties make for a strong nation

Who are you to lecture us huh when you can't even get your own personal affairs in order?

a27d24_cb88e627727b4980ad2340cedca73825~mv2.webp

a27d24_90851f704e1b4db0a3c3eaeeef41d4b1~mv2.webp

https://www.prolificcrap.com/forum/...e-strong-family-ties-make-for-a-strong-nation
Who cares who he invites? its his own personal biz,,and I never understood this reunion dinner thingy....Normally reunion dinner is direct own family unit,....so Husband, wife, kids,,,and if grand parents alive,,its grandparents too,,,,than on 2nd day when its the 'Open year'. than all the uncle, auntie, brothers etc (as in the other family units) than come together . Since the princess is single,,,she can either makan with Pinky or Ah Yang...so reunion dinner now should be,,,pinky and his unit,,have the reunion dinner and ah yang and his family have their own,,,than 2nd day than come together

This tradition-enforced reunion dinner is a waste of time, money and an outdated tradition. If families want to, each can decide when and where they want a dinner gathering. Anytime of year.

As for this year with the wuhan virus, fucking chinks will infect the rest of us because of this fucking reunion dinner. Hope all of them will get infected in chinkland and die before they can return to sinkieland.

Coming from the mouth of someone whose familee ties are shredded to pieces.

This tradition-enforced reunion dinner is a waste of time, money and an outdated tradition. If families want to, each can decide when and where they want a dinner gathering. Anytime of year.

As for this year with the wuhan virus, fucking chinks will infect the rest of us because of this fucking reunion dinner. Hope all of them will get infected in chinkland and die before they can return to sinkieland.

Good family is important, and family affairs are private affairs...CNY is a good excuse to get together,,where everyone can plan etc...however when its overboard and family affairs go public than its an issue. I use it as a time to catch up etc,,,if no CNY no one will come together bcos all working...and its the only time of the year I get a 3 week holiday to get crap done and get to see family to get ang pow. and makan relatives home cooking..heheheehhe

If a family is close-knit, and the heart is there, can always organise makan and get-together anytime of the year lah. Reunion dinners are forced.

You still get ang pow ah? Only kids and singles receive them, right? And watch all that food intake. For an old fart like me, need to watch my diet if I decide to go visit my chink friends.

If a family is close-knit, and the heart is there, can always organise makan and get-together anytime of the year lah. Reunion dinners are forced.

You still get ang pow ah? Only kids and singles receive them, right? And watch all that food intake. For an old fart like me, need to watch my diet if I decide to go visit my chink friends.
My family and relatives (close knit ones) are not fuckeins,,only fuckeins are that cheap with ang pows…..

I see. So I thought wrong that only kids and singles receive ang pows.
Fuckeins, Fuckkas and Fuckchews are the cheap ones,....and its common knowledge in singkieland bcos a majority of cina singkies consists of these dialect groups....so of course they all sing the same song,,that is why I never visit my fuckein relatives...the gossips and their kiam siap ness is a turn off...just gossip and put ppl down etc,,,real family ask u how u are and help etc even give advice when have problems,,,but the fuckein ones will just criticise etc,,,and one other thing about fuckeins,,my fuckein frens tell me,,when they were kids,,they get ang pows,,,they have to give 50% back to their parents bcos their parents give out ang pows ,,,What kind of fuckein logic is that?????