Clifford's Misery...

72-year old man who drives Grab because of insufficient CPF payouts ends up having to pay more for Medisave instead – The Independent News

theindependent.sg

xScreen-Shot-2019-06-28-at-5.36.04-pm-e1568092926501.png.pagespeed.ic.U0FGbc8R54.jpg

A 72-year old man wrote about how he started working and driving a private-hire vehicle in order to earn more money. However, he adds that he now has to pay MediSave top-ups monthly, putting him in a more dire state than before he started working.

Clifford and his wife depend on the former’s monthly Central Provident Fund (CPF) payouts of S$575. Because this amount was insufficient, and they needed more to make ends meet. In a social media post, he wrote, “With a measly sum of $575// how could my wife and I survive”.

“I started to drive Grab, due to my age, I cannot drive too long and the income I was earning did not (require) for me to pay Income Tax”, he wrote.

x71100042_2392043957544472_1306716986327171072_n_censored-225x300.jpg.pagespeed.ic.PL1BIQztCU.jpg

However, he added that because he was driving a private-hire vehicle, that constituted being self-employed, and required him to make monthly top-ups of S$595 to his MediSave, more than his actual CPF payout. The man also added that he has around S$60,000 in his MediSave account.

He wrote, “to me this is Gangsterism, if I don’t pay up, my licence will be revoked. Any one out there please help explain WHY?”

“I have $60,000// if I die before that $60,000// is used what happens to MY money, it’s my money why can’t I use it”, he added.

xScreen-Shot-2019-10-23-at-3.48.51-pm_censored-136x300.jpg.pagespeed.ic.Pf7jNICEbg.jpg

Clifford’s full post is as follows:
“I’m 72 years old and I’m receiving $575// monthly of my OWN money from the CPF. My Medisave is around $60.000//.
With a measly sum of $575// how could my wife and I survive, so I started to drive Grab, due to my age, I cannot drive too long and the income I was earning did not for me to pay Income Tax. However, according the the Taxman I have to TOP UP Medisave.
Please see photo, to me this is Gangsterism, if I don’t pay up, my licence will be revoked. Any one out there please help explain WHY?
I have $60,000// if I die before that $60,000// is used what happens to MY money, it’s my money why can’t I use it.
If my Licence is revoked will I be entitled to welfare, oops, this is Singapore, no freebies”.
TISG has reached out to both Clifford and to CPF Board for comment and clarification. /TISG

Who did he vote for? And I like to add many singkies kpkb singkieland not welfare state...however no singkie tat advocates for the welfare state n after a state pension will ask to pay 40% income tax to fund the pensions when they are working. Only retire than talk....

WHY at 72,self-employed have to make monthly top-up $595 to his Medisave Account (Balance $60,000) for his PHV licence but received only $575 from CPF monthly payout ? Go see his MP for help. As usual,they like to torture u in life with your nose just breathing above the water .

Clifford, why didn't you find out before you listen to the PAP & be self employed driving GRAB. Now they grab your balls, you complain, you voted for the these balls grabbers, MERDEKA!.

Don't worry, cum end of this month of October, you get $300 plus your wife $300, its $600, you have some relief, your Utilities bill is settled 1/2 - 1 month plus your conservancy fees 1/2 to 1 month..plus November your Merdeka card, can get more medical deductions, ahh! coffee or tea 50cents on wednesday, 2% dicount NTUC...

Clifford you voted for the PAP, you never read the fine line, you just believe & follow, who owns GRAB...they now grab your balls, you squeal..PAP is the best. PAP was your future, now your present, and soon your future...they will still continue to grab your balls...look before you leap...VOTE FOR PAP, they are the BEST!

Clifford, why didn't you find out before you listen to the PAP & be self employed driving GRAB. Now they grab your balls, you complain, you voted for the these balls grabbers, MERDEKA!.

Don't worry, cum end of this month of October, you get $300 plus your wife $300, its $600, you have some relief, your Utilities bill is settled 1/2 - 1 month plus your conservancy fees 1/2 to 1 month..plus November your Merdeka card, can get more medical deductions, ahh! coffee or tea 50cents on wednesday, 2% dicount NTUC...

Clifford you voted for the PAP, you never read the fine line, you just believe & follow, who owns GRAB...they now grab your balls, you squeal..PAP is the best. PAP was your future, now your present, and soon your future...they will still continue to grab your balls...look before you leap...VOTE FOR PAP, they are the BEST!
Huat ah

1.4 million Singaporeans to receive Bicentennial Bonus benefits in November
Time Rhythm by Xavi Bové and Onionlab from Spain shows time passing through musical rhythms and visual patterns. It is installed at the Anderson Bridge as part of a series of events celebrating the Singapore Bicentennial. (Photo: Jeremy Long)
24 Oct 2019 12:17PM
(Updated: 24 Oct 2019 02:07PM)
Share this content
Bookmark

SINGAPORE: A total of 1.4 million Singaporeans will receive their Bicentennial Bonus benefits in November, the finance ministry said on Thursday (Oct 24).
These benefits include a cash payment under the GST Voucher scheme, a Central Provident Fund (CPF) top-up and a Workfare bonus for lower-income workers.
In February during Budget 2019, the Government announced a S$1.1 billion Bicentennial Bonus package to commemorate Singapore’s bicentennial and to support those in need.
All 1.4 million Singaporean adults aged 21 years and above this year, with an assessable income of up to S$28,000 for 2018, will receive the GST Voucher cash payment in November.
They will receive either S$150 or S$300, depending on the value of their homes.
Budget 2019 GST voucher

The 400,000 workers who qualify for the Workfare Income Supplement (WIS) will receive the Workfare Bicentennial Bonus at the end of October.
They will receive an additional 10 per cent of the total annual payment for work done in 2018, or a minimum payment of S$100, to help them with their daily expenses, the finance ministry said.
Those with disabilities and who are below 35 years old in 2018, and who also meet the WIS eligibility criteria, will receive between S$100 and S$150 based on work done last year.
READ: Budget 2019: S$1.1 billion Bicentennial Bonus for Singaporeans

Singaporeans eligible for the GST Voucher and Workfare Bicentennial Bonus, and who have registered their mobile number with SingPass, will receive an SMS notification by the end of this month. Letters will also be sent to all eligible Singaporeans.
A total of 300,000 Singaporeans will receive CPF top-ups and will get both their letter notification and payment next month.
Those aged between 50 and 54 will receive S$300 to S$1,000 depending on their combined CPF Ordinary and Special Account or Retirement Account balance.
CPF Bicentennial Bonus
(Source: Ministry of Finance)
To qualify for the top-up, the individual's assessable income for 2018 must not be more than S$28,000. The person's home should also not have an annual value of more than S$21,000 as of Dec 31, 2018, and he or she should not own more than one property.
Other Bicentennial Bonus benefits were also distributed over the past few months.
Top-ups to Edusave Accounts and Post-Secondary Education Accounts were completed in June, benefiting 570,000 students.
Primary and secondary students received an Edusave top-up of S$150 while those aged 17 to 20 received up to S$500 in their PSEA.
READ: Is Budget 2019 an election budget? 'I don't plan on that basis,' says Heng Swee Keat

Taxpayers will also receive a personal income tax rebate of 50 per cent, or up to S$200 each, which will be granted for the Year of Assessment 2019.
In his Budget speech, Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat said that from time to time, when finances allow, the Government shares the surpluses with Singaporeans, and provides more help to those with specific needs.
“With this bonus, I hope all Singaporeans, young and old, will join us to commemorate this significant moment in Singapore’s history,” he said.

just get a job which pays cash at the end of each work day.

drive grab and all your income will be recorded in the system and that's why he has to contribute to medisave and income tax even at age 72!

sometimes these folks just need to use their brain more.

This ah pek should be sent to the first PAP re-education camp. The PAP government does no wrong.

How much will the Pioneer Generation get?