![]()
SINGAPORE – About 3,000 people came together in support of the Rise Against Racism campaign on Saturday (Nov 17) at the Orange Ribbon Walk.
They walked 3.8km around the Marina Bay area and were accompanied by President Halimah Yacob, who flagged off the walk at Esplanade Park.
The Orange Ribbon Movement symbolises friendship, brotherhood and kinship underpinned by values of respect, understanding and trust.
The annual event by OnePeople.sg – the ground-up national body for racial and religious harmony – rallies Singaporeans to make a stand against racism and combat racial discrimination and prejudice.
The multi-ethnic participants were from self-help groups, grassroots, religious, community and civic organisations and the public.
Youth groups from institutes of higher learning, racial and religious organisations and youth activist groups also took part.
The event also featured a Tea Talk Corner, where young people had facilitated discussions about racial harmony.
![]()
Ms Larissa Nair, 27, who is Indian-Chinese, was one of the participants who signed up for the Tea Talk Corner. She said: "Being brought up in a mixed-race household and grappling with a fixed race identity was a constant struggle that I have had to go through since childhood. I am Indian. But I am Chinese, too.
"Multi-culturalism can only exist with an open-minded community. And through conversations; this is a start."
President Halimah also wrote her personal message against racism at the event. She wrote: "There is only one human race. The rest is just our own creations which divide us."
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/3000-people-in-anti-racism-walk-at-marina-bay
fuck off halimah, you are a indian snake just like mahathir
Malay special privilege as dictated in constitution article 152. Dontch like, get out!Exactly. She is the last person and the least qualified to talk on this topic.
Malays are the least racist. You cen see other races living in malay kampung but you wont find other races living in chinatown.Only m&ds n ah nehs will complain about racism when they are the most racists of all
Singspura named by indians. You fuck off.fuck off halimah, you are a indian snake just like mahathir
Tan cheng bok qualified to be china president, taiwan president and even hong kong president. So greedy want to be singapore resident. Give minorities a chance.they were here first.Then why Tan Cheng Bok cannot run for president but she can?
Tan cheng bok qualified to be china president, taiwan president and even hong kong president. So greedy want to be singapore resident. Give minorities a chance.they were here first.
Just look at those jiuhukia in Msia. Owned so much big land, farm, houses, properties. Yet kpkb not enough. Why dont they just migrate to Rich China? Or migrate to rich little china, sinkieland? Still so thick skin to stay put in Msian and Indon
simple lah, kotek - the m&ds cunt eat pork with food being predominately non-halal and the smell of bak-kwa will make them envious of what they're missing!Malays are the least racist. You cen see other races living in malay kampung but you wont find other races living in chinatown.
If there is only 1 human race, why are there elections reserved for a particular race?
What is the GRC all about.?
Why HDB have "ethnic" quotas?
PAP is becoming more and more ah neh,,,white can turn to black, ah neh can become m&d,,,,,,social enterprises can be good, town councils and civil serpents are apolitcal and pigs can fly. I think the reasoning is the upper echelons are dominated by the Ah nehs,,that is why the fork tongue,,,,the Chindian she-male Vivian gives the pap the worse of both worlds,,,Cina Greed and ah neh/snake heart, u have a fuckein/hakka Penang scum, who incorporates the worse of both groups, a buddha's mouth with a snake heart, so all in all u get an an neh way of dealing and running things....and yet the 70% voted for itThe biggest joke is that when macik vacated her MP post in her GRC...no by-election was held to replace her malay representation.
If GRC was democratically formed to represent the various minorities and race, then the full definition of real democracy is therefore destroyed in this instance.
But alas...PAP and their rules.
We need a Malay president but can do without a Malay MP.