• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious [Malaysia] - Malay-Muslims will ‘run amok’ if ICERD ratified, Zahid warns

UltimaOnline

Malay-Muslims will ‘run amok’ if ICERD ratified, Zahid warns

30cf065607d6940c9a3bf32241535ba7

KAMPUNG GAJAH, Nov 18 — Umno president Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamid warned Putrajaya last night that the Malay-Muslim community will “run amok” to protest the Pakatan Harapan (PH) government’s pledge to ratify the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (ICERD).

Speaking in a protest held by the Perak chapter of Malay-Muslim groups coalition Ummah last night, Zahid said Umno and PAS leaders will mobilise “millions” of their members to the streets to protest the anti-discrimination human rights treaty next month.

“Don’t wait until the Malays run amok. But if our warning goes unheeded, Umno and PAS will unite.

“This is not a mere warning, don’t play if you don’t want the amok to happen.”

9a4fc9738ee5f9696ddf455690355b88

Thousands of protesters, even from different states such as Kedah, Kuala Lumpur, Kelantan and Terengganu, gathered at the Kampung Gajah taxi stand here to oppose the ICERD.

Among the politicians present were Umno supreme council member Datuk Seri Tajuddin Abdul Rahman, state PAS commissioner Razman Zakaria and state Umno chief Datuk Saarani Mohamad.

Zahid said both parties will join hands to oppose the ICERD by taking to the streets on December 8 in Kuala Lumpur.

“We have put aside all our political difference and united in the spirit of Malays and Muslims,” he added.

ef44ed40dea955fe567d6a7c017250d4

Malaysia is among the 14 countries in the world yet to accede to the ICERD, which has been ratified by numerous Muslim-majority countries, such as Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Turkey and Jordan.

Ratifying the ICERD and five other United Nations’ core human rights conventions is part of the PH election manifesto, and last week, Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said Putrajaya is ready to hear public feedback on the matter.

Various legal experts, including the Malaysian Bar, have repeatedly stressed that the ratification would not in any way alter or affect the country’s Federal Constitution.

Despite this, groups, primarily comprising Malay-Muslim members, continue to oppose the government’s plan to formalise the convention, arguing that doing so will strip the Bumiputra community of their constitutional safeguards and privileges.

See visitors' comments below the article :
https://sg.yahoo.com/news/malay-muslims-run-amok-icerd-001631012.html

Hypocrite-The

Oh no...the resident mudslimes will kpkb and say cinas r racists n should fuck back to ah tiong land. N worse thing is Islam is a peaceful religion... actions speak louder than words

m&ds are afraid they will be undermined. They themselves know for a fact they are an incompetent and lazy bunch and need to be given privileges to survive in this world. Fuck them all la.

KuanTi01

How come other more powerful Muslim nations like Saudi Arabia and closer to home, Indonesia have already ratified the ICERD? Malaysia m&ds crying the loudest! :biggrin:
They love to riot and create chaos don't they; whenever they don't get things done their way!

m&ds are afraid they will be undermined. They themselves know for a fact they are an incompetent and lazy bunch and need to be given privileges to survive in this world. Fuck them all la.
Hullo! Malays maybe lazy and incompetent. But there were no starvation like what hsppened in clever and hard working china.

whoami

Some greedy cina had left Msia for good. But unhappy greedy lot 23% cina still remain. I really dont understand them. If they feel they r really discriminated why are they still staying put? China dont pracitise "discrimination". All treated fairly. I am very sure rich China would welcome them with open arms. Else go sinkieland. Very sure on the spot get pink ic.

Semaj2357

Hullo! Malays maybe lazy and incompetent. But there were no starvation like what hsppened in clever and hard working china.
it's coz the chinks are over-populated and have to work hard or beg to put food on the table, else they die of starvation, plain and simple fact of life. on the other hand, the m&ds cling on to their bumi rights and expect the govt to house, clothe and feed them, perpetuating a vicious cycle of brain-dead, lazy and a bunch of tak-gunas :frown:
Because they are the real 'sons of the soil'. They actually built the economy, while m&ds are as useful to jiuhu like pigs are useful to the quran.
and if given perks, land, businesses, they don't know what to do with these and sell them to the tokays for a song - casting pearls before swine :unsure:

the m&ds cling on to their bumi rights and expect the govt to house, clothe and feed them, perpetuating a vicious cycle of brain-dead, lazy and a bunch of tak-gunas

I blame the problem squarely on the m&ds' state religion, islam.

Everywhere they go, they expect others to give them preferential treatment, special privileges, and to subsidize their religion. Their mosque and madrassahs spend a lot of the religious curriculum on their past glory days, when the early muslims were caravan raiders, conquerors of non-muslim lands, shaking down non-muslims for regular jizya tax to subsidize the muslim religion.

So most of the religious m&ds aren't the very hardworking type because they don't have good role models in their own religion, and expect to just merely take from others for their own survival.

Hypocrite-The

Toggle navigation

Okay to sign ICERD if Constitution not affected, says PKR Youth chief

SHAH ALAM: Outgoing PKR Youth chief Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad says Malaysia could consider looking into ratifying the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (ICERD) as long as the Federal Constitution is preserved.
“If we can protect our Constitution while we sign ICERD, I don’t have a problem with it,” he said, adding that Malaysia must look holistically at all the international treaties it wished to sign.

image: https://content.aimatch.com/default.gif
image: https://content.thestar.com.my/smg/..._Prec,Demo_Age_25to34_enr,Demo_Age_55to64_enr
ADVERTISEMENT
“There are certain international treaties – not just ICERD but other treaties, such as the ones on sexuality – that may be sensitive and may not be appropriate for Malaysia.
“But there are (treaties on) fundamental things. We say we want to help the Rohingya, but we don’t even sign the (treaties on) fundamental things,” he told a press conference at the PKR Youth congress on Friday (Nov 16).

On another matter, Nik Nazmi said it was a tradition for the incumbent deputy president to officiate the party’s Youth and Women’s congress.
He said this in reply to a question on vice president Rafizi Ramli’s absence at Thursday night’s joint meeting between the party’s wings, which was opened by incumbent deputy president Datuk Seri Azmin Ali, his rival for the deputy president post.
“Sometimes the vice presidents would attend (the joint meeting), sometimes they don’t, but not all of them would attend – that is normal.
“You wouldn’t ask why (PKR incoming president) Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim didn’t attend or why (PKR outgoing president) Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail didn’t attend,” he said.
Nik Nazmi said the disagreements in the party showed that PKR was different from Umno that had a “Yes boss” culture.
On talk of Umno Youth members trying to join PKR Youth, he said he was open to accepting members from different backgrounds as long as they believed in the principles of the party.
“If you truly believe in the principles of PKR, whatever your past, we don’t mind,” he said.

TAGS / KEYWORDS:ICERD , Constitution , PKR

Related News
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/16/12/28/zuraida-rantau.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=8DA4511CCB71BC6F49C722F6E3FC75E5C72FE526

NATION16 Nov 2018Zuraida: PKR should nominate female candidate for Rantau by-election
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/16/03/21/nik-nazmi.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=905281C88B0EA33D6147D4201AA213C9D49273D5

NATION16 Nov 2018Time to close ranks after 'colourful' PKR polls, says Nik Nazmi
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/16/12/03/haniza-talha-daroyah.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=465C51D0B04EF161CECB74B02C3602CBA8DA3BA4

NATION16 Nov 2018Haniza Talha is new PKR Wanita chief
Trending in News
Across The Star Online
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/08/23/ryjtyk.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=C9572831C9EE527BE382C06AD8CD7CB3D3D85430

OTHER SPORT6h agoMalaysian wushu exponents win four gold medals at Taolu World Cup
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/06/40/istock87274873c694a145112original.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=D87E547AEAE865AA4758F102E4AD6288A3E13F48

PUTTING DR G ON THE SPOT7h agoDiabetes and problems in the bedroom
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/16/13/47/smartphone_dpa.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=1C93FCA565C310FA064B1891FBF357E7EEDC462E

TECH NEWS8h agoEntry level, mid-range or premium: Which smartphone is right for you?
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/16/08/50/fossil_dpa.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=4DACE2EE849063E39260684D4C9C7B7F2F9B07BC

TECH NEWS11h agoFossil unveils first affordable smartwatch with new power-saving chip
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/02/59/rtjty.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=243A284E67D7050FE2226804902550366121B14C

BADMINTON12h agoJin Wei, Ee Wei-Pearly storm into finals at World Junior Championships
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/default%20website/tsol-default-image2017.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=3CD8E4C33365F2943F99D8239D6D73623A99D34C

MOTORSPORTF3 driver Floersch fractures spine after huge airborne crash
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/17/22/00/20181117t215725z_1_lynxnpeeag0on_rtroptp_4_socceruefanationsitapor.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=E42B62AEB448C59EFC402AE4102C70E32A698E8E

FOOTBALL14h agoPortugal qualify for Nations League semis with 0-0 draw in Italy
image: https://www.star2.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/Walnut-Pecan-Loaf-237x143.jpg

FOOD15h agoCook’s Nook: Amy Beh’s recipes for 3 simple cakes
Sponsored Content
Recommended by

ADVERTISEMENT

Recommended Reading
NATION
Govt encouraging cabbies to move to e-hailing services for extra income
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2015/11/13/00/27/taxisb2.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=E77DE9A248C97102DA5F3F9C36ECC81A43A36981

WORLD
Fiery mailboxes and dogs in bags: fleeing California's wildfire
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/11/24/20181118t111659z_1_lynxnpeeah095_rtroptp_4_californiawildfires.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=9158AF41049126CA6C6242C68E107D8604E7EC62

PUTTING DR G ON THE SPOT
Diabetes and problems in the bedroom
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/06/40/istock87274873c694a145112original.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=6D676DA2161A789B2F437DE30FF95B8011FAC16D

NATION
Khairy: Umno members must accept the reality of 1MDB
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/09/21/kl20_011118_parlimen.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=A2626153F9471A0289E1721F14D81BACCFF02DC3

NATION
Do your duty without fear of VIPs, Loke tells govt officers
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/09/21/05/19/anthony-loke-aviation-council.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=3B7B073B487B7B08B3CA24B88BAC06AE478B83B8

ADVERTISEMENT

• SITE MAP
  • SUBSCRIPTIONS
  • OTHER EDITIONS
  • COMPANY INFO
  • ADVERTISING
  • POLICIES
  • OUR NETWORK SITES
  • SOCIAL MEDIA
Copyright © 1995-2018 Star Media Group Berhad (ROC 10894D)

image: https://rp.gwallet.com/r1/cm/p16

p16

image: https://rp.gwallet.com/r1/cm/p61

p61

image: https://rp.gwallet.com/r1/cm/p46

p46

image: https://rp.gwallet.com/r1/cm/p50

p50

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nat...ted-says-pkr-youth-chief/#XoPGGIMGYs2mhDcb.99

Muslim majority countries who sign the treaty continue to discriminate against non-muslims and other religious or racial minorities as per normal. Their allah has commanded it so.

Hypocrite-The

I blame the problem squarely on the m&ds' state religion, islam.

Everywhere they go, they expect others to give them preferential treatment, special privileges, and to subsidize their religion. Their mosque and madrassahs spend a lot of the religious curriculum on their past glory days, when the early muslims were caravan raiders, conquerors of non-muslim lands, shaking down non-muslims for regular jizya tax to subsidize the muslim religion.

So most of the religious m&ds aren't the very hardworking type because they don't have good role models in their own religion, and expect to just merely take from others for their own survival.
I blame the problem strictly on the m&ds n mudslimes for not using common sense to advance themselves instead of religion as excuses for everything

Hypocrite-The

Muslim majority countries who sign the treaty continue to discriminate against non-muslims and other religious or racial minorities as per normal. Their allah has commanded it so.
It's going to get worse in mudland...

Toggle navigation

Zahid: Umno, PAS to create special committee to achieve Malay, Islamic agenda
  • NATION
  • Sunday, 18 Nov 2018
    10:25 PM MYT

image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/...hash=D90D9FE275ECEF72A11DFA771D348F3055248DA9
ahmad-zaqhid.ashx

KUALA SELANGOR (Bernama): Umno and PAS will create a special committee soon to find a common stand in their struggle to achieve the Malay and Islamic agenda in the country.
Umno president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (pic) said the special committee was also being created to implement social programmes involving the two Malay parties.

ADVERTISEMENT
"Through the committee, Umno will also organise gatherings concerning issues on the Malays and Islam in every state to promote cooperation between the two parties and boost the sentiments of Malays and Muslims.
"We hope that through this committee we can work together as an opposition coalition in protecting the Malay agenda and Islam in this country,” he said when attending a gathering with the top Umno leadership at the Selangor level.

Meanwhile, Ahmad Zahid expressed confidence that Umno could defend the Rantau state seat in the impending by-election.
He said Umno was not afraid to contest in the Rantau state seat and he would prove that the party was still the choice of the people.
"Rantau had been fated to hold a by-election after the court made a decision to annul the victory of Tok Mat (Umno deputy president Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan).
"According to the law, Tok Mat could file an appeal, but I asked him not to make an appeal. Umno has the courage to contest and this is an Umno stronghold,” he added.
Last Friday (Nov 16), the Special Election Court decided that Mohamad’s victory in the Rantau state constituency in the 14th General Election was null and void and the by-election for the state seat must be held immediately.
Previously, Mohamad, who was the former Negri Sembilan Mentri Besar, won the seat uncontested after the PKR candidate, Dr S. Streram was prevented from entering the nomination centre on April 28 as he did not have the pass issued by the Election Commission. – Bernama

TAGS / KEYWORDS:Ahmad Zahid Hamidi , Umno , PAS , Islamic Agenda

Related News
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/09/28/06/27/zahid-hamidi.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=211947421074215237F3CBFFE1865DB8A762C6E2

ANALYSIS28 Sep 2018Meeting against chaotic backdrop
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/10/02/01/43/mahathir-razak-najib.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=2A8AFEE166637C2E3F7A4BC3F92C96DF06A3D8A3

NATION09 Nov 2018Yes, I told Zahid to dissolve Umno because it's now so corrupt, says Dr M
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/10/26/09/29/zahid-hamidi-tq-leave.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=EBBD9F64BCBB010D587D64144346779FBF4534B3

NATION26 Oct 2018Zahid thanks Umno Youth for leave suggestion
Trending in News
Across The Star Online
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/08/23/ryjtyk.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=C9572831C9EE527BE382C06AD8CD7CB3D3D85430

OTHER SPORT6h agoMalaysian wushu exponents win four gold medals at Taolu World Cup
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/06/40/istock87274873c694a145112original.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=D87E547AEAE865AA4758F102E4AD6288A3E13F48

PUTTING DR G ON THE SPOT8h agoDiabetes and problems in the bedroom
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/16/13/47/smartphone_dpa.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=1C93FCA565C310FA064B1891FBF357E7EEDC462E

TECH NEWS8h agoEntry level, mid-range or premium: Which smartphone is right for you?
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/16/08/50/fossil_dpa.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=4DACE2EE849063E39260684D4C9C7B7F2F9B07BC

TECH NEWS11h agoFossil unveils first affordable smartwatch with new power-saving chip
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/02/59/rtjty.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=243A284E67D7050FE2226804902550366121B14C

BADMINTON12h agoJin Wei, Ee Wei-Pearly storm into finals at World Junior Championships
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/default%20website/tsol-default-image2017.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=3CD8E4C33365F2943F99D8239D6D73623A99D34C

image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/17/22/00/20181117t215725z_1_lynxnpeeag0on_rtroptp_4_socceruefanationsitapor.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=E42B62AEB448C59EFC402AE4102C70E32A698E8E

image: https://www.star2.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/Walnut-Pecan-Loaf-237x143.jpg

FOOD16h agoCook’s Nook: Amy Beh’s recipes for 3 simple cakes
Sponsored Content
Recommended by

image: https://content.aimatch.com/smg/130/728x90_gif_latest.gif

image: https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nat...al-committee-to-achieve-malay-islamic-agenda/
image: https://content.thestar.com.my/smg/..._enr,Demo_Age_18to24_enr,Demo_Gender_Male_enr
ADVERTISEMENT

Recommended Reading
NATION
Skeletal remains found at oil palm plantation in Tangkak
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/07/11/23/56/onlinecrime.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=16F8FC032B1FDE164F691DB30CE027CCB8697DEC

WORLD
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/11/24/20181118t111659z_1_lynxnpeeah095_rtroptp_4_californiawildfires.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=9158AF41049126CA6C6242C68E107D8604E7EC62

NATION
Azmin’s speech gets delegates’ rapt attention at PKR National Congress
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/08/35/2000_aa3e0123.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=102B4145DABB6058CB8FD557BD37428768F35AD6

NATION
Khairy: Umno members must accept the reality of 1MDB
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/09/21/kl20_011118_parlimen.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=A2626153F9471A0289E1721F14D81BACCFF02DC3

NATION
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/09/21/05/19/anthony-loke-aviation-council.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=3B7B073B487B7B08B3CA24B88BAC06AE478B83B8

ADVERTISEMENT

• SITE MAP
  • SUBSCRIPTIONS
  • OTHER EDITIONS
  • COMPANY INFO
  • ADVERTISING
  • POLICIES
  • OUR NETWORK SITES
  • SOCIAL MEDIA

p16

p50

p46

p61

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nat...eve-malay-islamic-agenda/#8Xcw7Pmph5L7U2us.99

garlic

To the m&ds, equality is bending over backwards to accomodate Islam.... anything else is racism and discrimination. I remember one story going around on facebook of a firm who hired a malay to work in the office. He was very hardworking and earned the praises of his co-workers and superiors, everybody was pleased with him and even though he was the only muslim there, he got along fine with everyone and mixed around happily.

The company eventually hired one more malay guy and that's when trouble started. Since there was now two of them, the m&ds asked for a halal microwave as the other was "contaminated" according to Islam. To the company, this sounded like a reasonable request and it was not a big issue buying a microwave and labelling it halal. Very soon, more muslims joined the company and now they requested for a Halal fridge and again as there was now a good size of muslims, it sounded reasonable to have one to segregate their food from non-halal. Then more and more requests came forward: Friday prayers have to be followed strictly and all muslims have to be let go to mosque after lunch, there need to be a prayer room for them to pray at a corner of the office building, they must be allowed to pray X number of times during their office hours and this was non-neogtiable and since there are so many muslims now, the once willing to mix muslims now mostly keep to their muslim colleagues. Management wanted to stop and put and end to their requests, but was met with high resistance and complaints to the labour ministry citing prevention of freedom of practice of religion.

Good luck to Malaysia and ICERD.

Hypocrite-The

Toggle navigation

Dr M: Implementing ICERD 'almost impossible', requires amendment to Federal Constitution
  • NATION
  • Sunday, 18 Nov 2018
    9:12 PM MYT

image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/...hash=C98C731EB25A83E5530BA40A0F9687893B76948A
mahathir2.ashx

PORT MORESBY (Bernama): Implementing the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (ICERD) would entail amending the Federal Constitution, which is almost impossible, says Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad (pic).
The Prime Minister pointed out that a two-thirds parliamentary majority was needed for this to happen.

ADVERTISEMENT
This, he said, was nearly impossible with the current composition of the Dewan Rakyat from the government and the reaction shown over the matter from the opposition as well as members of the government.
"Only with the support from the opposition can we have a two-thirds majority, and even then government members themselves may not support (it). So I feel that it's almost impossible for us to achieve the two-thirds majority necessary (to amend the constitution)," he said.

Dr Mahathir was speaking to Malaysian media at the conclusion of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (Apec) 2018 meeting here.
It was reported that Kedah Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir and Youth and Sports Minister Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman had expressed reservations about ratifying ICERD, as opposition parties planned to organise a joint rally next month against it.
Dr Mahathir acknowledged that ICERD was sensitive to Malaysia's Malay community and that the government was not rejecting the views expressed by the people on the matter.
"This matter is sensitive to the Malays, we understand that. In my speech at the United Nations (general assembly), I mentioned the complexity of implementing ICERD. So, we didn't commit that we are going to do it," he said.
Umno president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said on Saturday (Nov 17) that the Malay-Muslim community would "run amok" to protest the Pakatan Harapan government's pledge to ratify ICERD.
To this, the Prime Minister said: "Unless Zahid stirs up trouble, there will be no riot (over ICERD)." – Bernama

TAGS / KEYWORDS:International Convention On The Elimination Of All Forms Of Racial Discrimination , ICERD , Federal Constitution , Dr Mahathir Mohamad

Related News
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/13/05/29/fhyktygk.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=CA27BFB42271FFDAE29B2BE541EBDBF79A46F2DA

NATION13 Nov 2018Umno and PAS to hold gathering at Pasir Salak to 'defend' Muslims against ICERD
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/07/00/31/icerd.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=59B56F2BD04F85C7537D2173E9C43285442B6006

NATION09 Nov 2018Mukhriz: No necessity for Malaysia to sign ICERD
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/09/19/12/18/mohamad-hasan-umno.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=3BC07D34418FCA4C2E7ADBFAA7697D85AE3F070F

NATION02 Nov 2018Mohamad Hasan: Don't ratify ICERD, 'positive discrimination' needed in multiracial Malaysia
Trending in News
Across The Star Online

image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/17/21/51/20181117t214850z_1_lynxnpeeag0o9_rtroptp_4_tennisatpfinals.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=F550ADDEBC961F1E951899EF6C84CA81C35EA864

TENNIS16h agoDjokovic thumps Anderson to set up final clash with Zverev
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/17/22/32/20181117t211824z_2_lynxnpeeag0jj_rtroptp_4_tennisatpfinals.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=A8C7A9CA0FEF3FEE72F66FA02075F5D61F428CEF

TENNIS16h agoZverev defies boo-boys to stun Federer, sets up Djokovic final
Sponsored Content
Recommended by

ADVERTISEMENT

Recommended Reading
NATION
CM tenure raised at Penang DAP convention
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/04/33/_mg_9765.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=7580777080615792FB045DCCD82DF6B607BA854C

WORLD

NATION
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/08/35/2000_aa3e0123.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=102B4145DABB6058CB8FD557BD37428768F35AD6

NATION

NATION
Anwar is officially PKR president, Azmin retains deputy president post (updated)
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/07/47/android_e6dad8df-352e-4fb8-b0ee-983da3426414.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=31977E163BB4CD2A5C64406ED6D7B90A0940C2D3

ADVERTISEMENT

• SITE MAP
  • SUBSCRIPTIONS
  • OTHER EDITIONS
  • COMPANY INFO
  • ADVERTISING
  • POLICIES
  • OUR NETWORK SITES
  • SOCIAL MEDIA

p16

p61

p46

p50

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nat...-to-federal-constitution/#GBCrCdEPvlBG4eXb.99

Hypocrite-The

Toggle navigation

Umno and PAS to hold gathering at Pasir Salak to 'defend' Muslims against ICERD
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/...hash=44E9D80051079458BD2BDAA9576B54C2BF3A5AF0
fhyktygk.ashx

KUALA LUMPUR: A peaceful assembly to unite Muslims and to oppose the ratification of the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (ICERD) will be held on Nov 17.
The assembly is expected to be attended by Umno president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang.

ADVERTISEMENT
Umno's Pasir Salak MP Datuk Seri Tajuddin Abdul Rahman said the main aim of the
assembly was to defend Muslims and bumiputra rights following talks that ICERD will be ratified by the end of the year.

"We will defend our rights and we know there are a lot of challenges including some parties trying to threaten our rights.
"There are talks that the government will ratify ICERD by the end of this year," he told a press conference at the parliament lobby.
Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad was reported to have said on Nov 1 that Malaysia would only ratify ICERD after negotiations with all the races.
He said there was no point for the Malays to bring up the ketuanan melayu (Malay supremacy) issue if they did not improve.
“If we want to be a tuan (master), we need to have the knowledge, willingness to be hardworking, do things properly and not steal."
“Don’t follow the example of our previous prime minister (Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak),” said Dr Mahathir.
The assembly, which will be held at Pekan Kg Gajah, Pasir Salak, is organised by Perak's Gerakan Pembela Ummah.
Tajuddin claims that the ratification of ICERD would threaten the position of Islam as the country's official religion.
"The government has to understand that we have bumiputras with their rights highlighted in the Federal Constitution.
"They cannot say affirmative action is discrimination towards other races. We have to be fair to all races," he added.
He said that the Muslims must stand up for their rights and show that they are united on this issue. He expected a total of 20,000 people to attend the assembly.
On Nov 12, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, the Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) president, said the government will not breach any article in the Federal Constitution (regarding special position of the Malays) in the ratification of ICERD.
On Nov 9, Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir, the Bersatu deputy president, said it is not necessary for Malaysia to sign ICERD because it is unsuitable for the country's unique situation.
He said ICERD was aimed at giving equal treatment to the minority groups of a society, but in Malaysia "we have a unique situation where the majority group is marginalised from mainstream development".
Related stories:
Mukhriz: No necessity for Malaysia to sign ICERD
Dr M: All races to be consulted on ICERD first

TAGS / KEYWORDS:International Convention On The Elimination Of All Forms Of Racial Discrimination , ICERD , Umno ,Politics

Related News
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/10/05/23/17/mujahid-islam.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=72C8169884ACBD9A5D47B6AE1DF9B83F03E16E1A

image: https://cdn.thestar.com.my/Themes/img/play-icon.png

NATION29 Oct 2018Dr Mujahid: Malaysia's ratification of ICERD will be done with 'reservations', will adhere to existing laws
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/09/19/12/18/mohamad-hasan-umno.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=3BC07D34418FCA4C2E7ADBFAA7697D85AE3F070F

NATION02 Nov 2018Mohamad Hasan: Don't ratify ICERD, 'positive discrimination' needed in multiracial Malaysia
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/07/00/31/icerd.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=59B56F2BD04F85C7537D2173E9C43285442B6006

NATION09 Nov 2018Mukhriz: No necessity for Malaysia to sign ICERD
Trending in News
Across The Star Online

image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/17/21/51/20181117t214850z_1_lynxnpeeag0o9_rtroptp_4_tennisatpfinals.ashx/?w=237&h=143&crop=1&hash=F550ADDEBC961F1E951899EF6C84CA81C35EA864

Sponsored Content
Recommended by

ADVERTISEMENT

Recommended Reading
NATION
CM tenure raised at Penang DAP convention
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/04/33/_mg_9765.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=7580777080615792FB045DCCD82DF6B607BA854C

WORLD

NATION

NATION

NATION
Anwar is officially PKR president, Azmin retains deputy president post (updated)
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/online/2018/11/18/07/47/android_e6dad8df-352e-4fb8-b0ee-983da3426414.ashx//?w=310&h=208&crop=1&hash=31977E163BB4CD2A5C64406ED6D7B90A0940C2D3

ADVERTISEMENT

• SITE MAP
  • SUBSCRIPTIONS
  • OTHER EDITIONS
  • COMPANY INFO
  • ADVERTISING
  • POLICIES
  • OUR NETWORK SITES
  • SOCIAL MEDIA

p16

p50

p46

p61

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nat...nd-muslims-against-icerd/#Oov6PJK5E7e3wMLO.99

Hypocrite-The

Typical fuckein coward. Will never stand up for own rights incase get shot down. Rather let someone else decide n play tai chi

Guan Eng: DAP to leave ICERD ratification to PM, won't be drawn into racial debate
image: https://www.thestar.com.my/~/media/...hash=81B76D06D85E2D951C015CEEEBE969620B60BFE4
lim-guan-eng-sst.ashx

GEORGE TOWN: DAP will leave the ratification of the International Convention on the Elimination of all forms of Racial Discrimination (ICERD) issue to the Prime Minister.
Party secretary-general Lim Guan Eng said DAP would not want to be drawn into the racial debate over ICERD by certain political parties.

ADVERTISEMENT
"Let's not add unnecessarily to the heated issue where certain parties which lost in the general election are bent on creating a racial issue over the ratification of the treaty.
"DAP members should refrain from commenting too much on the issue as we have already been branded by parties like PAS as disrespecting the royals for rejecting titles," said Lim when addressing the delegates during debate time at the Penang DAP Convention here on Sunday (Nov 18).

"Both Umno and PAS have been vocal on the issue saying there would be chaos if the treaty is ratified and I think Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad would be the best person to handle the issue."
The government's announcement that it was considering ratifying ICERD has been met with opposition from Malay and Muslim groups, who claim that the move would undermine the special position of the bumiputra community.
Top leaders from PAS and Umno are planning to hold a joint rally on Dec 8 to protest plans to ratify ICERD.
On the issue of rejecting titles from the royals, Lim said as the secretary-general of the party, he has to set certain rules on what the party stands for.
"It's an internal party matter and it's up to the members to accept or not the party's decision where serving leaders will not be allowed to accept titles.
"However, there are parties alleging that we have disrespected the sultans by trying to create chaos by making it a racial issue.
"Let's not be drawn into these issues and concentrate on serving the people which was what we were elected for," added Lim.

TAGS / KEYWORDS:Lim Guan Eng , ICERD , Politics

Trending in News
Across The Star Online

TECH NEWS12h agoFossil unveils first affordable smartwatch with new power-saving chip

Sponsored Content
Recommended by

ADVERTISEMENT

• SITE MAP
  • SUBSCRIPTIONS
  • OTHER EDITIONS
  • COMPANY INFO
  • ADVERTISING
  • POLICIES
  • OUR NETWORK SITES
  • SOCIAL MEDIA

p46

p61

p50

p16

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nat...drawn-into-racial-debate/#YkS81bayWh6ljl1P.99