• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Botanical Gardens is run by Bunch of Baboons with no Common Sense

bic_cherry

===============
Outing to Botanic Gardens marred by way guide dogs were treated
PUBLISHEDSEP 10, 2018, 5:00 AM SGT

I had joined a small group outing, which included three blind men and their guide dogs, to the Singapore Botanic Gardens during the Hari Raya Haji holiday.

Unfortunately, it started to rain and a large crowd sought shelter at the Shaw Foundation Symphony Stage. But a security guard told most of the dog owners to leave the stage, saying that the stage was expensive and could not be damaged. The rain had not stopped completely but we, including the blind people with guide dogs, obliged.

When it began to rain heavily again, we sought shelter, this time, at the National Orchid Garden.

At the Orchid Garden, we were once again told to leave by the security personnel there. Only after we demanded to speak to the management did they relent.

I dread to think of the consequences had any of the blind men slipped and fallen in their haste to escape the rain. Would their potential injuries and hospital bills be any less expensive than the cost of the stage?

How can the Botanic Gardens profess to be a UnescoWorld Heritage site if it fails to support the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities adopted by the United Nations in 2006?

The aim of the convention is to create societies that are inclusive, pluralistic, equitable, open and participatory for all its citizens.

Doesn't the management bother to train its staff to differentiate between a guide dog and a pet dog?

Allowing a guide dog for the blind to enter is not a "privilege". It is a civil and human right.

Guide dogs serve as their owners' eyes, granting people who are blind greater independence and the ability to travel efficiently and safely.

Denying guide dogs entry is akin to banning those using aids such as wheelchairs, crutches, canes or hearing aids from patronising these places.

Our outing was marred not by the rain but more by the words of the security guards.

How can we aspire to be a gracious and inclusive society when we cannot even accommodate blind people and their obedient guide dogs?

It is time the relevant authorities stepped in to tackle this.

Chan Cheh Miun

https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/...gardens-marred-by-way-guide-dogs-were-treated

Dogs are treated like dogs what's wrong with that? Just because they're guide dogs does not make them any less doggy.

sg is such a wet and ponding place these folks with guide dogs should know better. for any walk in the park always bring umbrellas for oneself and dog. there are umbrellas designed for dogs.
1536870951997.jpeg

Don't punish the dogs because of the human.

You are right, the dogs should be allowed in the shelter from the rain, the blind whatever, should stand in the rain. The security guard have already stated the place is much valuable than 3 blind mice..opps! 3 blind...with their guide dogs, complain for what?

this chap is stupid. doesn’t know his way around the gardens. whenever it rains crowds will gather at the symphony stage, orchid garden souvenir shop, or gazebos strung along the park. for me, i would hang around the covered pathway under the mini waterfall. few would hide there as the last thing on their minds when it pours is a waterfall.
0ACEE86E-DA58-4E28-BD9B-A75A7AB8827D.jpeg

this chap is stupid. doesn’t know his way around the gardens. whenever it rains crowds will gather at the symphony stage, orchid garden souvenir shop, or gazebos strung along the park. for me, i would hang around the covered pathway under the mini waterfall. few would hide there as the last thing on their minds when it pours is a waterfall.
View attachment 47265

I would like to get wet with these three under the water fall...wet T-shirts more exciting that NO T-Shirts... ha ha ha ha

you may be disappointed since they are sinkie chicks. changi airport runways 1, 2, and 3.

Like that!....I would rather stand in the rain with the blind & the guide dogs...fortunately the blind can't see.. I know the way around the gardens, there were days, I canoodle with my sweet somethings in that place & do more, especially in the dark...sometimes 'live firing' with the 'raincoat' but the mozzies are nasty.. & get it done, before "Cinderella coach becomes a pumpkin again" the gardens shut its gates at 23:59, you will have a hard time, explaining to your 'sweet somethings' parents..why you & their daughter got trapped in there till dawn! Can say, hunting for that rare 'moth' that only come out at night.... ha ha ha . Those days, there were no Hotel 81.

when stuck in gardens can play pokemon go and pokeher mango until songsongjurong.

Already done the pukimon...have to go home & recharge the 'two batteries' & gates closed at 23:59...no drinkable water, no food...& how to explain to your sweet something parents...

Kopi0Kosong

===============
Outing to Botanic Gardens marred by way guide dogs were treated
PUBLISHEDSEP 10, 2018, 5:00 AM SGT

I had joined a small group outing, which included three blind men and their guide dogs, to the Singapore Botanic Gardens during the Hari Raya Haji holiday.

Unfortunately, it started to rain and a large crowd sought shelter at the Shaw Foundation Symphony Stage. But a security guard told most of the dog owners to leave the stage, saying that the stage was expensive and could not be damaged. The rain had not stopped completely but we, including the blind people with guide dogs, obliged.

When it began to rain heavily again, we sought shelter, this time, at the National Orchid Garden.

At the Orchid Garden, we were once again told to leave by the security personnel there. Only after we demanded to speak to the management did they relent.

I dread to think of the consequences had any of the blind men slipped and fallen in their haste to escape the rain. Would their potential injuries and hospital bills be any less expensive than the cost of the stage?

How can the Botanic Gardens profess to be a UnescoWorld Heritage site if it fails to support the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities adopted by the United Nations in 2006?

The aim of the convention is to create societies that are inclusive, pluralistic, equitable, open and participatory for all its citizens.

Doesn't the management bother to train its staff to differentiate between a guide dog and a pet dog?

Allowing a guide dog for the blind to enter is not a "privilege". It is a civil and human right.

Guide dogs serve as their owners' eyes, granting people who are blind greater independence and the ability to travel efficiently and safely.

Denying guide dogs entry is akin to banning those using aids such as wheelchairs, crutches, canes or hearing aids from patronising these places.

Our outing was marred not by the rain but more by the words of the security guards.

How can we aspire to be a gracious and inclusive society when we cannot even accommodate blind people and their obedient guide dogs?

It is time the relevant authorities stepped in to tackle this.

Chan Cheh Miun

https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/...gardens-marred-by-way-guide-dogs-were-treated

Animal survival instinct - beastLEE PAPa guard dogs protecting PAPa's TerLEEtorLEE
PAPa's Instruction: Listen, follow and do..No thinking allowed.

Animal survival instinct - beastLEE PAPa guard dogs protecting PAPa's TerLEEtorLEE
PAPa's Instruction: Listen, follow and do..No thinking allowed.

The facilities costs more than the guide dogs, who care about the blind, they don't bring value to the surroundings. Security 'dogs' are paid to do their duty...if they don't follow instructions...they will have to work as guide dogs!

But all these can be arrange, go to Gardens Admin Office, just follow the sign, fill up form 9999, for permit to allow guide dogs in facilities in bad weather, rain, thunderstorms, hailstorms, cyclones, hurricane, tsunamis, typhoons, water sprouts, etc, pay $99 per day permit & then proceed to Nparks office, south side near the band stand...apply for another permit, fill form 888, on the protection of flora & fauna from animals, pay a fee of $88, this is to ensure that the dogs do not pee & shit, thus destroying the protected species of flora & fauna in the gardens.

Inshort...PAY lah!

Kopi0Kosong

The facilities costs more than the guide dogs, who care about the blind, they don't bring value to the surroundings. Security 'dogs' are paid to do their duty...if they don't follow instructions...they will have to work as guide dogs!

These beasts have a good role model in their master: For money and power - bite your own famiLEE members if necessarLEE.

Kopi0Kosong

But all these can be arrange, go to Gardens Admin Office, just follow the sign, fill up form 9999, for permit to allow guide dogs in facilities in bad weather, rain, thunderstorms, hailstorms, cyclones, hurricane, tsunamis, typhoons, water sprouts, etc, pay $99 per day permit & then proceed to Nparks office, south side near the band stand...apply for another permit, fill form 888, on the protection of flora & fauna from animals, pay a fee of $88, this is to ensure that the dogs do not pee & shit, thus destroying the protected species of flora & fauna in the gardens.

Inshort...PAY lah!

...and it's all DONE TO the people as it's all DONE FOR the people. PAP is the BEaST!

No wonder PAP LEEders keep on stressing: MONEY is NOT ENOUGH!
Be a PAP dog to enjoy PAP guard dogs to terrorLEEse all other dogs, wild or domesticated.
PAP for PAP's priviLEEges.

PAP is the BEaST, we have the BEaST in the world & the 70% voters, voted & have the BEaST!!