• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

yinyang

When it comes to curry rice in siam lor, the southern curry rice (khao kaeng pak tai). Even the non southerners also agree that the southerners are good in tam gaeng (cook curry).
Tell me about it. I kena breakfast with southern curry rice (par for the course). But I can't stomach heavy duty rice early morning.

My FB feed has the same "viral" stuff you post. Scary how much power FB has - I see many Thais get all their news from FB only.

While I think this is just a rigged joke (like many things on FB), the PRND letters on auto transmission boxes is just stupid - they should just use symbols - and is yet another artifact of white dominance over cultural narratives.
This FB pic, I believe not rigged. From my personal experience with many Siam Kia drivers, many will not get their driving licenses if they were to take their driving test in some other countries.

Real life example, my former no. 2, have driving license, cannot drive alone by herself, need a copilot. Only can drive auto transmission car. Can drive very fast on main roads buts parallel parking and sometimes vertical parking CMI. Cannot read the analogue speedometer. Fuel empty already still dont know. Dont know how to pump air into tires. Never use mirror when changing lane. front mirror is for them to check their makeups suay mai suay.............list goes on.

In short, really have such drivers who dont know anything about cars. All they know is open car door, start engine, step accelerator and brake pedal.
Edit:
Forgot to add this point. When zhabor driving, cannot give comments about their driving one. Just have to shut up all the way. But when me driving, they can yak yak yak all the way to final destination. Good and bad lor, keep me awake.

rotikosong

cannot drive alone by herself, need a copilot. Only can drive auto transmission car. Can drive very fast on main roads buts parallel parking and sometimes vertical parking CMI. Cannot read the analogue speedometer. Fuel empty already still dont know. Dont know how to pump air into tires. Never use mirror when changing lane. front mirror is for them to check their makeups suay mai suay.............list goes on.

This all zhabor driver also same, whole world over. Rear view camera, lane change warning, blind spot warning, auto brake assist etc were invented by zhabor engineers specifically for zhabor drivers. The one male invention is Waymo/Uber/Tesla all trying to perfect driverless cars so we don't have to deal with zhabor drivers on the road in the future

When zhabor driving, cannot give comments about their driving one. Just have to shut up all the way

Agreed. Arguing and winning against thai puying is what angmo call a pyrrhic victory. Means you win but in the end you lose.
For me, one of the hardest thing to understand or conform to in Thailand is how to do things the "jai yen" way. But it is very important (at least in Thailand).

rotikosong

Not surprisingly on the condiments, only hear 2 complaints from friends, sinkie food is “Jeud” aka plain tasting. Second complaint is “San to sa” (sentosa) is expensive. Agree with both. Myself never even visit any of the tourist attractions in Sinkie land. If me feel expensive, guess most siam kias will feel even more expensive.

There are 2 types. There are many from ban nok, went to some Rajabhat uni, and suddenly become "Bangkok big city girl". Those very hard to adapt to new things or new food and always complain about non-Thai food as "jeud"

Then there are those which grew up in BKK upper middle class, went to foreign uni, can speak english well, very international. My office in Bangkok got tons of these. They can fit in anywhere in the world.

When you think about it, Singaporean also the same

Bonut

Last night at soi 7 joint, friend have full of praise for sinkie land leh after 3D/2N visit there. Say sinkie land beri clean wor and Pai Nai Gor Riak Uber (go where also call Uber).

Now vege insist on visiting majulah sinkie land leh, how har?
How har ? Be a good jao pap.

Among sinkies, we kpkb about Sinkieland. But when I'm outside, especially living in a foreign land, I raise the profile of my motherland. I know if they see my country no up, they see me no up. Likewise, if they see your country very up they see you also very up.

For a start, ask them to buy flight and hotel packages via Expedia. You know I asked the same question the last time, but I have found the answer now. Expedia offers the best packages. Siambu only needs to spend $300 plus, and you can sleep 3 nights at hotels in Orchard Road/Scotts Road. They will need you to advise them on the best hotels in terms of shopping and convenience.

If they are good friends of yours, get them a 5-in-1 tourist card where they can roam Universal Studio, Gardens by the Bay etc. For Siambu, point them to the biggest Charles & Keith outlets or tell them to control their urge until they enter Changi Airport transit. There, they can use their boarding pass to bu C&K tax free.

Be a good jao pap. Make Sinkies proud, bro.

Bonut

Bro, you know where in Pattaya I can get a nice garden settee that is cheap and good?

I know Decorum @ Thepprasit is cut-throat expensive, and Index Living, too, is not cheap.

The last time I bought one from one of those no air con shops at Sai 3, not the genuine rattan, nabeh, lasted only 1 year at my balcony after kanna morning sun every day.

Just had brunch with mu maid and her daughter at my favourite beef noodle "restaurant"

Simple and perhaps you can say rundown but its bloody crowded

CPSVOQq.jpg

B4hJHv2.jpg

YkgAOPj.jpg

knn today no beer if this would have been a perfect meal

hot pot

Hr2AwaX.jpg

vegetables
oC2362O.jpg

stewed beef is so tender, we had 4 plates
DTZTtRL.jpg

fresh beef we had 2 plates
LgUckVY.jpg

beef balls
pDOoGk0.jpg

Always a great meal here

yinyang

Pattaya Porn Bust
c1_1475061_180529135055_620x413.jpg

Transgender women fined for posing naked for Chinese tourists
CHON BURI: Three transgender women were arrested in Pattaya beach town early Tuesday after a clip showing them posing naked for Chinese tourists to take photos drew a barrage of criticism online.

The trio -- Kanisorn Thoonjit, 31; Noppadon Jorwan,33; and Samtip Naimu -- were apprehended at around 1am in Pattaya by a police team led by Pol Lt Col Piyapong Ensarn, Pattaya tourist police inspector.

Pol Col Apichai Krobphet, chief of Pattaya police, took them for a media briefing at Pattaya police station. The three transgender women admitted they were the people appearing in a video that went viral. But they claimed the clip was recorded in 2013 and they had no idea who posted it online.

They said that day they were approached by a tour guide - also a transgender woman - who asked them to attend a party at a hotel in Pattaya Klang. They were to entertain a group of more than ten mute Chinese tourists, and would be paid 4,000 baht each for the job.

2787297.jpg

(Photo via Chaiyot Pupattanapong)

When they arrived at the party, they said they were asked to take off their clothes because the tourists wanted to see their bodies after undergoing a sex change operation. The trio said they agreed, providing the tourists did not take pictures - but once they had taken their clothes off, the Chinese tourists began to take pictures and shoot video anyway.

After the photo session, the trio said they left the room and were each paid 4000 baht, plus a tip of about 500 yuan (about 2,500 baht) each.

The clip posted online showed the three transgender women naked on a bed in a variety of poses for the camera.

The three transgender women on Tuesday apologised to the public for tarnishing the country's image for tourists.

Police initially charged them with acting in an obscene manner. They were fined 5,000 baht each before being released.

Police were tracking down the person who posted the clip, who would also face legal action.

2787381.jpg

Three transgender women are interrogated at Pattaya police station on Tuesday morning. (Photo by Chaiyot Pupattanapong)

It's holy day and no alcohol day today. Naturally people order less food.

At an Isaan restaurant

sMpR1wH.jpg

Somtam corner
2mAS70l.jpg

The grill
gBAh3Ux.jpg

You see, no alcohol
NODZcrd.jpg

Cockles somtam
u5wk13G.jpg

Omelette
NnoI9Xa.jpg

Chicken joint
mOqsaFx.jpg

Sticky rice cake
HRVaTEU.jpg

Had a Kanyao durian after dinner
f8frMfa.jpg

ohhrtgB.jpg

L5jKRig.jpg

When it comes to food you guys should count your blessings. This is the sort of shit I have to put up with at lunch time.

IMG_1923.jpg