• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Dave Lee (Corporal F.C.) Thread

SAF failed in its 'Saving Private Dave' mission. What sort of elite guardsman soldier can't even complete a simple 8 km march?

The march occurred early in the morning when the temperature was mild. We used to do our 10km runs at 2 pm in the blazing hot sun and nobody died.

Singaporeans are getting really soft nowadays probably as a result of leading pampered lives where they have maids to do everything for them.

soldierbag430.jpg

KuanTi01

It's a huge honor for the parents of Corporal First Class Dave Lee.

davelee_0105_01_0.jpg

SINGAPORE - The full-time national serviceman who died on Monday (April 30) after being warded for heat stroke will be accorded a military funeral, said the Chief of Staff (General Staff) of the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF).

In a statement released on Tuesday evening, Brigadier-General Siew Kum Wong added that the dead soldier, Private Dave Lee Han Xuan, 19, had received posthumous recognition of the rank of Corporal First Class.

He also said that Pte Lee, a Guardsman from the 1st Battalion Singapore Guards, will be awarded the Guards and Recon military tabs, as well as the Guards beret he had been training for.

"The Army will do our utmost to support his family in this time of grief," BG Siew said.

In his statement, BG Siew reiterated that an independent Committee of Inquiry, chaired by a senior civil servant from outside the Ministry of Defence or the SAF, will investigate Pte Lee’s death.

The committee has full powers and access to both information and personnel to investigate what led to the death, find out the contributing factors, and make recommendations to correct any lapses or inadequacies uncovered.

“Should there be training safety violations, the personnel responsible will be held accountable,” said BG Siew.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...nk-for-full-time-national-serviceman-who-died

There is no honour whatsoever in dying of heat stroke which could have been prevented if the commanders were more empathetic and
alert. It is a wanton disrespect for a human life!

Being alive is better than all the crap honour from SAF or Sinkapore for that matter.

Would you die in exchange for a Temasek medal?

I would.

Many sinkies die everyday without getting even the slightest mention in the Straits Times, excluding the obituary and gossip news. It is an honour to the Tan family if I'm awarded posthumously the Temasek medal

JT, you're eyes closed cock sucking again.

PTE LEE was not killed in action..
he was murdered by his own commanders.... this tragic and meanless incident should not have occurred..

RIP Pte LEE

He is Corporal First Class now. Please do not insult his memory by using his previous rank.

What is the honor given for ? Can SAF give a citation ?

Did PTE Lee die fighting for the country ?

CFC Lee died for his nation. He died with honour and earned his instant triple rank promotion from Private to Corporal First Class.

hofmann

The march occurred early in the morning when the temperature was mild. We used to do our 10km runs at 2 pm in the blazing hot sun and nobody died.

Singaporeans are getting really soft nowadays probably as a result of leading pampered lives where they have maids to do everything for them.

soldierbag430.jpg

Bullshit attempt at throwing a smoke bomb at the real issue - negligence and dereliction of duty by the commanders.

Nothing to do with soft or not.

hofmann

He died with honour and earned his instant triple rank promotion from Private to Corporal First Class.

There is no honour in dying from the negligence of his commanders.

His death was in vain and served no purpose whatsoever except to confirm the incompetence of his commanders.

rotiprata

If our soldiers cannot even withstand the rigours of training how on earth are they going to fight a real war should the need arise.

It is better that the SAF weed out the weakest links during times of peace. It is regrettable that it may cost a loss of life once in a while but should key personnel collapse during the heat of battle many more lives could be lost as a result.

KNN, you so called ex-OCT trainee???... can't even see what is training,.. what is ill treatment

Bullshit attempt at throwing a smoke bomb at the real issue - negligence and dereliction of duty by the commanders.

Nothing to do with soft or not.

Commanders are there to drive their men to the point of exhaustion so that war comes their chances of survival are a lot higher.

It's easy to be Mr Nice Guy in the army and go easy on those under your command but this does nothing to improve the standards of the SAF.

There is no honour in dying from the negligence of his commanders.

His death was in vain and served no purpose whatsoever except to confirm the incompetence of his commanders.

It does the opposite and proves that commanders are doing what they are paid to do. NS is there to protect the nation. It is not a holiday camp.

KNN, you so called ex-OCT trainee???... can't even see what is training,.. what is ill treatment

We are training an army for real war. Training cannot be conducted as if NS is there for entertainment so that everyone can play soldier.

Whatever treatment the commanders mete out is nothing compared to what the solders will suffer under the hands of enemy forces. NS men should get used to harsh treatment as it will better prepare them for the real thing.

Truth_Hurts

One thing about the weakness of the SAF....the OCS program is too short..about 9 months..in the USA it's 3 years...the occifer is not trained to monitor n be aware of the condition of the men...enuff said. There is a difference between tough training to ensure the men are physically n mentally conditioned for war...or an occifer and trainer who is sadistic...n please Singkieland will never survive a war...all will just surrender.

rotiprata

We are training an army for real war. Training cannot be conducted as if NS is there for entertainment so that everyone can play soldier.

Whatever treatment the commanders mete out is nothing compared to what the solders will suffer under the hands of enemy forces. NS men should get used to harsh treatment as it will better prepare them for the real thing.

.... you forgot to add the last para... "what if this PTE LEE is a White Horse..."

It does the opposite and proves that commanders are doing what they are paid to do. NS is there to protect the nation. It is not a holiday camp.
Lol, you must have watched A Few Good Man too many times and adore Jack Nicholson too much ... :biggrin:

Corporal first class? Lol... u can easily get promoted to Corporal once u are done with Tekong and some time in camp.

Dave Lee wasn't done with Tekong and didn't do enough time in camp. Yet he received several ranks of promotion upon his death. It's an honour.

Don't be a twat. Prevention of deaths and injuries are part and parcel of war as well. If he had died despite the best efforts, it would still be ok. But if the above allegations were true, then it is gross negligence.

Sure, we all know that....one thing for sure is many of the youth today are wussies....if they have gone through National Salavery, which was a privilege during my time....a quarter of the today's youth would have died. We have long full pack road marches, with two full magazines of bullets, hand grenades...5km run was normal, followed by obstacle course...then we have the ORDINARY 2.4km...plus ++ many indescribable training ( of course there was safety officer) for example, many would have the 'privilege' of carrying full equiptment Up & down , Peng Kang Hill in Pasar Labar Camp...ask our mee siam mai hum..if he has the 'privilege' of manpacking the mortar base plate up & down PK Hill?.

The point is (1) Youths today are generally wussies, (2) Even with any safety procedures, safety officers etc.) or (3) This Army training...not your civilian camp...accidents do happen. How many died over the decades, anyone counted or have the stats?...especially the early 60's to the 70's?.

How to proof gross negligences...at least today, you have money ( rich parents) to take on the SAF...many of these cases, will just be swept under the carpets.

The unfortunate part is, males here are privileged to be born here to serve....National Service. This boy died with privilege & we should honour him...at the tomb of the unknown soldier every year ( we have one?) the eternal flame that will never go out...served & died for the country during peace time & thank his parents for voting______ ( sic!)

Let us have a minute of silence...for a fallen volunteer!

Truth_Hurts

Sure, we all know that....one thing for sure is many of the youth today are wussies....if they have gone through National Salavery, which was a privilege during my time....a quarter of the today's youth would have died. We have long full pack road marches, with two full magazines of bullets, hand grenades...5km run was normal, followed by obstacle course...then we have the ORDINARY 2.4km...plus ++ many indescribable training ( of course there was safety officer) for example, many would have the 'privilege' of carrying full equiptment Up & down , Peng Kang Hill in Pasar Labar Camp...ask our mee siam mai hum..if he has the 'privilege' of manpacking the mortar base plate up & down PK Hill?.

The point is (1) Youths today are generally wussies, (2) Even with any safety procedures, safety officers etc.) or (3) This Army training...not your civilian camp...accidents do happen. How many died over the decades, anyone counted or have the stats?...especially the early 60's to the 70's?.

How to proof gross negligences...at least today, you have money ( rich parents) to take on the SAF...many of these cases, will just be swept under the carpets.

The unfortunate part is, males here are privileged to be born here to serve....National Service. This boy died with privilege & we should honour him...at the tomb of the unknown soldier every year ( we have one?) the eternal flame that will never go out...served & died for the country during peace time & thank his parents for voting______ ( sic!)

Let us have a minute of silence...for a fallen volunteer!
NS for Singkies....
Jobs for foreigners

rusty

I think the dead soldier will be happier if the whistle blower is protected from threats instead getting a promotion.

NS for Singkies....
Jobs for foreigners

During my time N.S. was for us PRIVILEGED Singaporeans, where as jobs were taken by Female Singaporeans, Malaysian Females, & Males who have the honour of not serving N.S. or have Reservists Liabilities, plus Malaysian P.R., Indonesians & Indon P.R., all these sanctioned by the PAP Government... you complain...they will tell you, serving NS is by Law & is a privilege.

N.S. was not only killing Singapore....it has in its form till this day...KILLED SINGAPORE.

Jobs was not only for foreigners...it was for helping our neighbours Malaysia & Indonesia...killed Singapore!