• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Death of another tradition

Today is eve of the CNY eve and tomorrow we all have reunion dinner. One tradition is markets open till morning tomorrow or rather stalls open till their goods are all sold. I remember very excited of this day when I go to night market with the family and sometime midnight too. It was lots of fun. Bring the marketing home and pack them or even prepare them for the next day of cooking.

Was quite sad to find the old Tanglin Halt market like this at 11pm

IMG_20180214_230359.jpg

IMG_20180214_230409.jpg

IMG_20180214_230445.jpg

Walked across the road to a supermarket and its crowded

IMG_20180214_235149.jpg

IMG_20180214_234409.jpg

Sad

tiongs have returned home for cny. not enough workers to man the stalls. sinkies are aging and nearing retirement. must prepare early one day ahead for reunion dinner on cny eve. times have changed. must bring in more pinoys to man these stalls. :p

These poor wet market stall owners work hard to earn money to put their children to unis.

They do this so their children will not inherit this shithole biz from them.

Bad tradition. Too bad.

Their graduate children work for supermarkets and leave boh tak cheh (cant study type) ah nehs pinoys and jiuhu kia to do the shit low end low wages jobs.

This is call progress.

In order to mask their greediness for money, the PAP had killed many traditions; they now blame on on-line stores, but never blamed themselves for driving costs, like rentals, etc...UP, UP & AWAY!.

It is YOUR FAULT, you don't go out & buy, to keep the markets open...it is your fault you voted for these people, who killed the 'goose" that laid the 'eggs' ( never mind golden)..you Singaporeans, deserve what you get.

Everything is quietly dying or decaying...

Hangover

Froggy bro should stay in opposition wards. The wet markets in hougang area were roaring with life last night.

ToaPehGong

Next generation, the first day of CNY would be send digital greetings and ang bao transfer electronically.

Blazars

I think its a transition period for us. Young people are not going to the wet market to buy fresh vegetables or fish, if they cook they will prefer the supermarket. I also notice its much quieter CNY the last few years.

borom

Mark my words , CNY will become more and more quiet as locals are swamped by immigrants.
Christmas is now the noisiest festival and people may even think this is a christian country or even a province of the Philippines as tagalog is the loudest noise heard in trains,followed by some Indian dialect.

rectmobile

Today is eve of the CNY eve and tomorrow we all have reunion dinner. One tradition is markets open till morning tomorrow or rather stalls open till their goods are all sold. I remember very excited of this day when I go to night market with the family and sometime midnight too. It was lots of fun. Bring the marketing home and pack them or even prepare them for the next day of cooking.

Was quite sad to find the old Tanglin Halt market like this at 11pm

View attachment 38932

View attachment 38933

View attachment 38934

Walked across the road to a supermarket and its crowded

View attachment 38936

View attachment 38935

Sad
yes.. old farts are out of time, expired and diaper wearing.

Froggy bro should stay in opposition wards. The wet markets in hougang area were roaring with life last night.

Choy choy

If I live in oppo ward how in the world I can meet my MP and future Prime Minister of Singapore when I am having my breakfast? Oppo MP got breakfast with resident meh? But my MP do this.

95616CC5-9FD4-4A52-81C9-66EBA40CF38B.jpeg

Hangover

Choy choy

If I live in oppo ward how in the world I can meet my MP and future Prime Minister of Singapore when I am having my breakfast? Oppo MP got breakfast with resident meh? But my MP do this.

View attachment 38958

Ya true, useless opposition always visit wet markets on a Sunday morning once a month but never sit down probably to have breakfast with us.

20.jpg

23479979_0.JPG

28.jpg

DSCF3445.jpg

Hey 44 year old fart Tony Nx Jxx Mxxg, still come Bkk to use dating app to hook siam bu?? That is what a typical oldd fart sinkie vegetarian loser does.

Why dont you just eat meat and grow balls? Vegetables make you become old fart and balless.

Edit: anyone want to see 44 year old fart tonychat avatar, please kee chiu. Can even Pm me to get the exclusive 44 year old fart tonychat fat chee bye face photo.

yes.. old farts are out of time, expired and diaper wearing.

zeebjii

It’s been called Spring Festival for generations so you can go elsewhere to stir your shit.

I don't remember the alien word chunjie when i was a kid. Now chunjie is fast replacing xinnian here to refer to chinese new year.

A sinkie already complained to the straits times some years back that ch8 news and variety shows started to use chunjie, saying that only the northern tiongs use chunjie for CNY.