• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

yinyang

Looks good this makan place :wink:

Noodle palace on the move
January 21, 2018 01:00
By Kupluthai Pungkanon
The Sunday Nation

The eminently affordable Hung Sen rolls over to Saladang, and the menu's even more tempting

WHEN IT comes to the spicy burn of Thai food, Hung Sen, a popular restaurant newly relocated to Saladang Soi 1, hits just the right notes. Judging by the number of families and office workers from the neighbourhood stopping in for a quick lunch or dinner, the place is a gourmet magnet.

People who are very fond of noodles established Hung Sen, as the name suggests. “Hung” refers to cooking rice and “sen” means noodles, and in Chaozhou Chinese, “hungsen” also means noodles.

d9f1ad3c28ef569be410631644af9d9b.jpeg

The relocated Hung Sen has a modern ambience to complement its creative approach to classic Thai dishes.

Hung Sen the restaurant is a known quantity in Bangkok, operating in its original location at CentralWorld for seven years. Though relocated, it offers the same dishes with the same winning qualities.

“The lease on the old place elapsed, so we decided to move here, and we hope our loyal customers keep coming,” say co-founder Alisa Sudasna. “We guarantee the taste is the same, and the menu has even been improved.”

The two-floor restaurant has a hip, modern style with high ceilings, their dark blue trim contrasting with the white furniture, lush green potted plants and orange brick wall decorated with tantalising photos of the dishes available. Hung Sen can accommodate up to 50 diners in cosy surroundings.

With a menu mainly about noodles, Alisa and her partner Saovaluk Siwapornchai have gone for a street style in creative recipes, high-quality ingredients and attention to detail.

22537774a1c692e6f70b2df47d7c1ff8.jpeg

Pork Tom Yum Noodles

“With noodles, the soup is very important,” says Alisa. “We cook seven to 10 kilograms of pork at a time, letting it simmer for many hours to flavour the stock. In spicy dishes like tom yum, we use palm sugar and get the sour taste from tamarind instead of vinegar.”

Sukhothai Rice Noodles with Kurobuta Pork (Bt120) is a recipe from Alisa’s grandmother, the dish delightfully sweet and (slightly) sour and scented with lime. It features the Kurobuta pork tenderloin, ground pork, pork crackling and a parboiled egg.

In Chicken Stir-Fry with Rice Noodles (Bt70), the noodles form a soft outer frame for the meat.

bb4a534b534806d868c2c56640fb208e-sld.jpg
f2b1bd6f7bbd84638a7d7a82d8155473-sld.jpg
77a6964e46db26a1acc77a08927a5d66-sld.jpg
446a588c3b2c1096f23237717be5378b-sld.jpg
638aa2aae187d37e15f31a9c50f6ea45-sld.jpg
afa2d36c5a9ed5ef2cc41639158fe583-sld.jpg

Chicken Khao Soi (Bt115) is yellow-curry noodle soup rich spiced and with large chunks of thigh meat.

8ddbff449f64f55c037c549c3190e830.jpeg

Khao Soi Chicken

“This is one of our best-selling noodle dishes,” says Alisa. “It has an authentic northern Lanna taste. I’ve sampled chicken khao soi all over the North and this is the best recipe. We make our own chilli paste too, using fried Karen chillies and nuts, but that means you have to be careful because it’s very hot!”

For devotees of prawns, Tom Yum Kung Noodles (Bt185) and the Pad Tai (Bt125) both contain large river prawns and boast intense flavouring along with soft noodles.

Non-noodle dishes include Stir-fried Garlic Chives Spring Rolls (Bt80). The frying, as opposed to the usual steaming, makes them extra crispy and golden brown.

There are about 20 different kinds of spicy papaya salad on the menu. One highlight has to be Tum Luang Prabang (Bt80), whose unbeatable ingredients are pickled-fish sauce and shrimp paste. The papaya is also thin-sliced rather than chopped, so it has both a different look and different texture.

3a52637c921fa3c22d2f1bde62a02384.jpeg

Garlic Chives Spring Rolls

On the rice menu is Khao Kra Prow Sam Mhoo (Bt100), featuring stir-fried basil, minced pork, bacon and pork crackling served with clear soup.

“We offer new and different dishes every month,” Alisa says. “Having grown up with my grandmother, I realise now that a lot of traditional

Thai dishes have been forgotten. But we serve them here.

“One of my favourites is mieng kham pla, with chopped lime, shallots, ginger, roasted coconut, dried shrimp and peanuts, all eaten with chaplu leaves and sweet and sour chilli sauce. I add a little twist by adding a single bite of deep-fried fish.

“Another favourite is tom som pla krapong, the sweet and sour soup with snapper fish. I use palm sugar, tamarind and spices to balance the aroma and flavour.”

The Mieng Kham Pla costs Bt180 and the Tom Som Pla Krapong Bt255.

Hung Sen also does catering and can deliver lunch boxes. Look it up on UberEats, Honest Bee or Line Man.

CLASSY SPOT FOR CLASSICS
>> Hung Sen is on Saladang Soi 1 near the U Chu Liang Building, where there’s free parking for up to 90 minutes.
>> It’s open weekdays from 11am to 9.30pm and weekends from 11.30.

Israel mafia “gai guat” israel tourists in Samui during broad day light.

update: 1 surrender ic, 1 waiting to surrender ic (critical conditiob)

Bonut

He must have enjoyed his chicken noodle with soya sauce so much that he ordered a few more dishes. So let's wait ...

FR on Liao Fan@Pattaya

Too big chunk. Will be better if the cook cut the meat into smaller pieces.

Ordered signature Soya sauce chicken noodle. The noodle is quite good. Quite “springy” or “Q Q” as compared to most local version. As for the chicken, it is definitely overcooked. The chicken meat is not tender at all. So hard that I have to use fork and spoon. The cook does not have experience cutting the chicken meat. Too big pieces. The black sauce is above average.

Not as juicy and tender due to overcooked.

The char siew and roasted pork ribs looks good. May try these two items if I drop by around here.

Take note this shop is rated Michelin one star. If this shop attain a one star Michelin rating, I really have doubts on the credibility of Michelin rating system. There are definitely many soya sauce chicken stalls in Sinking land that can match or even beat this stall.

Overall, my rating for the signature dish of the shop is slightly above average.

RTE (return to eat): maybe, if around the area and sick of other food.
Ambience: as seen from pic
Service: reasonably good.

Bonut

FR on Liao Fan@Pattaya

Take note this shop is rated Michelin one star. If this shop attain a one star Michelin rating, I really have doubts on the credibility of Michelin rating system. There are definitely many soya sauce chicken stalls in Sinking land that can match or even beat this stall.
How many stars you give yourself based on Michelin rating system ?

Bonut

I already lose confidence in michelin rating system. Will not give any stars. Can only say its slightly above average.
I mean if adopting Michelin "low" rating system, how many stars will you give to the dishes that you have been cooking ?

Paiseh to say. My standard still a long way to go. While I can prepare reasonable food for myself and few people, does not mean I can produce the same result for mass production like commercial restaurants and food shops.

Dont think can even give any stars for the food I cooked.

Currently studying a few recipes on Goong Orb Woonsen (prawn baked with tang hoon) after seeing P’YY recent earlier post.

This is Goong Orb Wun Sen (not my photo and credits to the owner(s) of this photo)

Have worked out most of the ingredients. The only ingredient missing now is the pork lard. Pork lard is a must for Goong Orb Woonsen! Can dont have prawns but cannot dont have pork lard.

My problem is I only need a small amount of pork lard. The market pork stalls wont sell me too small amount. Also dont have a big fridge to keep so many things. Just yesterday bought 10 baht of pandan leaves and already took up an entire shelf.

rectmobile

You eat too much vegetables until become stupid balless sinkie. The way to cure is to eat more meat. Come, come, will blanjah u a real men meal to cure your balless sinkie sickness.

Sir, you are sounding more stupid day after day. Trying going to Bangkok to get back your brain.

Preparing to make baked tang hoon and prawn.

This is one of the youtube videos to make goong orb woon sen. There are many versions out there. For those who are interested in this dish, you can try to search “กุ้งอบวุ้นเส้น”. I will not be following this chef method. Posting this video because she most chio among other chefs. Following another youtube video which I feel more authentic.

I will also not be using 3 layer pork, again because only cooking a small portion for testing purpose. Too expensive to test in full gear. If this one successful, will include yummy 3 layer pork for subsequent experiment.

I also modify a little bit by soaking the prawns in Shao Xing wine. Made a small cut under the prawns to allow Shao Xing to penetrate the prawns. Almost all shops will cut the prawn from the top but I prefer to cut from under as can de-vein the prawn at the same time.

Just realise missIng quite a few items. Knn, have to make a trip to market now.

555 went to market. KNN, ended up buying more than what I initially want to buy, which is woon sen aka Tang Hoon and Poy Kak/Puay Kak (Aniseed)

Provision shop boss daughter recommend pre-mix pack so no need troublesome get so many ingredients. Told me most of the Zhi Char stall used premix. Also get some aniseed and a bottle of local black vinegar (aka Chik Cho).

Lots of stuff. Sometimes I paiseh as I familiar with all shops. Buy from one shop feel paiseh to next door shop. So ended up go another market buy.

goong orb woon sen premix powder and tang hoon.

Main ingredients more or less there. Will try without the premix powder version first. Tomorrow or whenever free, then try the premium powder version.

Baking or rather steaming. Orb means bake in Thai.

Open the inside pot cover for a while to speed up alittle bit.

555 macham pro like that. Havent taste yet.

always like to eat Goong Orb Woon Sen with Chik Cho aka black vinegar. This is not Thai practice but my own preference since the first time I eat goong orb woon sen in siam lor. Dont believe, ask for some Chik Cho from the restuarant when u order this dish. They will look a little surprise cos this is not how they makan goong orb woon sen. but i gurantee it goes very well.