• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat It's Official! Chink TCM Is Either Poison or Prostitution!

chinese-traditional-medicine.jpg

vlcsnap-2017-04-27-11h30m16s543.jpg

Many people take herbal medicines, including traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) thinking they are doing something positive for their health. Ironically, in many cases they may be doing just the opposite.

Have you ever wondered what is actually in the herbal medicine products you buy? Has the herb on the label been replaced with another herb? Have pharmaceuticals been snuck in?

Making sure that a tablet claiming to have 500 milligrams of paracetamol really does contain 500 milligrams of paracetamol is relatively easy, there are established assays to measure paracetamol routinely. But how do you test for herbs?

Most herbal medicines are pills or powders that have removed all trace of structure we would normally use to identify plants, and many plants have no chemical signature that is able to definitively identify them. And what about all the other possible contaminants and adulterants that could hide in the complex brew of chemicals from herbal medicines?

Our research, which has just been published in the journal Nature Scientific Reports, goes a long way to answering that.

For the first time, our group of researchers from Curtin University, Murdoch University and the University of Adelaide have combined some of the most cutting-edge and sensitive analytical techniques to screen a set of traditional Chinese medicines available in Australia.

We used a three-pronged approach, combining DNA sequencing, toxicology and heavy metal testing to elucidate the true composition of 26 TCMs purchased at random from the Adelaide Markets; most were either for colds and flu’s or for general wellness.

What did we find?
Summary of the contaminants in traditional Chinese medicines (TCMs) tested in this study that contained toxic metals, undeclared or illegal contents as determined by DNA, toxicological, and heavy metal screening methods. Each TCM tested is represented in the diagram as a tablet; blue shading on tablets indicate AUST L listed medicines, red shading are not-listed with the TGA regulatory body. TCMs deemed non-compliant for DNA (green), toxicology (pink) and heavy metals (yellow) or a combination thereof, are represented within the Venn diagram. Coglan et al.,Sci Reports 2015

Nearly nine in ten of these medicines had some form of undeclared substance in them as either adulteration or contamination. Sixteen of TCM’s had more than one contaminant or adulterant.

While around half of these medicines were not listed with the Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA), and should not have been available for purchase, contaminants were found in both TGA-listed and non-listed medicines. These adulterants/contaminants included pharmaceuticals and toxic heavy metals.

Plant and/or animal DNA from species not listed on the labels were also found. The most concerning finding was snow leopard DNA (snow leopards are an endangered species), which was detected in one medicine. DNA from pit viper, frog, rat, cat and dog was also detected in several medicines.

Among the pharmaceuticals found were paracetamol, antihistamines, anti-inflammatories and antibiotics, and stimulants such as pseudoephedrine. Of particular concern were drugs such as warfarin, which have significant potential for harm if not taken under medical supervision, and ephedrine, which is banned in Australia.

Significant levels of toxic heavy metals such as arsenic, cadmium and lead were found in over half the medicines. In at least four of these medicines following the directions on the label would expose you to over ten times the TGA’s regulatory limit for heavy metals in medicines.

http://www.businessinsider.com/stud...ain-trace-amounts-of-toxic-substances-2015-12

You must be a jiuhukia Indian slandering TCM as prostitution. No wonder you pap doggie is selling your soul and calling others what you are yourself.

Aussie also buy from monopoly drug lord opium pommies and smuggled to China, and no complains the opium are not pure but arbituarate mixtures of poisons.

theblackhole

singaporeans are backtracking into the 40s and 50s
tcm is masquerading as herbal medicine
that cost the patients thousands and millions of dollars
in the end nothing will save your life
you yourself alone can save your life
not even doctors or tcms let alone your prostitutes

theblackhole

my friend went to a tcm shop for a backache
got a good rub
and ended $150 poorer
he cant even walk or stand after the visit

singaporeans are backtracking into the 40s and 50s
tcm is masquerading as herbal medicine
that cost the patients thousands and millions of dollars
in the end nothing will save your life
you yourself alone can save your life
not even doctors or tcms let alone your prostitutes

No, prostitutes don't save life but a prostitute gave you your life. No wonder you go round insulting lotus as weed.

Your friend needs to get rubbed by Emma the tcm robot.

You Jiuhukia Indian is a fly hovering around me shiok sendiri thinking lotus is weed when lotus is always lotus while you pap doggy selling your soul is a weed indeed.

TCM offers holistic healing lah... you never read 皇帝内经?

The term "Holistic" means absolutely nothing when it comes to bodily functions. Humans can live perfectly satisfactory lives with one kidney.

I bet all these hypocrites dissing TCM now will be the ones zealously turning to TCM in desperation when cancer come knocking.

I bet all these hypocrites dissing TCM now will be the ones turning to TCM in desperation when cancer come knocking.

Turning to TCM out of desperation does not make TCM any less of a con job. In fact that is exactly what TCM does... provide false hope for incurable conditions.

Homeostasis is the word. When the only functioning kidney kaputs... :p:p:p

You have a sick sense of humor. Donating a kidney does not increase the risk of kidney failure. You're doing those who depend on transplants no favors at all. :rolleyes:

How about MOE and their holistic education? :eek::eek::eek:

National education is necessary to instil a sense of patriotism and national pride in sinkies, lest they vote wrongly during elections and allow anti-singapore characters to be voted into parliament. Surely you don't want to see our reserves bankrupted within 5 years, do you? Madam President would be our only line of defence then.